CIRCULAR POCKET TOOL OFFSET

All things related to Centroid Oak, Allin1DC, MPU11 and Legacy products

Moderator: cnckeith

Post Reply
cnctc
Posts: 13
Joined: Tue Jan 15, 2019 12:59 pm
Acorn CNC Controller: No
Allin1DC CNC Controller: Yes
Oak CNC controller: Yes
MPU11 & GPIO4D -w/ 3rd Party Drives: No
DC3IOB: No
CNC12: Yes
CNC11: No
CPU10 or CPU7: No
CNC Control System Serial Number: 0501192213

CIRCULAR POCKET TOOL OFFSET

Post by cnctc »

Trying to cut a circular pocket with intercon. Calling out tool #1 at beginning of program. When i change the size of the cutter in the tool offsets page nothing happens to the size of the pocket?? I go into the program in intercon and look at the tool line and it shows that the size of the tool has changed. Then when i post and rerun the program it changes the size like what i wanted. But if i change it again nothing until i open the the intercon edit again??
tblough
Posts: 1702
Joined: Tue Mar 22, 2016 10:03 am
Acorn CNC Controller: Yes
Allin1DC CNC Controller: Yes
Oak CNC controller: Yes
MPU11 & GPIO4D -w/ 3rd Party Drives: Yes
DC3IOB: No
CNC12: Yes
CNC11: No
CPU10 or CPU7: No
CNC Control System Serial Number: 100505
100327
102696
103432
7804732B977B-0624192192
Location: Boston, MA
Contact:

Re: CIRCULAR POCKET TOOL OFFSET

Post by tblough »

Intercon is a conversational programming language. When you click F10 Post and Exit, it converts the conversational program into g-code. Any changes made after that to the tool tables are unknown to the g-code. Only after you reload the conversational program and re-post it will the changes be incorporated.

If you use cutter comp in your intercon programs, and later change the cutter diameter offset in the tool table, then that change WILL make a difference in your program.
Cheers,

Tom
Confidence is the feeling you have before you fully understand the situation.
I have CDO. It's like OCD, but the letters are where they should be.
cnctc
Posts: 13
Joined: Tue Jan 15, 2019 12:59 pm
Acorn CNC Controller: No
Allin1DC CNC Controller: Yes
Oak CNC controller: Yes
MPU11 & GPIO4D -w/ 3rd Party Drives: No
DC3IOB: No
CNC12: Yes
CNC11: No
CPU10 or CPU7: No
CNC Control System Serial Number: 0501192213

Re: CIRCULAR POCKET TOOL OFFSET

Post by cnctc »

According to the manual circular pocket has cutter comp automatically added. But nothing happens when i change the tool dia. in setup, tool, offsets lib.
I messed with it all day yesterday and made another test program today still doesn't work. I have tool 1 progamed as .5 dia. originally and then changed it to .1 dia. still cut the same size hole??
Attachments
report_0605130771_2021-09-15_09-23-19.zip
(3.48 MiB) Downloaded 17 times
91521.cnc
(1.04 KiB) Downloaded 21 times
cncsnw
Posts: 2260
Joined: Wed Mar 24, 2010 5:48 pm

Re: CIRCULAR POCKET TOOL OFFSET

Post by cncsnw »

The "cutter comp" that is "automatically added" is pre-compensation: Intercon posts out G codes that go around circular path that is smaller than the requested pocket diameter, by the current cutter diameter.

Intercon does not include G41 or G42 codes, for on-the-fly cutter compensation, in any of its pocket or frame cycles.

Therefore, if you are using pocket or frame cycles, and you want to change your cutter diameter value, you need to re-post.
cnctc
Posts: 13
Joined: Tue Jan 15, 2019 12:59 pm
Acorn CNC Controller: No
Allin1DC CNC Controller: Yes
Oak CNC controller: Yes
MPU11 & GPIO4D -w/ 3rd Party Drives: No
DC3IOB: No
CNC12: Yes
CNC11: No
CPU10 or CPU7: No
CNC Control System Serial Number: 0501192213

Re: CIRCULAR POCKET TOOL OFFSET

Post by cnctc »

Guess that explains why i never use the conversational.
martyscncgarage
Posts: 8987
Joined: Tue Mar 28, 2017 12:01 pm
Acorn CNC Controller: Yes
Allin1DC CNC Controller: Yes
Oak CNC controller: No
MPU11 & GPIO4D -w/ 3rd Party Drives: No
DC3IOB: No
CNC12: Yes
CNC11: Yes
CPU10 or CPU7: Yes
CNC Control System Serial Number: none
Location: Mesa, AZ

Re: CIRCULAR POCKET TOOL OFFSET

Post by martyscncgarage »

cnctc wrote: Thu Sep 16, 2021 9:50 am Guess that explains why i never use the conversational.
Intercon works great for what it is intended for.
Take the time to read the operator's manual and understand it, you might find it beneficial at times.
I use it more and more.
Marty
Reminder, for support please follow this post: viewtopic.php?f=20&t=383
We can't "SEE" what you see...
Mesa, AZ
Post Reply