G-code program with pauses

A place to discuss and ask questions about all things Machining for Mills, Lathes, Laser, and Routers

Moderator: cnckeith

Black Forest
Posts: 346
Joined: Thu Nov 23, 2017 1:39 pm
Acorn CNC Controller: Yes
Allin1DC CNC Controller: No
Oak CNC controller: No
CNC Control System Serial Number: none
DC3IOB: No
CNC12: Yes
CNC11: No
CPU10 or CPU7: No

G-code program with pauses

Post by Black Forest »

Back story. My mill is not set up for rigid tapping. No encoder on the spindle and I have not installed the VFD yet. As of now if I make a part with multiple holes that need to be tapped I take the work piece to my drill press with a tapping head and cut the threads that way. It would MAYBE be useful if I could use the tapping head on my mill utilizing the quill to tap the same way as on the drill press but have the table move to the previously drilled holes. I made a part yesterday with ten 5mm drilled holes to be tapped with 6mm tap. If the table would move to each hole and pause while I tapped the hole and then I hit a button and it would move to the next hole, etc.,etc. that might be helpful. So my question is how to write the g-code or use Intercon to do it?
Black Forest
Posts: 346
Joined: Thu Nov 23, 2017 1:39 pm
Acorn CNC Controller: Yes
Allin1DC CNC Controller: No
Oak CNC controller: No
CNC Control System Serial Number: none
DC3IOB: No
CNC12: Yes
CNC11: No
CPU10 or CPU7: No

Re: G-code program with pauses

Post by Black Forest »

I just thought if I would hit feed hold when the table moves to a hole I could tap the hole and then hit cycle start. Would that be the most efficient way to do it? I could use a G04 pause for 3 seconds. That would give me time enough to hit feed hold. Or?
tblough
Posts: 3102
Joined: Tue Mar 22, 2016 10:03 am
Acorn CNC Controller: Yes
Allin1DC CNC Controller: Yes
Oak CNC controller: Yes
CNC Control System Serial Number: 100505
100327
102696
103432
7804732B977B-0624192192
DC3IOB: No
CNC12: Yes
CNC11: No
CPU10 or CPU7: No
Location: Boston, MA
Contact:

Re: G-code program with pauses

Post by tblough »

You could add an M0 after each positioning move in the g-code file if you edit it manually, or use Intercon to add an M0 using the add M&G code feature.
Cheers,

Tom
Confidence is the feeling you have before you fully understand the situation.
I have CDO. It's like OCD, but the letters are where they should be.
Black Forest
Posts: 346
Joined: Thu Nov 23, 2017 1:39 pm
Acorn CNC Controller: Yes
Allin1DC CNC Controller: No
Oak CNC controller: No
CNC Control System Serial Number: none
DC3IOB: No
CNC12: Yes
CNC11: No
CPU10 or CPU7: No

Re: G-code program with pauses

Post by Black Forest »

Doesn't the M0 code turn off the spindle?
tblough
Posts: 3102
Joined: Tue Mar 22, 2016 10:03 am
Acorn CNC Controller: Yes
Allin1DC CNC Controller: Yes
Oak CNC controller: Yes
CNC Control System Serial Number: 100505
100327
102696
103432
7804732B977B-0624192192
DC3IOB: No
CNC12: Yes
CNC11: No
CPU10 or CPU7: No
Location: Boston, MA
Contact:

Re: G-code program with pauses

Post by tblough »

Black Forest wrote: Tue Jul 11, 2023 11:34 am Doesn't the M0 code turn off the spindle?
What does the manual say? Have you tried it?
Cheers,

Tom
Confidence is the feeling you have before you fully understand the situation.
I have CDO. It's like OCD, but the letters are where they should be.
Bham-Tech-RM
Posts: 13
Joined: Mon Jul 03, 2023 2:52 pm
Acorn CNC Controller: No
Allin1DC CNC Controller: Yes
Oak CNC controller: No
CNC Control System Serial Number: 0326130718
DC3IOB: No
CNC12: Yes
CNC11: No
CPU10 or CPU7: No

Re: G-code program with pauses

Post by Bham-Tech-RM »

tblough wrote: Tue Jul 11, 2023 1:07 pm
Black Forest wrote: Tue Jul 11, 2023 11:34 am Doesn't the M0 code turn off the spindle?
What does the manual say? Have you tried it?
I was curious, so I went and tried it for you. Worked as desired for me, spindle stayed running.

