assigning new inputs

All things related to Centroid Oak, Allin1DC, MPU11 and Legacy products

Moderator: cnckeith

Post Reply
pwsystems
Posts: 39
Joined: Wed Apr 29, 2020 6:08 pm
Acorn CNC Controller: Yes
Allin1DC CNC Controller: Yes
Oak CNC controller: Yes
CNC Control System Serial Number: none
DC3IOB: No
CNC12: Yes
CNC11: No
CPU10 or CPU7: No

assigning new inputs

Post by pwsystems »

Hi all
A few years ago I completed mill conversion with a Allin1DC was very successfully
I now have need for an external START an FEED HOLD switches
My question is how to assign the inputs on the board


Regards
Peter
cncsnw
Posts: 3763
Joined: Wed Mar 24, 2010 5:48 pm

Re: assigning new inputs

Post by cncsnw »

Most PLC programs will not include pre-existing code for remote start or remote feed hold.

Therefore you can wire those buttons to any input you have open. INP7 and INP8, INP15 and INP16, or whatever.

Then you would edit your PLC program to add those definitions, up in the Input Definitions section. E.g.:

Code: Select all

RemoteStartButton    IS INP15  ; 0 = idle  1 = button pressed
RemoteFeedHoldButton IS INP16  ; 0 = idle  1 = button pressed
Then you would find the Cycle Start and Feed Hold sections, down in JogPanelStage, and add "OR" terms for your new inputs:

Code: Select all

;...
IF (FeedHoldKey_I || KbFeedHold_M || MpgFeedHold_M || SkinFeedHold_M_SV || RemoteFeedHoldButton) THEN (FeedHoldPD_PD)
;...
IF (CycleStartKey_I || KbCycleStart_M || MpgCycleStart_M || SkinCycleStart_M_SV || RemoteStartButton) 
  THEN (DoCycleStart_SV)
;...
Then save your changed file (preferably under a new name, and with a comment at the top explaining what was changed, when, and why) and compile it to mpu.plc.
pwsystems
Posts: 39
Joined: Wed Apr 29, 2020 6:08 pm
Acorn CNC Controller: Yes
Allin1DC CNC Controller: Yes
Oak CNC controller: Yes
CNC Control System Serial Number: none
DC3IOB: No
CNC12: Yes
CNC11: No
CPU10 or CPU7: No

Re: assigning new inputs

Post by pwsystems »

thanks cnc
this is an area ill have to do some learning on
Dose Centroid have a manuel on the plc program
I dont even know how to access the plc program
Id better get good at this because the next project is a
Twin spindle Lathe with C,Y and B Axis powed by OAK
cncsnw
Posts: 3763
Joined: Wed Mar 24, 2010 5:48 pm

Re: assigning new inputs

Post by cncsnw »

Yes, there is a manual:
https://www.centroidcnc.com/centroid_di ... manual.pdf

... and there are even tutorial YouTube videos:


A note of caution: don't get too hung up on NotePad++ setup. If you know what a text file is; know what a directory is; know what a command prompt is; and know how to type a command there, then you can use any text editor you wish, without any special setup.
pwsystems
Posts: 39
Joined: Wed Apr 29, 2020 6:08 pm
Acorn CNC Controller: Yes
Allin1DC CNC Controller: Yes
Oak CNC controller: Yes
CNC Control System Serial Number: none
DC3IOB: No
CNC12: Yes
CNC11: No
CPU10 or CPU7: No

Re: assigning new inputs

Post by pwsystems »

Thanks
yes I've found this series of video's
I've definitely got some leaning to do
thanks again for pointing me in the right direction

Peter
Post Reply