Oak CNC controller: No
CNC Control System Serial Number: none
DC3IOB: No
CNC12: Yes
CNC11: No
CPU10 or CPU7: No

Found the limits of pushing the computer

Post by CJD »

Well, I've been running the all-in-one for almost 2 years with an i7 intel 8 core processor. It does so well that I started to push the limits. I first realized that I could run and edit Inventor at the same time I was running a job...no problem. Then I found I could surf the web, run Inventor, manipulate files, and run a job...no problem. The system finally balked though. Here is the limitation:

I have been running parts from blueprints, and I frequently don't need the mill while I am reading and programming the blueprints into Inventor. I got in the habit of putting the computer to sleep, to make it easier the next day not to have to re-open several sets of the same blueprints. So...after running the computer 3 days without a full reboot, I fired up the CNC12. THAT is where the system baulked! It would start a job just fine, but the zero positions started drifting.

No need to lecture, as I will continue to push the limits to see what I can get away with. I thought someone else would be interested to learn how far you can go!?!
Dave_C
Acorn CNC Controller: Yes
Allin1DC CNC Controller: No

Re: Found the limits of pushing the computer

Post by Dave_C »

I have a Honda Gold Wing that will do 125MPH (Limited at that speed) but I don't feel the need to push it till it breaks just to see if I can break it.

There are best practices for good reliable CNC results and then there are practices that make machines unreliable. I think you have described a lot of the things that would make a machine run unreliably!

You will get away with it until one day you crash and then you won't!

Dave C.
Grizzly G0678 Mill ,CNC conversion with Acorn. G4004G Lathe, Mach 3 conversion to Acorn.
ashesman
Acorn CNC Controller: No
Oak CNC controller: Yes

Post by ashesman »