Code: Select all

O1000
G00 G17 G20 G40 G49 G80 G90; SAFETY
G54; WCS
M25; TOOL CHANGE POSITION
T1 M6; TOOL CHANGE
X0. Y0. S300 M3; PLACE-1 & SPINDLE START
G43 H1 Z1.5; DOWN
M00; TAP-1
X1.; PLACE-2
M00; TAP-2
X2.; PLACE-3
M00; TAP-3
X3.; PLACE-4
M00; TAP-4
M5; SPINDLE STOP
M25; TOOL CHANGE POSITION
M30; END
Simple as that.

Could probably do something more operator-friendly using an M225 to display a "TAP NOW" instruction for indefinite time, until cycle start is pressed to advance to the next position.
Black Forest
Posts: 346
Joined: Thu Nov 23, 2017 1:39 pm
Acorn CNC Controller: Yes
Allin1DC CNC Controller: No
Oak CNC controller: No
CNC Control System Serial Number: none
DC3IOB: No
CNC12: Yes
CNC11: No
CPU10 or CPU7: No

Re: G-code program with pauses

Post by Black Forest »

tblough wrote: Tue Jul 11, 2023 10:37 am You could add an M0 after each positioning move in the g-code file if you edit it manually, or use Intercon to add an M0 using the add M&G code feature.
I tried the add M&G function in Intercon but it didn't work. Intercon gave a warning that any codes added would not be recognized by Intercon. ?????

I did read the manual.
tblough
Posts: 3102
Joined: Tue Mar 22, 2016 10:03 am
Acorn CNC Controller: Yes
Allin1DC CNC Controller: Yes
Oak CNC controller: Yes
CNC Control System Serial Number: 100505
100327
102696
103432
7804732B977B-0624192192
DC3IOB: No
CNC12: Yes
CNC11: No
CPU10 or CPU7: No
Location: Boston, MA
Contact:

Re: G-code program with pauses

Post by tblough »

Intercon's warning was that it can't guarantee that the G codes you enter will operate correctly with the rest of the program. If you manually enter G0 Z-5.0 in the program, YOU are responsible for ensuring you have clearance to rapid towards your part.
Cheers,

Tom
Confidence is the feeling you have before you fully understand the situation.
I have CDO. It's like OCD, but the letters are where they should be.
Black Forest
Posts: 346
Joined: Thu Nov 23, 2017 1:39 pm
Acorn CNC Controller: Yes
Allin1DC CNC Controller: No
Oak CNC controller: No
CNC Control System Serial Number: none
DC3IOB: No
CNC12: Yes
CNC11: No
CPU10 or CPU7: No

Re: G-code program with pauses

Post by Black Forest »

Is there somewhere or place I can look to get either tutorials or videos on how to write G-code files that will be Centroid compatible? I would like to learn how to write simple programs in Notepad++. Programs I could write and then load into CNC12. something like a Centroid CNC programs for dummies!
tblough
Posts: 3102
Joined: Tue Mar 22, 2016 10:03 am
Acorn CNC Controller: Yes
Allin1DC CNC Controller: Yes
Oak CNC controller: Yes
CNC Control System Serial Number: 100505
100327
102696
103432
7804732B977B-0624192192
DC3IOB: No
CNC12: Yes
CNC11: No
CPU10 or CPU7: No
Location: Boston, MA
Contact:

Re: G-code program with pauses

Post by tblough »

CNC Cookbook has been around for a while: https://www.cnccookbook.com/cnc-programming-g-code/

Other than the tutorials in the Centroid manuals, nothing is going to be "Centroid" specific. A good way to start might be to construct an Intercon program, post it, and then step through the commented g-code it generates.
Cheers,

Tom
Confidence is the feeling you have before you fully understand the situation.
I have CDO. It's like OCD, but the letters are where they should be.
Post Reply