Oak CNC controller: No
CNC Control System Serial Number: none
DC3IOB: No
CNC12: No
CNC11: No
CPU10 or CPU7: Yes

NEW Atrump Retrofit Project.

Post by Dsilguero »

Hello I am starting a project to Retrofit an Atrump B5AC cnc Mill. The goal of this thread is to inquire about what diy board I should start with.

I want to ensure I purchase an option that will work with my curent centroid m-400 atc box, And 4 axis servo driver. I'm relatively new to this and apreciate any help you can provide. :D

From my minimal knowledge I think I will be needing an acornsix or better cnc control, because my machine has 4 encoders.

Here is a google photos album. of a bunch of images Including servo driver, motor size, along with every component and diagram I could find associated with the machine.
There should also be serial numbers and hopefully all the information I forgot to include. :roll:

https://photos.app.goo.gl/uAWHQpTdvKmSxFJM8
cncsnw

Re: NEW Atrump Retrofit Project.

Post by cncsnw »

If I were doing it, and I had reason to believe that the existing DC servo motors and encoders were in good working order, then I would use an Allin1DC, plus a DC1 drive for the fourth axis, plus a PLCADD1616 board for the additional I/O required by the tool changer. That would be a fairly major cabinet rewire.

The attached picture is of a B5AC cabinet that has been upgraded in that manner. It had the benefit of a slightly wider cabinet; but the further handicap of the older Fuji spindle drive, mounted sideways. Yours at least has a supportable spindle drive (Mitsubishi A520). Still, you might consider starting from scratch with a wider cabinet.
P8240005.JPG
I do not believe there is any practical path to leave the Koyo DL205 PLC in place. You will need to rewire all of the I/O.
Dsilguero
Acorn CNC Controller: No
Plasma CNC Controller: No
AcornSix CNC Controller: No
Allin1DC CNC Controller: No
Hickory CNC Controller: No

Post by Dsilguero »