KP-3 Probe

All things related to Centroid Oak, Allin1DC, MPU11 and Legacy products

Moderator: cnckeith

Post Reply
AllenM
Posts: 15
Joined: Thu May 03, 2018 4:54 pm
Acorn CNC Controller: No
Allin1DC CNC Controller: Yes
Oak CNC controller: No
MPU11 & GPIO4D -w/ 3rd Party Drives: No
DC3IOB: No
CNC11: Yes
CPU10 or CPU7: No
CNC Control System Serial Number: (0213130680)

KP-3 Probe

Post by AllenM »

I need help to figure out what I am doing wrong or don't understand. I purchased a KP-3 around the first of the year but am just now really trying to use it.
The probe is connected and working, run out has been calibrated and everything is working as it should.
Except, I don't understand why when I try to probe a single edge to find zero. It probes and it tells me correct tool offset but it backs off the part about .032 which is not half of the diameter. probe diameter is .0965. If I zero the part using half the probe diameter I am .0327 off center when I check it with a manual edge finder.

it makes it hard to set the part edge and this is why I haven't fooled with it much, I haven't had time to figure out what I am doing wrong.
Is this a parameter setting or what?

All in 1 DC- r6 on a bridgeport

Thanks in advance
tblough
Posts: 1536
Joined: Tue Mar 22, 2016 10:03 am
Acorn CNC Controller: Yes
Allin1DC CNC Controller: Yes
Oak CNC controller: Yes
MPU11 & GPIO4D -w/ 3rd Party Drives: Yes
DC3IOB: No
CNC12: Yes
CNC11: No
CPU10 or CPU7: No
CNC Control System Serial Number: 100505
100327
102696
103432
7804732B977B-0624192192
Location: Boston, MA
Contact:

Re: KP-3 Probe

Post by tblough »

If you use the part setup routines with the probe, it will approach the surface at the rapid probe speed, touch the surface, backoff the probe backoff distance, re-approach the surface at the slow probe speed and set the DRO location to 1/2 the probe diameter and stop with the probe touching the surface, and the DRO set to 1/2 the ball diameter. You do not have to manually "zero" the part.

If the probe is only touching once, backing off, and not moving again, then the probe cycles is not completing. Usually when this happens, the status window displays something like "Moving...". Post a report so we can see the error logs.
Cheers,

Tom
Confidence is the feeling you have before you fully understand the situation.
I have CDO. It's like OCD, but the letters are where they should be.
eng199
Posts: 190
Joined: Fri Jan 10, 2014 11:29 am
Acorn CNC Controller: Yes
Allin1DC CNC Controller: Yes
Oak CNC controller: Yes
MPU11 & GPIO4D -w/ 3rd Party Drives: Yes
DC3IOB: Yes
CNC12: Yes
CNC11: Yes
CPU10 or CPU7: Yes
CNC Control System Serial Number: none
Location: Howard, PA

Re: KP-3 Probe

Post by eng199 »

There is a stylus diameter calibration procedure starting on page 18 in the manual. The diameter value is pretravel and probe tip, not just probe tip diameter. It sounds like you may have entered the measured tip diameter.
AllenM
Posts: 15
Joined: Thu May 03, 2018 4:54 pm
Acorn CNC Controller: No
Allin1DC CNC Controller: Yes
Oak CNC controller: No
MPU11 & GPIO4D -w/ 3rd Party Drives: No
DC3IOB: No
CNC11: Yes
CPU10 or CPU7: No
CNC Control System Serial Number: (0213130680)

Re: KP-3 Probe

Post by AllenM »

I re ran the stylus calibration today with a 2.0" precision ring gauge it is reading within .0002" at .0965. I will run it again now and see if it is not completing the second touch off cycle
AllenM
Posts: 15
Joined: Thu May 03, 2018 4:54 pm
Acorn CNC Controller: No
Allin1DC CNC Controller: Yes
Oak CNC controller: No
MPU11 & GPIO4D -w/ 3rd Party Drives: No
DC3IOB: No
CNC11: Yes
CPU10 or CPU7: No
CNC Control System Serial Number: (0213130680)

Re: KP-3 Probe

Post by AllenM »

Here is a small vid of what its doing. it is running a compete cycle and then backs off. https://photos.app.goo.gl/9dPWFZFqz4Bg4KdZ8

and a pic of the screen after. the cycle does finish the video shows pretty clear what its doing. I feel like a parameter setting is wrong

https://photos.app.goo.gl/a63U2cPokufSfmeq8 ( changed the pic to show whole screen )

