servo3IO

All things related to Centroid Oak, Allin1DC, MPU11 and Legacy products

Moderator: cnckeith

Post Reply
megamachine
Posts: 4
Joined: Tue Nov 02, 2021 8:01 pm
Acorn CNC Controller: No
Allin1DC CNC Controller: No
Oak CNC controller: No
MPU11 & GPIO4D -w/ 3rd Party Drives: No
DC3IOB: No
CNC12: No
CNC11: Yes
CPU10 or CPU7: No
CNC Control System Serial Number: none

servo3IO

Post by megamachine »

i was gifted a servo3IO rev 010605 and looking for some information on it
i have 2 fanuc 5M dc servos ( 151v and 9A each )and one 0m (96V 7.2 A) will the servo 3IO handle them
i was looking for any documentation on the servo 3IO
any help is appreciated thanks :)
cncsnw
Posts: 2321
Joined: Wed Mar 24, 2010 5:48 pm

Re: servo3IO

Post by cncsnw »

Chances are good that you could power any of those motors with the SERVO3IO unit.

If you want to run all three of them, they will all have to run on the same bus voltage.

You will need to keep the bus voltage below 130VDC in any event. The SERVO3IO has lower-voltage components than the current Allin1DC.

You will, of course, need a Centroid CPU board to talk to it: either a CPU7 or CPU10 board with CPU7 PIC (not IO2PIC); or an MPU11 board with the LegacyAdd interface.

If your motors do not have Pulse Coder feedback (5VDC, quadrature, differential) then you would need to install suitable encoders on them before you can use them with any Centroid control system.
megamachine
Posts: 4
Joined: Tue Nov 02, 2021 8:01 pm
Acorn CNC Controller: No
Allin1DC CNC Controller: No
Oak CNC controller: No
MPU11 & GPIO4D -w/ 3rd Party Drives: No
DC3IOB: No
CNC12: No
CNC11: Yes
CPU10 or CPU7: No
CNC Control System Serial Number: none

Re: servo3IO

Post by megamachine »

i have a pair of glentek 4020 with the accu coder 755 a
cam i use these motors with the servo 3 io
thanks
H2O
cncsnw
Posts: 2321
Joined: Wed Mar 24, 2010 5:48 pm

Re: servo3IO

Post by cncsnw »

Probably. You still need a servo power supply suitable for the motors, and you still need a compatible controller board.
megamachine
Posts: 4
Joined: Tue Nov 02, 2021 8:01 pm
Acorn CNC Controller: No
Allin1DC CNC Controller: No
Oak CNC controller: No
MPU11 & GPIO4D -w/ 3rd Party Drives: No
DC3IOB: No
CNC12: No
CNC11: Yes
CPU10 or CPU7: No
CNC Control System Serial Number: none

Re: servo3IO

Post by megamachine »

I have a computer with cnc11 and a 72vdc transformer that is 15 amps
megamachine
Posts: 4
Joined: Tue Nov 02, 2021 8:01 pm
Acorn CNC Controller: No
Allin1DC CNC Controller: No
Oak CNC controller: No
MPU11 & GPIO4D -w/ 3rd Party Drives: No
DC3IOB: No
CNC12: No
CNC11: Yes
CPU10 or CPU7: No
CNC Control System Serial Number: none

Re: servo3IO

Post by megamachine »

For my next dumb question
AC servo for a spindle motor
Will the servo 3 io run it
What is the signal that the board puts out

Thanks for all the help
eng199
Posts: 237
Joined: Fri Jan 10, 2014 11:29 am
Acorn CNC Controller: Yes
Allin1DC CNC Controller: Yes
Oak CNC controller: Yes
MPU11 & GPIO4D -w/ 3rd Party Drives: Yes
DC3IOB: Yes
CNC12: Yes
CNC11: Yes
CPU10 or CPU7: Yes
CNC Control System Serial Number: none
Location: Howard, PA

Re: servo3IO

Post by eng199 »

SERVO3IO puts out analog 0-10V (optional 0 to 5, -5 to 5, or -10 to 10) for the spindle. You will need a spindle drive that can be controlled by analog voltage level.
Post Reply