Hardinge CHNC II+ Hickory LeadShine EL7 Retrofit

All things ecat Hickory CNC controller

Moderator: cnckeith

glbreil
Posts: 27
Joined: Sun Jan 07, 2024 10:55 am
Acorn CNC Controller: No
Plasma CNC Controller: No
AcornSix CNC Controller: No
Allin1DC CNC Controller: No
Hickory CNC Controller: Yes
Oak CNC controller: No
CNC Control System Serial Number: none
DC3IOB: No
CNC12: Yes
CNC11: No
CPU10 or CPU7: Yes

Hardinge CHNC II+ Hickory LeadShine EL7 Retrofit

Post by glbreil »

Hello I am just getting started with my retrofit, going from a GN10T control to Hickory. I received my parts yesterday and already have several questions.

I have started setting up my PC (NUC i7-1165G7 with a View Sonic TD2210 monitor) with CNC12 computer and working through the bench test according to bulletin 323.

Loaded the PC Tuner and got the computer all set up for CNC use, loaded CNC12, got it configured, connected the hickory board and got it communicated and the basic setting in.

Now I have a couple of questions: the next step is to hook up the LeadShine drives per schematic, s15208. The question here is that it is not an easy task with the 220v, separate transformers, contractors and all of the things required to do it on the bench. I am assuming at this point Hickory and the drives could go in the machine for for this point and just leave themotors on a table for testing.

Is that an okay assumption?

Second the Leadshine 323 bulletin says prerequisites: computer with Leadshine Motion Studio installed. Can that be the CNC12 computer or does it need to be a separate computer?

I have had the machine for several years and have run it some on the GN10 control but have been plagued with problems. Attached is a picture of what I am working on from when I first picked it up. I will try to keep a log of the progress.

I am sure I will need a lot of questions answered and will thank you all in advance! Gary Breiling
IMG_0099.jpeg




Thanks Gary
Last edited by glbreil on Sat Jan 20, 2024 5:18 pm, edited 1 time in total.
cnckeith
Posts: 6928
Joined: Wed Mar 03, 2010 4:23 pm
Acorn CNC Controller: Yes
Allin1DC CNC Controller: Yes
Oak CNC controller: Yes
CNC Control System Serial Number: none
DC3IOB: Yes
CNC11: Yes
CPU10 or CPU7: Yes
Contact:

Re: Hardinge CHNC II+ Hickory LeadShine EL7 Retrofit

Post by cnckeith »

Gary,

hello.

- using a laptop to install motion studio 2 is just fine, you do not have to run motion studio on the CNCPC

- for drive bench testing i just run the 220 thru a breaker and operate it by hand. it is really important to do the bench test without a bunch (especially old) components wired up to eliminate a lot of issues. after bench test then you can begin connecting major items one at a one. its just a good way to do things so you don't waste time fighting wiring/configuration issues that were done all at once and will be hard to figure out.

- fyi.. we have been improving the Hickory to Leadshine installation manual and there will be a new version posted on Monday.
Need support? READ THIS POST first. http://centroidcncforum.com/viewtopic.php?f=60&t=1043
All Acorn Documentation is located here: viewtopic.php?f=60&t=3397
Answers to common questions: viewforum.php?f=63
and here viewforum.php?f=61
Gear we use but don't sell. https://www.centroidcnc.com/centroid_di ... _gear.html
cnckeith
Posts: 6928
Joined: Wed Mar 03, 2010 4:23 pm
Acorn CNC Controller: Yes
Allin1DC CNC Controller: Yes
Oak CNC controller: Yes
CNC Control System Serial Number: none
DC3IOB: Yes
CNC11: Yes
CPU10 or CPU7: Yes
Contact:

Re: Hardinge CHNC II+ Hickory LeadShine EL7 Retrofit

Post by cnckeith »

please make a photo album of your project so we can follow along , a picture is worth a 1000 words so take lots of photos of everything and put them up on the album so we can see what you see and be able to give you the best advice and direction.

