Setting up ALLIN1DC lathe only Z axis moves

All things related to Centroid Oak, Allin1DC, MPU11 and Legacy products

Moderator: cnckeith

Post Reply
sbaer
Posts: 3
Joined: Tue Jan 04, 2022 2:29 pm
Acorn CNC Controller: No
Allin1DC CNC Controller: Yes
Oak CNC controller: No
MPU11 & GPIO4D -w/ 3rd Party Drives: No
DC3IOB: No
CNC12: Yes
CNC11: No
CPU10 or CPU7: No
CNC Control System Serial Number: 0008dc111213-1119212671

Setting up ALLIN1DC lathe only Z axis moves

Post by sbaer »

Hi

I have wired up the control to a Lathe that had a Fagor 800T control on it. The Z and X axis encoders are working. Home and limit switches are not set up yet, just trying to jog the axis. Motors and encoders worked perfectly before I took the original control off two weeks ago.

Wired in the Centroid all in one DC, went through procedure in manual, assigned the bus axis and encoders so that they match.
For a while I was able to move the Z axis but only in one direction, other direction I would get a message about no movement despite full power. X axis would not move at all (0 encoder movement), get message saying that full power is applied with no movement (or something like that). When I probe for voltage at the motor terminals there is no voltage applied the motor at all. It appears as if the motors are being disabled by the control, maybe because the machine has not been homed.

When I physically switch the x and Z axis motor wiring and encoder I can make the X axis move, again only in one direction

I changed the "machine home at pwup" to jog but that did not fix things. I think I have inverted all the limit and home switches so that inputs 1 to 10 are all green. Thinking back I may not have inverted 17-20 to be green.
I would like to work on the machine tonight any ideas what I should try next?

Stan
cncsnw
Posts: 2414
Joined: Wed Mar 24, 2010 5:48 pm

Re: Setting up ALLIN1DC lathe only Z axis moves

Post by cncsnw »

You either need to connect your limit switches (normally-closed switches, to INP1, INP2, INP3 and INP4) or you need to toggle the limit-defeater DIP switches for those inputs.

Allin1DC will not power a motor in the direction of a tripped (open) limit switch input.

If you used Ctrl-Alt-i to invert INP1 - INP4, then undo that. Software inversion does not work for Allin1DC limit inputs. They are hardware inhibits.

You can un-invert INP17-INP20 too. Any installation manual that tells you those inputs need to be inverted is ten years out of date. That would only have applied to bench-testing an MPU11 + GPIO4D board combination.
sbaer
Posts: 3
Joined: Tue Jan 04, 2022 2:29 pm
Acorn CNC Controller: No
Allin1DC CNC Controller: Yes
Oak CNC controller: No
MPU11 & GPIO4D -w/ 3rd Party Drives: No
DC3IOB: No
CNC12: Yes
CNC11: No
CPU10 or CPU7: No
CNC Control System Serial Number: 0008dc111213-1119212671

Re: Setting up ALLIN1DC lathe only Z axis moves

Post by sbaer »

Hi

Thanks

I played around with it last night and was able to move the x axis by toggling the dip switches. Unfortunately I am afraid I have somehow damaged the limit switch inputs of the ALLinOne. I am not able to get any of the first 10 inputs to change state by applying 24V to them, either in a sinking format or sourcing.
tblough
Posts: 1867
Joined: Tue Mar 22, 2016 10:03 am
Acorn CNC Controller: Yes
Allin1DC CNC Controller: Yes
Oak CNC controller: Yes
MPU11 & GPIO4D -w/ 3rd Party Drives: Yes
DC3IOB: No
CNC12: Yes
CNC11: No
CPU10 or CPU7: No
CNC Control System Serial Number: 100505
100327
102696
103432
7804732B977B-0624192192
Location: Boston, MA
Contact:

Re: Setting up ALLIN1DC lathe only Z axis moves

Post by tblough »

