Turret fault

All things related to Centroid Oak, Allin1DC, MPU11 and Legacy products

Moderator: cnckeith

Post Reply
wyojack
Posts: 5
Joined: Thu Mar 31, 2022 10:52 am
Acorn CNC Controller: No
Allin1DC CNC Controller: No
Oak CNC controller: Yes
CNC Control System Serial Number: A901069
DC3IOB: No
CNC12: Yes
CNC11: No
CPU10 or CPU7: No

Turret fault

Post by wyojack »

Trying to avoid the fault associated with the turret. Specifically I am trying to bench test the oak board as to the proper output of speed voltages. All in prep to install my vfd to drive the spindle motor. I have successfully removed the fault associated with the encoder by knowing to change a field to show that one does not exist. So I need help in getting past the turret fault that occurs after the cycle start. Thanks
Attachments
report_0008DC111213-1209211227_2022-03-31_10-29-29.zip
(452.12 KiB) Downloaded 35 times
cncsnw
Posts: 3836
Joined: Wed Mar 24, 2010 5:48 pm

Re: Turret fault

Post by cncsnw »

The "9106 TOOL POSITION FAULT" fault condition and message are triggered by the following code in your PLC program:

Code: Select all

IF Initialize_T && !(ATC_Tool_1_I ^ ATC_Tool_2_I ^ ATC_Tool_3_I
 ^ ATC_Tool_4_I ^ ATC_Tool_5_I ^ ATC_Tool_6_I ^ ATC_Tool_7_I
 ^ ATC_Tool_8_I) && !Doing_M6_M && !DoToolIndexStage
 && !ATCOverride_M && !DoingIndex_M
     THEN FaultMsg_W = TOOL_POSITION_FAULT_C, ;(1+256*106)
        SET ShowFaultStage,
         SET SV_STOP
Boiled down, in order to avoid a fault, the PLC program requires that the expression:

Code: Select all

ATC_Tool_1_I ^ ATC_Tool_2_I ^ ATC_Tool_3_I ^ ATC_Tool_4_I ^ ATC_Tool_5_I ^ ATC_Tool_6_I ^ ATC_Tool_7_I ^ ATC_Tool_8_I
be true (1).

The "^" operator is an exclusive-or (XOR): one side or the other, but not both, must be true.

In the absence of a comment, the programmer's intent is not entirely clear. It was probably thought that this would ensure that one, and only one, of the eight turret-position sensors could be closed at any time. However, what the code actually does is ensure that any odd number of sensors are closed (one, three, five or seven out of the eight switches).

Given a turret-position switch or set of switches, with eight discrete switches for eight positions, the program will probably run without error. It just won't detect all of the failure conditions that it ought to detect.

To your immediate question: since you have not actually wired any turret inputs, you should invert (ctrl-alt-i) any one of INP25 - INP32. That will make it look like the turret is in one known position.

Also, since you apparently do not have your PLCADD1616 board connected and powered up, you should change Parameter 900 from 1 to 0.
wyojack
Posts: 5
Joined: Thu Mar 31, 2022 10:52 am
Acorn CNC Controller: No
Allin1DC CNC Controller: No
Oak CNC controller: Yes
CNC Control System Serial Number: A901069
DC3IOB: No
CNC12: Yes
CNC11: No
CPU10 or CPU7: No

Re: Turret fault

Post by wyojack »

Thank you for the help. I accomplished the suggestions. In addition I toggled imp24 as I then had a turret lock fault. So now a fault 913 says Could not open file testingresults.txt, line 39. I guess I need help again.
wyojack
Posts: 5
Joined: Thu Mar 31, 2022 10:52 am
Acorn CNC Controller: No
Allin1DC CNC Controller: No
Oak CNC controller: Yes
CNC Control System Serial Number: A901069
DC3IOB: No
CNC12: Yes
CNC11: No
CPU10 or CPU7: No

Re: Turret fault

Post by wyojack »

This problem was resolved with spindle test program for a lathe was provided. This resolved the problem with the old program trying to write to the incorrect location.
Post Reply