Running plasma table without thc

All things related to the Centroid Acorn Plasma system.

Moderator: cnckeith

Post Reply
jerryk
Posts: 10
Joined: Thu Sep 22, 2022 1:26 pm
Acorn CNC Controller: Yes
Allin1DC CNC Controller: No
Oak CNC controller: No
MPU11 & GPIO4D -w/ 3rd Party Drives: No
DC3IOB: No
CNC12: Yes
CNC11: No
CPU10 or CPU7: No
CNC Control System Serial Number: none

Running plasma table without thc

Post by jerryk »

I'm retrofitting an old plasma table to acorn. I'd like to try out the table b4 buying the acorn thc and pro software. I just have the free software at the moment. When I try a dry run with the test files that acorn supplies it tries to move the z down. I don't have a z axis yet so it just keeps looking for the z to trip a sensor I guess. Is there a way to run the software without a z axis? Also I have the torch fire wires figured out. I have a hypertherm powermax 1000 without divider card. The torch ok is 2 wires, Do I wire them both to the same input on the acorn board?
Thanks for your help!
cnckeith
Posts: 4933
Joined: Wed Mar 03, 2010 4:23 pm
Acorn CNC Controller: Yes
Allin1DC CNC Controller: Yes
Oak CNC controller: Yes
MPU11 & GPIO4D -w/ 3rd Party Drives: Yes
DC3IOB: Yes
CNC11: Yes
CPU10 or CPU7: Yes
CNC Control System Serial Number: none
Contact:

Re: Running plasma table without thc

Post by cnckeith »

hello. yes you can run without the THC. requirement is material must be parallel to the torch.

THC enabled ON/OFF is in the Profile manager under THC config. see Plasma Install Manual.
https://www.centroidcnc.com/centroid_di ... manual.pdf
Need support? READ THIS POST first. http://centroidcncforum.com/viewtopic.php?f=60&t=1043
All Acorn Documentation is located here: viewtopic.php?f=60&t=3397
Answers to common questions: viewforum.php?f=63
and here viewforum.php?f=61
Gear we use but don't sell. https://www.centroidcnc.com/centroid_di ... _gear.html
jerryk
Posts: 10
Joined: Thu Sep 22, 2022 1:26 pm
Acorn CNC Controller: Yes
Allin1DC CNC Controller: No
Oak CNC controller: No
MPU11 & GPIO4D -w/ 3rd Party Drives: No
DC3IOB: No
CNC12: Yes
CNC11: No
CPU10 or CPU7: No
CNC Control System Serial Number: none

Re: Running plasma table without thc

Post by jerryk »

Thank you
jerryk
Posts: 10
Joined: Thu Sep 22, 2022 1:26 pm
Acorn CNC Controller: Yes
Allin1DC CNC Controller: No
Oak CNC controller: No
MPU11 & GPIO4D -w/ 3rd Party Drives: No
DC3IOB: No
CNC12: Yes
CNC11: No
CPU10 or CPU7: No
CNC Control System Serial Number: none

Re: Running plasma table without thc

Post by jerryk »

cnckeith wrote: Tue Nov 22, 2022 3:18 pm hello. yes you can run without the THC. requirement is material must be parallel to the torch.

THC enabled ON/OFF is in the Profile manager under THC config. see Plasma Install Manual.
https://www.centroidcnc.com/centroid_di ... manual.pdf
I disabled the thc mode and cut height and it still trys moving the z axis which isn't there yet. What should I do next?
Attachments
20221123_112721.jpg
Joey
Posts: 120
Joined: Tue Aug 17, 2021 10:51 am
Acorn CNC Controller: Yes
Allin1DC CNC Controller: No
Oak CNC controller: No
MPU11 & GPIO4D -w/ 3rd Party Drives: No
DC3IOB: No
CNC12: Yes
CNC11: No
CPU10 or CPU7: No
CNC Control System Serial Number: none

Re: Running plasma table without thc

Post by Joey »

Hello Jerry.
Can you give a better explanation of what the goal is? Are you going to try and cut with just X and Y motion? Just unsure of what your trying to accomplish. The touch off cycle can be removed from the pierce Macro(M61). Tho this is not normal or recommended as other parts of the software were not intended to run this way. It is unclear what could result from this in other features such as restart mode. Editing a Macro could open a can of worms so just save a report and be prepared to revert back.

To run without a touch off cycle you will need to edit the M61 Macro. The M61 file is found in the cncm folder in the file name : mfunc61.mac. In the M61 Macro Insert a semi colon in front the line that commands the touch off cycle. The Line reads: ;G65 "C:\cncm\system\auto_z_zero_macro.cnc";Perform Auto Touch Off. I Have attached a picture of the M61 macro file with the needed semi colon in place.
Attachments
M61 Remove touch off.PNG
jerryk
Posts: 10
Joined: Thu Sep 22, 2022 1:26 pm
Acorn CNC Controller: Yes
Allin1DC CNC Controller: No
Oak CNC controller: No
MPU11 & GPIO4D -w/ 3rd Party Drives: No
DC3IOB: No
CNC12: Yes
CNC11: No
CPU10 or CPU7: No
CNC Control System Serial Number: none

Re: Running plasma table without thc

Post by jerryk »

I am retrofitting a table and wanted to try some cutting before I spend another $1800 on the acorn thc and a z axis. Thanks for the help.
jerryk
Posts: 10
Joined: Thu Sep 22, 2022 1:26 pm
Acorn CNC Controller: Yes
Allin1DC CNC Controller: No
Oak CNC controller: No
MPU11 & GPIO4D -w/ 3rd Party Drives: No
DC3IOB: No
CNC12: Yes
CNC11: No
CPU10 or CPU7: No
CNC Control System Serial Number: none

Re: Running plasma table without thc

Post by jerryk »

Thanks Joey. That worked.
ShawnM
Posts: 1366
Joined: Fri May 24, 2019 8:34 am
Acorn CNC Controller: Yes
Allin1DC CNC Controller: No
Oak CNC controller: No
MPU11 & GPIO4D -w/ 3rd Party Drives: No
DC3IOB: No
CNC12: Yes
CNC11: No
CPU10 or CPU7: No
CNC Control System Serial Number: 7804734C6498-0401191832
Location: Clearwater, FL

Re: Running plasma table without thc

Post by ShawnM »

Keep in mind that if you are going to be cutting thinner material you'll need a "snappy" machine with at least 400 ipm rapids if you want to cut Hypertherm "book" speeds. A fast Z is also helpful with THC. Keep the gantry as light as possible.

Do you have gearboxes on the steppers or servos? There's a "sweet spot" for the overall turns ratio on a plasma table. Be sure to read through the Acorn plasma manual for all the info. If the mechanics are not correct and fast you wont get good results. It's best to know this info before you get too far down the rabbit hole. :D
Post Reply