Oak CNC controller: No
CNC Control System Serial Number: 1030090103
DC3IOB: Yes
CNC12: Yes
CNC11: Yes
CPU10 or CPU7: No

Need Advice on a Path to Upgrade to Probing

Post by polaraligned »

I have been running a DC3IOB with MPU11 for 6 years now in a hobby environment. Software is CNC11 on a Windows 7 computer. I can't find pricing to add probing to my CNC11 software. I understand that the CNC12 Pro comes with probing.

I would assume that the probing software unlock is still available for CNC11, but I don't know of the cost.

Would a better path be to upgrade to CNC12?

Do you need Windows 10 to run CNC12 or will my Win 7 computer be ok?

Are there any other features that CNC12 provides over CNC11?

Will Swissi's Probe App work on my current system without upgrading? Or is that just Acorn specific?

Sorry for all the questions.

Thank you,
Scott
cncsnw

Re: Need Advice on a Path to Upgrade to Probing

Post by cncsnw »

Software-only cost for probing in CNC11 and CNC12 pre-v4.16 was generally half the cost of the DP-4 probe package, so probably now $895.

Software cost to update to CNC12 v4.16 or newer (v4.18 is current, v4.20 is on the horizon maybe) is $299.

If you have the patience to update your computer to Windows 10, and change your control software, then the CNC12 upgrade is definitely a better deal.
swissi
Acorn CNC Controller: Yes
Allin1DC CNC Controller: No
CNC Control System Serial Number: 985DADEB24D5-0309180716
DC3IOB: No
CNC11: No

Post by swissi »

polaraligned wrote: Mon Mar 08, 2021 2:19 pm I have been running a DC3IOB with MPU11 for 6 years now in a hobby environment. Software is CNC11 on a Windows 7 computer. I can't find pricing to add probing to my CNC11 software. I understand that the CNC12 Pro comes with probing.

I would assume that the probing software unlock is still available for CNC11, but I don't know of the cost.

Would a better path be to upgrade to CNC12?

Do you need Windows 10 to run CNC12 or will my Win 7 computer be ok?