info on how is here.
https://centroidcncforum.com/viewtopic.php?p=5010#p5010
Need support? READ THIS POST first. http://centroidcncforum.com/viewtopic.php?f=60&t=1043
All Acorn Documentation is located here: viewtopic.php?f=60&t=3397
Answers to common questions: viewforum.php?f=63
and here viewforum.php?f=61
Gear we use but don't sell. https://www.centroidcnc.com/centroid_di ... _gear.html
cnckeith
Posts: 6928
Joined: Wed Mar 03, 2010 4:23 pm
Acorn CNC Controller: Yes
Allin1DC CNC Controller: Yes
Oak CNC controller: Yes
CNC Control System Serial Number: none
DC3IOB: Yes
CNC11: Yes
CPU10 or CPU7: Yes
Contact:

Re: Hardinge CHNC II+ Hickory LeadShine EL7 Retrofit

Post by cnckeith »

here is a draft of the leadshine el7 hickory install manual that will be released on monday
Need support? READ THIS POST first. http://centroidcncforum.com/viewtopic.php?f=60&t=1043
All Acorn Documentation is located here: viewtopic.php?f=60&t=3397
Answers to common questions: viewforum.php?f=63
and here viewforum.php?f=61
Gear we use but don't sell. https://www.centroidcnc.com/centroid_di ... _gear.html
glbreil
Posts: 27
Joined: Sun Jan 07, 2024 10:55 am
Acorn CNC Controller: No
Plasma CNC Controller: No
AcornSix CNC Controller: No
Allin1DC CNC Controller: No
Hickory CNC Controller: Yes
Oak CNC controller: No
CNC Control System Serial Number: none
DC3IOB: No
CNC12: Yes
CNC11: No
CPU10 or CPU7: Yes

Re: Hardinge CHNC II+ Hickory LeadShine EL7 Retrofit

Post by glbreil »

Been working on a photo album so here is the link. I will update when I make some progress. Thanks Gary

https://photos.app.goo.gl/KL88FycMxDj5WmwWA
glbreil
Posts: 27
Joined: Sun Jan 07, 2024 10:55 am
Acorn CNC Controller: No
Plasma CNC Controller: No
AcornSix CNC Controller: No
Allin1DC CNC Controller: No
Hickory CNC Controller: Yes
Oak CNC controller: No
CNC Control System Serial Number: none
DC3IOB: No
CNC12: Yes
CNC11: No
CPU10 or CPU7: Yes

Re: Hardinge CHNC II+ Hickory LeadShine EL7 Retrofit

Post by glbreil »

Good morning, I am doing some bench testing or rather table testing this morning since it is nice and warm in the house and cold in the shop. I think it is going very well. I have the CNC12 installed on the NUC, the Hickory connected and communicating, the Leadshine servos and drives connected and tuned and I can move everything around like it should with the exception of one problem that I need some help with.

The X axis motor runs the wrong direction from the arrow on the virtual control panel. If I rotate the motor by hand in the PID screen it counts the right direction, if I program it from the MDI it runs the right direction, but it I push the X+ button it goes X- and vice versa. I assume it is a matter of some parameter change, but don't really see anyone talking about similar problems on the forum.

A couple other questions for my better understanding of the absolute encoders.

Once I have set home using M26/X/Z can I just use a G28 to return there without messing up my home setting. Just playing with it on the table it seems ok, but the only kind of machine I have used before, just homes to the switches at start up every time.

The other thing I noticed after running the motors around for a while that there is a pretty big error stacking up in the PID screen. Is that normal?

Thanks Gary

https://centroidcncforum.com/download/f ... w&id=26777
https://centroidcncforum.com/download/f ... w&id=26778
Attachments
Screenshot 2024-01-27 112213.png
Screenshot 2024-01-27 095958.png
report_0008DC111213-0103240108_2024-01-27_09-39-07.zip
(673.49 KiB) Downloaded 11 times
cncsnw
Posts: 3703
Joined: Wed Mar 24, 2010 5:48 pm

Re: Hardinge CHNC II+ Hickory LeadShine EL7 Retrofit

Post by cncsnw »

You should be able to fix this by changing Parameter 1 to a value of 3.

