Spindle Jog?

All things related to Centroid Oak, Allin1DC, MPU11 and Legacy products

Moderator: cnckeith

Post Reply
chronolite
Posts: 69
Joined: Sat Feb 15, 2020 4:48 pm
Acorn CNC Controller: Yes
Plasma CNC Controller: No
AcornSix CNC Controller: No
Allin1DC CNC Controller: No
Hickory CNC Controller: No
Oak CNC controller: No
CNC Control System Serial Number: 7804739E42DF-0925192491
DC3IOB: No
CNC12: Yes
CNC11: No
CPU10 or CPU7: Yes
Contact:

Spindle Jog?

Post by chronolite »

I can't seem to find anywhere that I can enable my lathe spindle to jog. The operators want to be able to hit the jog buttons on the MPG and move the spindle slowly at some speed and rotate the wheel to spin the spindle. This particular spindle/chuck is difficult to move by hand. Can I set the Oak to recognize the spindle as a rotary axis?
chronolite
Posts: 69
Joined: Sat Feb 15, 2020 4:48 pm
Acorn CNC Controller: Yes
Plasma CNC Controller: No
AcornSix CNC Controller: No
Allin1DC CNC Controller: No
Hickory CNC Controller: No
Oak CNC controller: No
CNC Control System Serial Number: 7804739E42DF-0925192491
DC3IOB: No
CNC12: Yes
CNC11: No
CPU10 or CPU7: Yes
Contact:

Re: Spindle Jog?

Post by chronolite »

Okay, I think that this is set via P35 and P312. I will try this weekend during downtime unless someone has some more insight.
suntravel
Posts: 1978
Joined: Thu Sep 23, 2021 3:49 pm
Acorn CNC Controller: Yes
Allin1DC CNC Controller: No
Oak CNC controller: No
CNC Control System Serial Number: 6433DB0446C1-08115074
DC3IOB: No
CNC12: Yes
CNC11: No
CPU10 or CPU7: No
Location: Germany

Re: Spindle Jog?

Post by suntravel »

For this you have to set up the spindle as C-Axis and switch with M50/51 the C-axis mode.

Uwe
chronolite
Posts: 69
Joined: Sat Feb 15, 2020 4:48 pm
Acorn CNC Controller: Yes
Plasma CNC Controller: No
AcornSix CNC Controller: No
Allin1DC CNC Controller: No
Hickory CNC Controller: No
Oak CNC controller: No
CNC Control System Serial Number: 7804739E42DF-0925192491
DC3IOB: No
CNC12: Yes
CNC11: No
CPU10 or CPU7: Yes
Contact:

Re: Spindle Jog?

Post by chronolite »

Hmm, not sure what I am doing wrong here.

So far I have:

P313 = 6
P35 = 6
I set axis 6 (it has a little S next to it) in the motor CFG to also say C
P167 = 19

I see the C axis in the DRO, but it has a huge value (not 360) and it doesn't move when I select Axis 6 on the MPG. Is there a TB or a guide or something that can help me get all this together? M50 and M51 also give an error that they're not implemented.
cnckeith
Posts: 7334
Joined: Wed Mar 03, 2010 4:23 pm
Acorn CNC Controller: Yes
Allin1DC CNC Controller: Yes
Oak CNC controller: Yes
CNC Control System Serial Number: none
DC3IOB: Yes
CNC11: Yes
CPU10 or CPU7: Yes
Contact:

Re: Spindle Jog?

Post by cnckeith »

chronolite wrote: Thu Jan 18, 2024 2:57 pm Hmm, not sure what I am doing wrong here.

So far I have:

P313 = 6
P35 = 6
I set axis 6 (it has a little S next to it) in the motor CFG to also say C
P167 = 19

I see the C axis in the DRO, but it has a huge value (not 360) and it doesn't move when I select Axis 6 on the MPG. Is there a TB or a guide or something that can help me get all this together? M50 and M51 also give an error that they're not implemented.
post a fresh report.zip
Need support? READ THIS POST first. http://centroidcncforum.com/viewtopic.php?f=60&t=1043
All Acorn Documentation is located here: viewtopic.php?f=60&t=3397
Answers to common questions: viewforum.php?f=63
and here viewforum.php?f=61
Gear we use but don't sell. https://www.centroidcnc.com/centroid_di ... _gear.html
cncsnw
Posts: 3854
Joined: Wed Mar 24, 2010 5:48 pm

Re: Spindle Jog?

Post by cncsnw »

You do not need C axis control for the kind of spindle jog you describe.

You just need a few additions to the PLC program.

I usually make a couple memory bits:
One, "SpindleEnable_M" takes the place of SpindleEnableOut in the standard spindle start/stop logic.
The other, "SpindleJog_M", is usually controlled by an Aux key or external pushbutton.

e.g.

Code: Select all

IF Aux1Key && !SpindleEnable_M && !SV_STOP THEN (SpindleJog_M)
The output relay "SpindleEnableOut" is then controlled by SpindleEnable_M and SpindleJog_M", OR'd together:

Code: Select all

IF SpindleEnable_M || SpindleJog_M THEN (SpindleEnableOut)
In the speed control section, I override the spindle speed command with a value from a machine parameter during spindle jogging:

Code: Select all

; In auto mode, assuming M3 or M4 present, use given RPM from CNC11/CNC12
IF SpinAutoModeLED THEN SpinSpeedCommand_FW = SV_PC_COMMANDED_SPINDLE_SPEED
; In manual mode, assuming spindle is on, use speed scaled from CCFG max
IF !SpinAutoModeLED THEN SpinSpeedCommand_FW = CfgMaxSpeed_FW *
                                               SV_PLC_SPINDLE_KNOB / 200.0 *
                                               SpinRangeAdjust_FW
; In manual or auto, if no M3/M4 or spindle run, then use zero instead
IF !SpindleEnable_M THEN SpinSpeedCommand_FW = 0.0

IF SpindleJog_M THEN SpinSpeedCommand_FW = SV_MACHINE_PARAMETER_760
chronolite
Posts: 69
Joined: Sat Feb 15, 2020 4:48 pm
Acorn CNC Controller: Yes
Plasma CNC Controller: No
AcornSix CNC Controller: No
Allin1DC CNC Controller: No
Hickory CNC Controller: No
Oak CNC controller: No
CNC Control System Serial Number: 7804739E42DF-0925192491
DC3IOB: No
CNC12: Yes
CNC11: No
CPU10 or CPU7: Yes
Contact:

Re: Spindle Jog?

Post by chronolite »

I'll setup an AUX key and then set P760 to 10 rpm or so and this should do it. Yeah this is very good. Simple. I'll follow up after the weekend. Thank you very much.
Post Reply