stepper motor advice

All things related to the Centroid Acorn Plasma system.

Moderators: cnckeith, Joey

cardin3
Acorn CNC Controller: Yes
Plasma CNC Controller: Yes
AcornSix CNC Controller: No
Allin1DC CNC Controller: No
Hickory CNC Controller: No
Oak CNC controller: No
CNC Control System Serial Number: 7550
DC3IOB: No
CNC12: Yes
CNC11: No
CPU10 or CPU7: No

stepper motor advice

Post by cardin3 »

Hi, I'm new to this upgrade / rebuilding.
I have an old Flashcut cnc plasma table. I have purchased a Centroid Acorn Control. I have it bench tested, and all went well. The machine has open loop steppers on it, and I would like to go with closed loop steppers. I have found what looks to be a good fit from Stepper Line on Amazon. Although they have metric shaft sizes, and the machine components are all inch shaft sizes. I would have to bore out and re-machine. The steppers from Leadshine offer inch size shafts but I'm having difficulty getting any one from leadshine to give me a price. what little I have found online is that the Leadshine are much more expensive. I'm loving the centriod, just having some trouble with the stepper choices. I don't want to waste money or buy the wrong steppers.
Any advice would be much appreciated.
Thanks
Mike
ShawnM
CNC Control System Serial Number: 7804734C6498-0401191832

Re: stepper motor advice

Post by ShawnM »

Can you post some model numbers of the units you are looking at? Stepper Online offers a good product at reasonable prices and you should confirm that the Leadshine you are looking to buy are genuine Leadshine drives. If you are buying direct from Leadshine then no worries but there are clones out there. Just make sure and size the motors correctly and buy the best product you can afford. Don't pinch pennies when it comes to motors and drivers, it'll bite you in the rear down the road.
cardin3

Post by cardin3 »