Possible Bug in v4.50 when Probing with DP-4

All things related to the Centroid Acorn CNC Controller

Moderator: cnckeith

Nigelo
Posts: 97
Joined: Tue Dec 11, 2018 4:03 pm
Acorn CNC Controller: Yes
Allin1DC CNC Controller: No
Oak CNC controller: No
MPU11 & GPIO4D -w/ 3rd Party Drives: No
DC3IOB: No
CNC12: Yes
CNC11: No
CPU10 or CPU7: No
CNC Control System Serial Number: F045DA80C8B8-0905181172
E415F6F70BC3-0318203049
Location: UK

Possible Bug in v4.50 when Probing with DP-4

Post by Nigelo »

Very pleased with the new version and hats off for the hard work which much appreciated

Have discovered a relatively minor issue, using Mill version fully configured with Digitising licence and updated from 4.20.1

After successfully probing a bore, disconnecting the coiled probe lead causes the menu items at bottom of screen inside "Part" section to flash. Reconnecting the lead stops the flashing but disconnecting the lead it restarts. Main Menu is not affected but Parts section will flash upon re-entering. Restarting CNC12 stops the issue until next probe cycle

Have performed 2 clean installs initially with Restore Report and subsequently (following fresh download) keying in parameters manually from screenshots. Flashing persisted in both cases.

Reverting to previous version 4.20.1 does NOT exhibit this problem.

Steps to reproduce:
- Following fresh install, boot up Control and CNCPC
- Home Machine
- Fit DP-4 to spindle and Connect cable
- Perform simple Bore Probing cycle in Part section
- All correct at this stage so return to Part section
- Disconnecting lead to DP-4 at this point will cause menu items to flash

Have attached short mp4 video showing flashing and usual report
Attachments
report_F045DA80C8B8-0905181172_2020-06-08_15-56-32.zip
(586.9 KiB) Downloaded 24 times
Flashing_menus.zip
(5.67 MiB) Downloaded 30 times
cnckeith
Posts: 3107
Joined: Wed Mar 03, 2010 4:23 pm
Acorn CNC Controller: Yes
Allin1DC CNC Controller: Yes
Oak CNC controller: Yes
MPU11 & GPIO4D -w/ 3rd Party Drives: Yes
DC3IOB: Yes
CNC11: Yes
CPU10 or CPU7: Yes
CNC Control System Serial Number: none
Contact:

Re: Possible Bug in v4.50 when Probing with DP-4

Post by cnckeith »

thanks, we are looking into it.
When requesting support READ THIS POST first. http://centroidcncforum.com/viewtopic.php?f=60&t=1043

Please ALWAYS post a FRESH report. To make a report: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Ecvg0VJp1oQ.

(We pride ourselves on providing timely solid technical support but, without good information we may not be able to help and/or reply until such information is posted.)
Luborson
Posts: 1
Joined: Sun Mar 24, 2019 6:33 pm
Acorn CNC Controller: Yes
Allin1DC CNC Controller: No
Oak CNC controller: No
MPU11 & GPIO4D -w/ 3rd Party Drives: No
DC3IOB: No
CNC12: Yes
CNC11: No
CPU10 or CPU7: No
CNC Control System Serial Number: C8FD19C73B1B-1109170229

Re: Possible Bug in v4.50 when Probing with DP-4

Post by Luborson »

hello,
i found some mistakes during switch 4.20 to 4.5.
-VCP manual sey on page 20 DustCollectionOn Led output 1120, but realy is 1122
-someting wrong is in maping Aux keys, when i use AuxKey5, in row2Coll3, not work, is maped like Aux4 (i see to acorn_mill_plc.src)

thanks for full open probe options! IS GREAT!! :D
Muzzer
Posts: 446
Joined: Mon Feb 19, 2018 2:52 pm
Acorn CNC Controller: Yes
Allin1DC CNC Controller: No
Oak CNC controller: No
MPU11 & GPIO4D -w/ 3rd Party Drives: No
DC3IOB: No
CNC12: Yes
CNC11: No
CPU10 or CPU7: No
CNC Control System Serial Number: 38D269594F9C-0110180512
Location: UK
Contact:

Re: Possible Bug in v4.50 when Probing with DP-4

Post by Muzzer »

I'm still on the beta version, having not got round to installing v4.50 and I've noticed the same flashing / strobing effect when doing probing (Renishaw probe) and automatic tool length measurement (TT type). Everything seems to work but the text shimmers until you exit the probing screen. I think I'll wait until this has been investigated before upgrading from the beta.

