Oak CNC controller: No
CNC Control System Serial Number: none
DC3IOB: No
CNC12: Yes
CNC11: No
CPU10 or CPU7: No

Hardinge lathe >>New Project

Post by lavrgs »

This is a bit of a shot in the dark but I need to start somewhere. I am trying to assess buying a lathe with this control
I have no knowledge about the T39 Control; I suspect its a legacy control, but google brings me to a Centroid page... although it mentions VGA monitors.
The machine is a Hardinge but I don't know the model yet. I know the retrofit was done in 2002 and this lathe has been in storage for
a "couple Years"
Could I expect to use the controls as is, or is replacement best? I know its difficult question but put another way; Is a T39 viable today? Can the T39 Controls be updated? The Retrofit was done by Machines in Motion - they don't know the machine but said Centroid serial number would start with a "K" ...the only number I have was on the bill of materials; CNC-1380-A2-16 Does that mean anything to someone?
Are there a variety of machine that the T39 were used on or did they fit best with certain machines. I'm try to guess what the machine is. Started with CHNC but the current caretaker doesn't think it has a 7.5/10 HP motor and MIM says they probably would have swapped it.

EDIT One major ommission; there was mention of a missing motherboard, which to me. would be a show stopper.
EDIT 8/15 Update Title
Last edited by lavrgs on Tue Aug 15, 2023 1:54 pm, edited 1 time in total.
cncsnw

Re: Hardinge lathe with T39 Control need ID Help

Post by cncsnw »

Unfortunately, "T39", like "M400", has meant a lot of different things over the years. In general, it just means a lathe control with a handheld jog panel pendant instead of a console.