Centroid Post-processor for FUSION 360

All things related to the Centroid Acorn CNC Controller

Moderator: cnckeith

Post Reply
LorenzoRR
Posts: 77
Joined: Sat Apr 11, 2020 5:28 am
Acorn CNC Controller: Yes
Allin1DC CNC Controller: No
Oak CNC controller: No
CNC Control System Serial Number: none
DC3IOB: No
CNC12: Yes
CNC11: No
CPU10 or CPU7: No

Centroid Post-processor for FUSION 360

Post by LorenzoRR »

I am facing an issue post-processing from Fusion 360 to my Centroid Acorn.
I have explained the issue to Autodesk, and response has been they do not accept post-processors modification request, but I do not know if this is exactly the case...
This is what happens:

- I have the tools marked in F360 as "Manual change"

- If I post with Centroid version 44083, Tool Change codes are NOT generated in the NC program:
Codigo-creado con-V44083_No-M06.jpg

- If I post with an older version, 43967, then Tool Change codes are generated, and the machine behaves as expected:
Codigo-creado con-V43967_Si-M06.jpg

Can somebody help if this is something to fix in Fusion 360 side or in Centroid side ?

Many thanks for your help !
Lorenzo
Prototyping with: EMCO CT60, Klipfeld K120 and Wabeco F1210HS
HFS Suspension
suntravel
Posts: 1547
Joined: Thu Sep 23, 2021 3:49 pm
Acorn CNC Controller: Yes
Allin1DC CNC Controller: No
Oak CNC controller: No
CNC Control System Serial Number: 6433DB0446C1-08115074
DC3IOB: No
CNC12: Yes
CNC11: No
CPU10 or CPU7: No
Location: Germany

Re: Centroid Post-processor for FUSION 360

Post by suntravel »

Code: Select all

;PROFILE FINISHING2
N109 M1
N110 T0300
N111 G54
N112 M8
N113 G90 G99
N114 G97 S1273 M3
N115 G0 X50. Z2. T0303
N116 G50 S5000
N117 G96 S200 M3
44083 works perfectly....

This is not the issue.

Uwe
LorenzoRR
Posts: 77
Joined: Sat Apr 11, 2020 5:28 am
Acorn CNC Controller: Yes
Allin1DC CNC Controller: No
Oak CNC controller: No
CNC Control System Serial Number: none
DC3IOB: No
CNC12: Yes
CNC11: No
CPU10 or CPU7: No

Re: Centroid Post-processor for FUSION 360

Post by LorenzoRR »

Thank you for your response Uwe.

In your experience what can be the issue, and also, what is the post-processor your are using from F360 to Centroid Acorn, and what version ?

Below is how I have the setups for the tool :
Tick cambio Manual HTA en el setup.jpg
Tick cambio Manual HTA en el setup.jpg (2.81 KiB) Viewed 125 times

and in the postprocessor:
Tick parametrods post procesador.jpg
Thanks.
Lorenzo
Prototyping with: EMCO CT60, Klipfeld K120 and Wabeco F1210HS
HFS Suspension
tblough
Posts: 2854
Joined: Tue Mar 22, 2016 10:03 am
Acorn CNC Controller: Yes
Allin1DC CNC Controller: Yes
Oak CNC controller: Yes
CNC Control System Serial Number: 100505
100327
102696
103432
7804732B977B-0624192192
DC3IOB: No
CNC12: Yes
CNC11: No
CPU10 or CPU7: No
Location: Boston, MA
Contact:

Re: Centroid Post-processor for FUSION 360

Post by tblough »

Based on the parens in the output, that does not look like Centroid code. Centroid expects a semicolon to denote a comment. Looks like you are selecting a Fanuc post.
Cheers,

Tom
Confidence is the feeling you have before you fully understand the situation.
I have CDO. It's like OCD, but the letters are where they should be.
suntravel
Posts: 1547
Joined: Thu Sep 23, 2021 3:49 pm
Acorn CNC Controller: Yes
Allin1DC CNC Controller: No
Oak CNC controller: No
CNC Control System Serial Number: 6433DB0446C1-08115074
DC3IOB: No
CNC12: Yes
CNC11: No
CPU10 or CPU7: No
Location: Germany

Re: Centroid Post-processor for FUSION 360

Post by suntravel »

Select Centroid Turn 44083 from the fusion online Lib and save local, that should work

Uwe
LorenzoRR
Posts: 77
Joined: Sat Apr 11, 2020 5:28 am
Acorn CNC Controller: Yes
Allin1DC CNC Controller: No
Oak CNC controller: No
CNC Control System Serial Number: none
DC3IOB: No
CNC12: Yes
CNC11: No
CPU10 or CPU7: No

Re: Centroid Post-processor for FUSION 360

Post by LorenzoRR »

I will have another look, because I´m sure I´m selecting Centroid Mill post processor for sure... this is really strange.

I am repeatedly making tests with same Part and the two Centroid versions I have: #43967 and #44083 and both are creating parenthesis and the old one creates a line as "T1 M6" that Centroid interpretate as a manual tool change (following this explanation in CNC12 Manual):
CNC12 Manual about M06.jpg
Lorenzo
Prototyping with: EMCO CT60, Klipfeld K120 and Wabeco F1210HS
HFS Suspension
suntravel
Posts: 1547
Joined: Thu Sep 23, 2021 3:49 pm
Acorn CNC Controller: Yes
Allin1DC CNC Controller: No
Oak CNC controller: No
CNC Control System Serial Number: 6433DB0446C1-08115074
DC3IOB: No
CNC12: Yes
CNC11: No
CPU10 or CPU7: No
Location: Germany

Re: Centroid Post-processor for FUSION 360

Post by suntravel »

Ha I thought you wanted to turn, for milling of course Centroid (mill)

But I prefer to use the one from swissi, you can find here:

https://centroidcncforum.com/viewtopic. ... ost+fusion

Uwe
LorenzoRR
Posts: 77
Joined: Sat Apr 11, 2020 5:28 am
Acorn CNC Controller: Yes
Allin1DC CNC Controller: No
Oak CNC controller: No
CNC Control System Serial Number: none
DC3IOB: No
CNC12: Yes
CNC11: No
CPU10 or CPU7: No

Re: Centroid Post-processor for FUSION 360

Post by LorenzoRR »

Hi Uwe,

Many thanks for your help; already downloaded post from Swissi, applied in my testing part, moved to the machine, and it workd all fine.

Generates the manual tool change very similarly to the old original Centroid´s.
Lorenzo
Prototyping with: EMCO CT60, Klipfeld K120 and Wabeco F1210HS
HFS Suspension
Post Reply