G52 Question

A place to discuss and ask questions about all things Machining for Mills, Lathes, Laser, and Routers

Moderator: cnckeith

Post Reply
RJS100
Posts: 449
Joined: Tue Oct 20, 2020 8:41 pm
Acorn CNC Controller: Yes
Allin1DC CNC Controller: No
Oak CNC controller: No
CNC Control System Serial Number: none
DC3IOB: No
CNC12: Yes
CNC11: No
CPU10 or CPU7: No
Location: Arizona

G52 Question

Post by RJS100 »

I have been entering G52 commands via MDI to offset the local coordinate system. I use it mostly to shift the Z axis so I can trial run g-code prior to actually running it (an air run). Is there a way to view how much offset has been applied to a given axis without verifying the value of your last G52 command?

Thanks... Richard


cncsnw
Posts: 3953
Joined: Wed Mar 24, 2010 5:48 pm

Re: G52 Question

Post by cncsnw »

Not anywhere easy.

Arguably, there is no reason the G52 offsets could not be in a table somewhere: maybe a fourth option on the "WCS Table" menu below Part Setup; but for now, they are not.

1) You can make a report, open the report*.txt file from within the report*.zip file, and look in the "job file" listing:

Code: Select all

Job file

Last job file: c:\cncm\ncfiles\spindlebenchtest.cnc
Part count:    0                        Edge Finder Diameter: 0.0000
PID Collection Axis: 1     Density: 1     Extension:    
Move Commands: 1 
               2 
               3 
               4 
               5 
WCS: #3                 X axis     Y axis     Z axis     N axis     N axis     N axis     N axis     N axis
G52 Shift Distance:     0.0000     0.0000     0.0000     0.0000     0.0000     0.0000     0.0000     0.0000
Home State:                Set        Set        Set        Set        Set        Set        Set        Set
2) You can cancel the offset (G52 Z0), and see by how much the DRO position changes.

3) You can do some arithmetic: look at the current local (WCS) position of the axis; add the WCS offset value for the current WCS; and, for Z, add any active tool height (H) offset value. Compare the result to the current Machine Coordinates position of the axis. The difference is the G52 offset.


RJS100
Posts: 449
Joined: Tue Oct 20, 2020 8:41 pm
Acorn CNC Controller: Yes
Allin1DC CNC Controller: No
Oak CNC controller: No
CNC Control System Serial Number: none
DC3IOB: No
CNC12: Yes
CNC11: No
CPU10 or CPU7: No
Location: Arizona

Re: G52 Question

Post by RJS100 »

Thanks so much for your thoughts. For simplicity, I will continue entering G52 Z0 when in doubt. I just thought maybe I was missing something.

Best... Richard


Sword
Posts: 689
Joined: Fri Nov 30, 2018 1:04 pm
Acorn CNC Controller: Yes
Plasma CNC Controller: No
AcornSix CNC Controller: No
Allin1DC CNC Controller: No
Hickory CNC Controller: No
Oak CNC controller: No
CNC Control System Serial Number: none
DC3IOB: No
CNC12: Yes
CNC11: No
CPU10 or CPU7: No
Location: Thorp WI

Re: G52 Question

Post by Sword »

I use G52 offsets often as well, and also forget to clear it from time to time. I made a button that clears it for all axes, but it would be nice to have some means of indication or capturing a system variable to verify if it is active or not.

Some time ago I requested as a new feature if G52 could be included in the 'Active G-Code' line, for a quick reference, but it didn't make it in yet. A parameter or setting in the Wizard to clear any G52 offset upon restart could be another option.
Scott


cncsnw
Posts: 3953
Joined: Wed Mar 24, 2010 5:48 pm

Re: G52 Question

Post by cncsnw »

A parameter or setting in the Wizard to clear any G52 offset upon restart could be another option.
You could just add "G52 X0 Y0 Z0" to your cncm.hom file. Done.


Sword
Posts: 689
Joined: Fri Nov 30, 2018 1:04 pm
Acorn CNC Controller: Yes
Plasma CNC Controller: No
AcornSix CNC Controller: No
Allin1DC CNC Controller: No
Hickory CNC Controller: No
Oak CNC controller: No
CNC Control System Serial Number: none
DC3IOB: No
CNC12: Yes
CNC11: No
CPU10 or CPU7: No
Location: Thorp WI

Re: G52 Question

Post by Sword »

cncsnw wrote: Thu Nov 23, 2023 2:27 pm You could just add "G52 X0 Y0 Z0" to your cncm.hom file. Done.
That is true. ;)

Would still be nice to have a visual in the active g-code line though.
Scott


RJS100
Posts: 449
Joined: Tue Oct 20, 2020 8:41 pm
Acorn CNC Controller: Yes
Allin1DC CNC Controller: No
Oak CNC controller: No
CNC Control System Serial Number: none
DC3IOB: No
CNC12: Yes
CNC11: No
CPU10 or CPU7: No
Location: Arizona

Re: G52 Question

Post by RJS100 »

I like the idea of adding to the home file.. Thanks!


cnckeith
Posts: 7660
Joined: Wed Mar 03, 2010 4:23 pm
Acorn CNC Controller: Yes
Allin1DC CNC Controller: Yes
Oak CNC controller: Yes
CNC Control System Serial Number: none
DC3IOB: Yes
CNC11: Yes
CPU10 or CPU7: Yes
Contact:

Re: G52 Question

Post by cnckeith »

cncsnw wrote: Mon Nov 20, 2023 1:58 pm Not anywhere easy.

Arguably, there is no reason the G52 offsets could not be in a table somewhere: maybe a fourth option on the "WCS Table" menu below Part Setup;
i added this idea to the to do list
Need support? READ THIS POST first. http://centroidcncforum.com/viewtopic.php?f=60&t=1043
All Acorn Documentation is located here: viewtopic.php?f=60&t=3397
Answers to common questions: viewforum.php?f=63
and here viewforum.php?f=61
Gear we use but don't sell. https://www.centroidcnc.com/centroid_di ... _gear.html


ShawnM
Posts: 2369
Joined: Fri May 24, 2019 8:34 am
Acorn CNC Controller: Yes
Allin1DC CNC Controller: No
Oak CNC controller: No
CNC Control System Serial Number: 7804734C6498-0401191832
DC3IOB: No
CNC12: Yes
CNC11: No
CPU10 or CPU7: No
Location: Clearwater, FL

Re: G52 Question

Post by ShawnM »

Sword wrote: Thu Nov 23, 2023 3:24 pm Would still be nice to have a visual in the active g-code line though.
I like this idea so you could easily see it at a glance while running.


RJS100
Posts: 449
Joined: Tue Oct 20, 2020 8:41 pm
Acorn CNC Controller: Yes
Allin1DC CNC Controller: No
Oak CNC controller: No
CNC Control System Serial Number: none
DC3IOB: No
CNC12: Yes
CNC11: No
CPU10 or CPU7: No
Location: Arizona

Re: G52 Question

Post by RJS100 »

Thanks for adding to the todo list. That is something I look at all the time.


Post Reply