Chances are you have those inputs forced on the I/O screen.
Cheers,

Tom
Confidence is the feeling you have before you fully understand the situation.
I have CDO. It's like OCD, but the letters are where they should be.
cncsnw
Posts: 2414
Joined: Wed Mar 24, 2010 5:48 pm

Re: Setting up ALLIN1DC lathe only Z axis moves

Post by cncsnw »

Post a picture of your input wiring, and a picture of the Alt-i screen.
sbaer
Posts: 3
Joined: Tue Jan 04, 2022 2:29 pm
Acorn CNC Controller: No
Allin1DC CNC Controller: Yes
Oak CNC controller: No
MPU11 & GPIO4D -w/ 3rd Party Drives: No
DC3IOB: No
CNC12: Yes
CNC11: No
CPU10 or CPU7: No
CNC Control System Serial Number: 0008dc111213-1119212671

Re: Setting up ALLIN1DC lathe only Z axis moves

Post by sbaer »

I don't think so, I have un-inverted them. I know CTRL ALT I inverts them, and CTRL ALT F forces them, is there an unforce command?
cnckeith
Posts: 3833
Joined: Wed Mar 03, 2010 4:23 pm
Acorn CNC Controller: Yes
Allin1DC CNC Controller: Yes
Oak CNC controller: Yes
MPU11 & GPIO4D -w/ 3rd Party Drives: Yes
DC3IOB: Yes
CNC11: Yes
CPU10 or CPU7: Yes
CNC Control System Serial Number: none
Contact:

Re: Setting up ALLIN1DC lathe only Z axis moves

Post by cnckeith »

Need support? READ THIS POST first. http://centroidcncforum.com/viewtopic.php?f=60&t=1043
All Acorn Documentation is located here: viewtopic.php?f=60&t=3397
Answers to common questions: viewforum.php?f=63
and here viewforum.php?f=61
Gear we use but don't sell. https://www.centroidcnc.com/centroid_di ... _gear.html
tblough
Posts: 1867
Joined: Tue Mar 22, 2016 10:03 am
Acorn CNC Controller: Yes
Allin1DC CNC Controller: Yes
Oak CNC controller: Yes
MPU11 & GPIO4D -w/ 3rd Party Drives: Yes
DC3IOB: No
CNC12: Yes
CNC11: No
CPU10 or CPU7: No
CNC Control System Serial Number: 100505
100327
102696
103432
7804732B977B-0624192192
Location: Boston, MA
Contact:

Re: Setting up ALLIN1DC lathe only Z axis moves

Post by tblough »

Keep hitting CTRL-ALT-F until there is no line BELOW either a red or green input/output. A line below the indicator indicates the port is forced either on (green) or off (red). A line above indicates the port is inverted.
Cheers,

Tom
Confidence is the feeling you have before you fully understand the situation.
I have CDO. It's like OCD, but the letters are where they should be.
martyscncgarage
Posts: 9441
Joined: Tue Mar 28, 2017 12:01 pm
Acorn CNC Controller: Yes
Allin1DC CNC Controller: Yes
Oak CNC controller: No
MPU11 & GPIO4D -w/ 3rd Party Drives: No
DC3IOB: No
CNC12: Yes
CNC11: Yes
CPU10 or CPU7: Yes
CNC Control System Serial Number: none
Location: Mesa, AZ

Re: Setting up ALLIN1DC lathe only Z axis moves

Post by martyscncgarage »

PLEASE post a fresh report when requesting help. F7 Utility, F7 Create Report. It helps us understand how you configured CNC12.
If you take the time to follow this post, it helps give us the big picture and to "See" what you "See" allowing us to make better suggestions
https://centroidcncforum.com/viewtopic.php?f=64&t=383
Marty
Reminder, for support please follow this post: viewtopic.php?f=20&t=383
We can't "SEE" what you see...
Mesa, AZ
Post Reply