Bit 1 (+2) is supposed to tell the PLC program to swap the functions of the 2nd axis (X, on a lathe) plus and minus jog buttons.

However, your PLC program has a bug on lines 3115 and 3118, so that it will fail to swap the VCP buttons. It correctly swaps the physical jog panel keys and the keyboard equivalents, but fails to swap SkinJogAx2Plus_M_SV and SkinJogAx2Minus_M_SV.

Therefore you either need to fix the bug in the PLC program (by swapping those names on those two lines, and recompiling); or you need to edit the VCP button XML files for x_negative_front_mount and x_positive_front_mount to use skin events 43 and 33 respectively.

I recommend fixing it in the PLC program.
glbreil
Posts: 27
Joined: Sun Jan 07, 2024 10:55 am
Acorn CNC Controller: No
Plasma CNC Controller: No
AcornSix CNC Controller: No
Allin1DC CNC Controller: No
Hickory CNC Controller: Yes
Oak CNC controller: No
CNC Control System Serial Number: none
DC3IOB: No
CNC12: Yes
CNC11: No
CPU10 or CPU7: Yes

Re: Hardinge CHNC II+ Hickory LeadShine EL7 Retrofit

Post by glbreil »

Thanks Marc, so you are saying that I should be able to swap the names in file the scr file and then once compiled it will correct the issue or then I will need to change the parameters also?

Another question since this is all new territory for me. Swapping the buttons does the same thing, but changing the PLC is the proper fix? Is that correct?

Thanks Gary



https://centroidcncforum.com/download/f ... w&id=26782
Attachments
Screenshot 2024-01-27 133108.png
glbreil
Posts: 27
Joined: Sun Jan 07, 2024 10:55 am
Acorn CNC Controller: No
Plasma CNC Controller: No
AcornSix CNC Controller: No
Allin1DC CNC Controller: No
Hickory CNC Controller: Yes
Oak CNC controller: No
CNC Control System Serial Number: none
DC3IOB: No
CNC12: Yes
CNC11: No
CPU10 or CPU7: Yes

Re: Hardinge CHNC II+ Hickory LeadShine EL7 Retrofit

Post by glbreil »

Well thanks for the help. I got the problem solved so that the X+/- buttons on the VCP both go the right way and learned quite a bit about editing and compiling the PLC while I was at it. I changed about every title in lines 3115 & 3118, but the ones that made the difference are highlighted below.

I am still curious about the two questions below if anyone has an answer for them?

Once I have set home using M26/X/Z can I just use a G28 to return there without messing up my home setting. Just playing with it on the table it seems ok, but the only kind of machine I have used before, just homes to the switches at start up every time.

The other thing I noticed after running the motors around for a while that there is a pretty big error stacking up in the PID screen. Is that normal?

Thanks Much Gary

https://centroidcncforum.com/download/f ... w&id=26784
Attachments
Screenshot 2024-01-27 153225.png
glbreil
Posts: 27
Joined: Sun Jan 07, 2024 10:55 am
Acorn CNC Controller: No
Plasma CNC Controller: No
AcornSix CNC Controller: No
Allin1DC CNC Controller: No
Hickory CNC Controller: Yes
Oak CNC controller: No
CNC Control System Serial Number: none
DC3IOB: No
CNC12: Yes
CNC11: No
CPU10 or CPU7: Yes

Re: Hardinge CHNC II+ Hickory LeadShine EL7 Retrofit

Post by glbreil »

Not much accomplished this weekend except bench testing which took most of a full day to setup, tear down and debug while learning about everything as I went.

I did strip a few more parts from the lathe and continued mapping out the wiring in preparation to install the parts. I also scored a nice Tormach swing arm monitor and keyboard mount from eBay. There are multiples available so here is a link in case anyone else has a need.

https://www.ebay.com/itm/204180936530?m ... media=COPY

I updated the pictures although it isn’t really much to see, and I will add some of the Tormach mount next week.

Thanks for the help so far, more needed I am sure. Gary

https://photos.app.goo.gl/KL88FycMxDj5WmwWA
Post Reply