CNC Control System Serial Number: console 104030 SysId 0008DC111213-1202202505
DC3IOB: No
CNC12: Yes
CNC11: No
CPU10 or CPU7: No

Auto/manual/timed backup software

Post by cncot »

Gentlemen:
On all my computers I have an automatic backup program running in the background keeping track of any changes to the disc on a a separate external flash drive such that if the system drive fails, or a file is lost or revised mistakenly, recovery is simple and quick. On my Macintosh computers its built in: its called "Time Machine" At my age, remembering to run a backup is out of the question! I am much less familiar with the Windows ecosystem. I have installed AOMEI backup pro on my Dell laptop. Seems to emulate the Time Machine well. I would like to have the same functionality on the Centroid factory NUC. I have a Masters in Computer science and have written real time software, so I understand since Windows isn't a real time operating system, why you want background process like antivirus, etc turned off. I think you would be reluctant to tell me to run AOMEI backup software in constant mode. It would be wonderful if you would. Could you check to see if there would be any objection to it being run once daily on a clock, and run once at boot time? I could probably give the process clock a low priority. All backups are incremental, so there is normally only a tiny load. Is CNC 12 running in a process that excludes windows process or allows the OS small time slices?
What are other users doing? Running naked without being able to recover? :o I feel Naked until I have a solution.
Warm Regards, Mike
ShawnM
Acorn CNC Controller: Yes
Allin1DC CNC Controller: No
Oak CNC controller: No
CNC Control System Serial Number: 7804734C6498-0401191832

Re: Auto/manual/timed backup software

Post by ShawnM »