Sorry for doing it with links you may have to copy and pate
tblough
Posts: 1536
Joined: Tue Mar 22, 2016 10:03 am
Acorn CNC Controller: Yes
Allin1DC CNC Controller: Yes
Oak CNC controller: Yes
MPU11 & GPIO4D -w/ 3rd Party Drives: Yes
DC3IOB: No
CNC12: Yes
CNC11: No
CPU10 or CPU7: No
CNC Control System Serial Number: 100505
100327
102696
103432
7804732B977B-0624192192
Location: Boston, MA
Contact:

Re: KP-3 Probe

Post by tblough »

That is the correct behavior for "probing". The value in the dialog box is the location of the surface in the current WCS. All of the routines in the "Probe" menu are to locate and display the position of the selected point in the current WCS - a poor man's CMM.

If you want to set an axis position, back up a few menu levels to the Part Setup screen, use F1 to select the axis, the use arrow keys to select the approach from column, then use the spacebar to select the correct direction. You can preset the par position buy entering a value in the part position field if needed. Finally press F4 Auto to have the machine locate the position with the probe. This is all in the manual, BTW.
Cheers,

Tom
Confidence is the feeling you have before you fully understand the situation.
I have CDO. It's like OCD, but the letters are where they should be.
AllenM
Posts: 15
Joined: Thu May 03, 2018 4:54 pm
Acorn CNC Controller: No
Allin1DC CNC Controller: Yes
Oak CNC controller: No
MPU11 & GPIO4D -w/ 3rd Party Drives: No
DC3IOB: No
CNC11: Yes
CPU10 or CPU7: No
CNC Control System Serial Number: (0213130680)

Re: KP-3 Probe

Post by AllenM »

That was the missing piece.
Thank you,

All I have is the 26 page installation and setup directions and I don't see any how to use info in there. I looked in the DP3 directions as well that are on the website.
Unless my reading comprehension is in the dumpster today. Is there a different manual you are talking about?
tblough
Posts: 1536
Joined: Tue Mar 22, 2016 10:03 am
Acorn CNC Controller: Yes
Allin1DC CNC Controller: Yes
Oak CNC controller: Yes
MPU11 & GPIO4D -w/ 3rd Party Drives: Yes
DC3IOB: No
CNC12: Yes
CNC11: No
CPU10 or CPU7: No
CNC Control System Serial Number: 100505
100327
102696
103432
7804732B977B-0624192192
Location: Boston, MA
Contact:

Re: KP-3 Probe

Post by tblough »

There should be a copy in the CNCM/MANUAL directory on the control PC. It's also available here: https://www.centroidcnc.com/centroid_di ... -v4.14.pdf
Cheers,

Tom
Confidence is the feeling you have before you fully understand the situation.
I have CDO. It's like OCD, but the letters are where they should be.
AllenM
Posts: 15
Joined: Thu May 03, 2018 4:54 pm
Acorn CNC Controller: No
Allin1DC CNC Controller: Yes
Oak CNC controller: No
MPU11 & GPIO4D -w/ 3rd Party Drives: No
DC3IOB: No
CNC11: Yes
CPU10 or CPU7: No
CNC Control System Serial Number: (0213130680)

Re: KP-3 Probe

Post by AllenM »

Oh, That manual....
cnckeith
Posts: 3358
Joined: Wed Mar 03, 2010 4:23 pm
Acorn CNC Controller: Yes
Allin1DC CNC Controller: Yes
Oak CNC controller: Yes
MPU11 & GPIO4D -w/ 3rd Party Drives: Yes
DC3IOB: Yes
CNC11: Yes
CPU10 or CPU7: Yes
CNC Control System Serial Number: none
Contact:

Re: KP-3 Probe

Post by cnckeith »

related probe app by swissi.
viewtopic.php?f=60&t=4973

and for reference kp-3 manual link for anyone else reading this thread.
https://www.centroidcnc.com/centroid_di ... _probe.pdf
Need support? READ THIS POST first. http://centroidcncforum.com/viewtopic.php?f=60&t=1043
All Acorn Documentation is located here: viewtopic.php?f=60&t=3397
Answers to common questions: viewforum.php?f=63
and here viewforum.php?f=61
Gear we use but don't sell. https://www.centroidcnc.com/centroid_di ... _gear.html
Post Reply