Jcoldon plasma table acorn build

All things related to the Centroid Acorn Plasma system.

Moderators: cnckeith, Joey

jcoldon
Acorn CNC Controller: Yes
Allin1DC CNC Controller: No
Oak CNC controller: No
CNC Control System Serial Number: none
DC3IOB: No
CNC12: No
CNC11: No
CPU10 or CPU7: No

Jcoldon plasma table acorn build

Post by jcoldon »

https://photos.app.goo.gl/X25tAZvy1fBCfpRbA

This is my test plasma table i been building plasma tables for a long time .I have a FB page CNC plasma table builders also . I’m new to centroid controllers never used one. I have used just about every plasma controller out there and THC units as well .
The build is a 4x4 .Motors are nema 34 900 oz 8 wire high B steppers. 3 to 1 reduction using avid drives. the z axis is a 400 oz nema 34 8 wire motor .motor series wiring with gecko vampire drives running 72 volt 2000 Micro steps. slides are linear 20 mm high win . The gantry is a 4x3 1/4 aul tube
the risers are 1/2 steel custom design to run avid drives . The frame 2x4 with 2x2 bracing . table designed so 52x52 water 4 inch deep .It recessed in the 4x2 tube.
this allows the gantry risers to be lower and lighter stronger. The gantry weight is around 130 lbs total everything z and all and adjustable .
the cut speed should do 400 ipm with rapids of 1200 ipm with high velocity . This should do all Hypertherm book settings with good cut acceleration necessary on plasma to get good cuts.
No slow down in corners . The z axis on this build uses 20 mm rails should have a 400 ipm speed . Torch mount is the round mount , It uses a proximity sense for it float .and anti collision on same out put . A good mount and adjustable is needed to prevent shake of the torch with high speed . This is a proven design i used in past builds the gantry risers are new design . soon to be tested . The x axis can slide past the gantry risers ro take full advantage of 52 x52 cut area. Left side goes past table for rotary add on