New Build - CNC Plasma Table

All things related to the Centroid Acorn Plasma system.

Moderator: cnckeith

landmark573
Posts: 53
Joined: Mon Jun 24, 2019 3:30 pm
Acorn CNC Controller: Yes
Allin1DC CNC Controller: No
Oak CNC controller: No
MPU11 & GPIO4D -w/ 3rd Party Drives: No
DC3IOB: No
CNC12: Yes
CNC11: No
CPU10 or CPU7: No
CNC Control System Serial Number: none

New Build - CNC Plasma Table

Post by landmark573 »

I started building a CNC plasma table back in 2017 but never completed it due to issues with the controller and plasma cutter interface. Now that Centroid has released their plasma version I'm trying to get it going again.

I've got everything connected and have motion but I'm having trouble with auto homing and squaring. I'm using the wizard generated cncm.hom program. It runs without errors but ends with the "Warning: Machine Home Not Set" message and the DRO not set. Also I have axis2 paired with axis4 but the A-axis still shows in the DRO. I read in the "Auto Homing and Squiring" manual that it wouldn't display.
cnc12_screen.PNG
Attachments
image0.jpeg
image1.jpeg
image2.jpeg
image3.jpeg
image4.jpeg
report_3484E41BC6EB-0511226197_2022-07-20_11-58-29.zip
(3.94 MiB) Downloaded 27 times
cnckeith
Posts: 4611
Joined: Wed Mar 03, 2010 4:23 pm
Acorn CNC Controller: Yes
Allin1DC CNC Controller: Yes
Oak CNC controller: Yes
MPU11 & GPIO4D -w/ 3rd Party Drives: Yes
DC3IOB: Yes
CNC11: Yes
CPU10 or CPU7: Yes
CNC Control System Serial Number: none
Contact:

Re: New Build - CNC Plasma Table

Post by cnckeith »

hello. i moved this thread into the Plasma forum
Need support? READ THIS POST first. http://centroidcncforum.com/viewtopic.php?f=60&t=1043
All Acorn Documentation is located here: viewtopic.php?f=60&t=3397
Answers to common questions: viewforum.php?f=63
and here viewforum.php?f=61
Gear we use but don't sell. https://www.centroidcnc.com/centroid_di ... _gear.html
cnckeith
Posts: 4611
Joined: Wed Mar 03, 2010 4:23 pm
Acorn CNC Controller: Yes
Allin1DC CNC Controller: Yes
Oak CNC controller: Yes
MPU11 & GPIO4D -w/ 3rd Party Drives: Yes
DC3IOB: Yes
CNC11: Yes
CPU10 or CPU7: Yes
CNC Control System Serial Number: none
Contact:

Re: New Build - CNC Plasma Table

Post by cnckeith »

looks like you don't have the axis paired properly. (there should be no axis label for the slaved axis)
Need support? READ THIS POST first. http://centroidcncforum.com/viewtopic.php?f=60&t=1043
All Acorn Documentation is located here: viewtopic.php?f=60&t=3397
Answers to common questions: viewforum.php?f=63
and here viewforum.php?f=61
Gear we use but don't sell. https://www.centroidcnc.com/centroid_di ... _gear.html
cnckeith
Posts: 4611
Joined: Wed Mar 03, 2010 4:23 pm
Acorn CNC Controller: Yes
Allin1DC CNC Controller: Yes
Oak CNC controller: Yes
MPU11 & GPIO4D -w/ 3rd Party Drives: Yes
DC3IOB: Yes
CNC11: Yes
CPU10 or CPU7: Yes
CNC Control System Serial Number: none
Contact:

Re: New Build - CNC Plasma Table

Post by cnckeith »

and set the Windows PC monitor resolution to 1920x1080
Need support? READ THIS POST first. http://centroidcncforum.com/viewtopic.php?f=60&t=1043
All Acorn Documentation is located here: viewtopic.php?f=60&t=3397
Answers to common questions: viewforum.php?f=63
and here viewforum.php?f=61
Gear we use but don't sell. https://www.centroidcnc.com/centroid_di ... _gear.html
cnckeith
Posts: 4611
Joined: Wed Mar 03, 2010 4:23 pm
Acorn CNC Controller: Yes
Allin1DC CNC Controller: Yes
Oak CNC controller: Yes
MPU11 & GPIO4D -w/ 3rd Party Drives: Yes
DC3IOB: Yes
CNC11: Yes
CPU10 or CPU7: Yes
CNC Control System Serial Number: none
Contact:

Re: New Build - CNC Plasma Table

Post by cnckeith »

go to the wizard configuration menu and set the 4th axis label from "A" to "N" (N = no)

and (for now) remove the "LimitAll" from input 3

be sure to press write settings to cnc control configuration and follow the instructions on the screen to reboot etc.
Need support? READ THIS POST first. http://centroidcncforum.com/viewtopic.php?f=60&t=1043
All Acorn Documentation is located here: viewtopic.php?f=60&t=3397
Answers to common questions: viewforum.php?f=63
and here viewforum.php?f=61
Gear we use but don't sell. https://www.centroidcnc.com/centroid_di ... _gear.html
landmark573
Posts: 53
Joined: Mon Jun 24, 2019 3:30 pm
Acorn CNC Controller: Yes
Allin1DC CNC Controller: No
Oak CNC controller: No
MPU11 & GPIO4D -w/ 3rd Party Drives: No
DC3IOB: No
CNC12: Yes
CNC11: No
CPU10 or CPU7: No
CNC Control System Serial Number: none

Re: New Build - CNC Plasma Table

Post by landmark573 »

Thanks Keith. I set the axis 4 label to N and removed LimitAll from input 3 and it did home successfully and zeroed the DRO. I'm trying to find a new monitor, preferably under $150. So for now the best I can do is 1366 X 768.
ShawnM
Posts: 1210
Joined: Fri May 24, 2019 8:34 am
Acorn CNC Controller: Yes
Allin1DC CNC Controller: No
Oak CNC controller: No
MPU11 & GPIO4D -w/ 3rd Party Drives: No
DC3IOB: No
CNC12: Yes
CNC11: No
CPU10 or CPU7: No
CNC Control System Serial Number: 7804734C6498-0401191832
Location: Clearwater, FL

Re: New Build - CNC Plasma Table

Post by ShawnM »

landmark573 wrote: Wed Jul 20, 2022 4:43 pm Thanks Keith. I set the axis 4 label to N and removed LimitAll from input 3 and it did home successfully and zeroed the DRO. I'm trying to find a new monitor, preferably under $150. So for now the best I can do is 1366 X 768.
Check your local Craigslist for computer refurbishers (or anyone selling used monitors). I have one here in Clearwater and can get 22" HP monitors capable of 1920x1080 for $40 and 24" monitors for $60 all day long.
landmark573
Posts: 53
Joined: Mon Jun 24, 2019 3:30 pm
Acorn CNC Controller: Yes
Allin1DC CNC Controller: No
Oak CNC controller: No
MPU11 & GPIO4D -w/ 3rd Party Drives: No
DC3IOB: No
CNC12: Yes
CNC11: No
CPU10 or CPU7: No
CNC Control System Serial Number: none

Re: New Build - CNC Plasma Table

Post by landmark573 »

I haven't had much luck with CL around here. Probably says more about my searching skills than the quality of listings. I was thinking I didn't use the touch screen interface much but yesterday while making a bracket for my Z home switch I used it a lot. That's even with a wireless MPG.
ShawnM
Posts: 1210
Joined: Fri May 24, 2019 8:34 am
Acorn CNC Controller: Yes
Allin1DC CNC Controller: No
Oak CNC controller: No
MPU11 & GPIO4D -w/ 3rd Party Drives: No
DC3IOB: No
CNC12: Yes
CNC11: No
CPU10 or CPU7: No
CNC Control System Serial Number: 7804734C6498-0401191832
Location: Clearwater, FL

Re: New Build - CNC Plasma Table

Post by ShawnM »

CL has everything around here and that's another story but if you have to have a touch screen you wont get one of those cheap. It has to be a good quality resistive type as some have had issues with the capacitive monitors. You can read about this on the forum. Good luck.
Last edited by ShawnM on Thu Jul 21, 2022 2:44 pm, edited 1 time in total.
cnckeith
Posts: 4611
Joined: Wed Mar 03, 2010 4:23 pm
Acorn CNC Controller: Yes
Allin1DC CNC Controller: Yes
Oak CNC controller: Yes
MPU11 & GPIO4D -w/ 3rd Party Drives: Yes
DC3IOB: Yes
CNC11: Yes
CPU10 or CPU7: Yes
CNC Control System Serial Number: none
Contact:

Re: New Build - CNC Plasma Table

Post by cnckeith »

HD monitors for $99 bucks on amazon. https://amzn.to/3znpfEt
Need support? READ THIS POST first. http://centroidcncforum.com/viewtopic.php?f=60&t=1043
All Acorn Documentation is located here: viewtopic.php?f=60&t=3397
Answers to common questions: viewforum.php?f=63
and here viewforum.php?f=61
Gear we use but don't sell. https://www.centroidcnc.com/centroid_di ... _gear.html
Post Reply