Let me know if you want anything to help the investigation.
cnckeith
Posts: 3107
Joined: Wed Mar 03, 2010 4:23 pm
Acorn CNC Controller: Yes
Allin1DC CNC Controller: Yes
Oak CNC controller: Yes
MPU11 & GPIO4D -w/ 3rd Party Drives: Yes
DC3IOB: Yes
CNC11: Yes
CPU10 or CPU7: Yes
CNC Control System Serial Number: none
Contact:

Re: Possible Bug in v4.50 when Probing with DP-4

Post by cnckeith »

Luborson wrote: Tue Jun 16, 2020 6:59 am hello,
i found some mistakes during switch 4.20 to 4.5.
-VCP manual sey on page 20 DustCollectionOn Led output 1120, but realy is 1122
-someting wrong is in maping Aux keys, when i use AuxKey5, in row2Coll3, not work, is maped like Aux4 (i see to acorn_mill_plc.src)

thanks for full open probe options! IS GREAT!! :D
please post a fresh report.zip
When requesting support READ THIS POST first. http://centroidcncforum.com/viewtopic.php?f=60&t=1043

Please ALWAYS post a FRESH report. To make a report: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Ecvg0VJp1oQ.

(We pride ourselves on providing timely solid technical support but, without good information we may not be able to help and/or reply until such information is posted.)
Nigelo
Posts: 97
Joined: Tue Dec 11, 2018 4:03 pm
Acorn CNC Controller: Yes
Allin1DC CNC Controller: No
Oak CNC controller: No
MPU11 & GPIO4D -w/ 3rd Party Drives: No
DC3IOB: No
CNC12: Yes
CNC11: No
CPU10 or CPU7: No
CNC Control System Serial Number: F045DA80C8B8-0905181172
E415F6F70BC3-0318203049
Location: UK

Re: Possible Bug in v4.50 when Probing with DP-4

Post by Nigelo »

cnckeith wrote: Tue Jun 09, 2020 9:24 am thanks, we are looking into it.
Any update on this Keith?

In case it helps after some further testing:
- I have tested probing Bore, Slot and Web and all exhibit the same flashing / strobing issue.
- The Find Angle (Z orient for height difference) does NOT exhibit any problem.
- Unlike Muzzer's Renishaw touch off tool above (albeit with Beta s/w), my TT2 does NOT exhibit any problem
- For the avoidance of doubt, I did NOT participate in the Beta program

TIA
Nigel
cnckeith
Posts: 3107
Joined: Wed Mar 03, 2010 4:23 pm
Acorn CNC Controller: Yes
Allin1DC CNC Controller: Yes
Oak CNC controller: Yes
MPU11 & GPIO4D -w/ 3rd Party Drives: Yes
DC3IOB: Yes
CNC11: Yes
CPU10 or CPU7: Yes
CNC Control System Serial Number: none
Contact:

Re: Possible Bug in v4.50 when Probing with DP-4

Post by cnckeith »

yeah its an anomaly and will be fixed in next release! thanks for reporting.
When requesting support READ THIS POST first. http://centroidcncforum.com/viewtopic.php?f=60&t=1043

Please ALWAYS post a FRESH report. To make a report: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Ecvg0VJp1oQ.

(We pride ourselves on providing timely solid technical support but, without good information we may not be able to help and/or reply until such information is posted.)
Nigelo
Posts: 97
Joined: Tue Dec 11, 2018 4:03 pm
Acorn CNC Controller: Yes
Allin1DC CNC Controller: No
Oak CNC controller: No
MPU11 & GPIO4D -w/ 3rd Party Drives: No
DC3IOB: No
CNC12: Yes
CNC11: No
CPU10 or CPU7: No
CNC Control System Serial Number: F045DA80C8B8-0905181172
E415F6F70BC3-0318203049
Location: UK

Re: Possible Bug in v4.50 when Probing with DP-4

Post by Nigelo »

Thanks Keith, much appreciated
slodat
Posts: 609
Joined: Thu Apr 12, 2018 11:16 pm
Acorn CNC Controller: Yes
Allin1DC CNC Controller: No
Oak CNC controller: No
MPU11 & GPIO4D -w/ 3rd Party Drives: No
DC3IOB: No
CNC11: No
CPU10 or CPU7: No
CNC Control System Serial Number: none

Re: Possible Bug in v4.50 when Probing with DP-4

Post by slodat »

I'm seeing the same behavior on 4.5 when probing.

Video showing what I’m experiencing. Hitting <ESC> stops the flickering. My probe is a Hallmark ITTP with a functioning probe detect circuit. This happens after a bore probing cycle in this case.

harry320
Posts: 1
Joined: Wed Sep 18, 2019 3:57 pm
Acorn CNC Controller: Yes
Allin1DC CNC Controller: No
Oak CNC controller: No
MPU11 & GPIO4D -w/ 3rd Party Drives: No
DC3IOB: No
CNC12: Yes
CNC11: No
CPU10 or CPU7: No
CNC Control System Serial Number: none

Re: Possible Bug in v4.50 when Probing with DP-4

Post by harry320 »

I have the same problem with the flashing screen after probe is disconnected.
I also experienced axis movement would sometimes stop during probing routine, pushing cycle star again would make it resume.
I only upgraded to v4.5 for the additional probing options. I have reverted back to 4.2.
Post Reply