newbie looking for help on how many processes and fixturing

All things related to Centroid Oak, Allin1DC, MPU11 and Legacy products

Moderator: cnckeith

Post Reply
tradin1
Posts: 11
Joined: Fri Nov 06, 2020 2:56 pm
Acorn CNC Controller: No
Allin1DC CNC Controller: Yes
Oak CNC controller: No
MPU11 & GPIO4D -w/ 3rd Party Drives: No
DC3IOB: No
CNC12: Yes
CNC11: No
CPU10 or CPU7: No
CNC Control System Serial Number: none

newbie looking for help on how many processes and fixturing

Post by tradin1 »

i have drawn several parts in F360 and before i start breaking tools or spending more time than necessary making these parts i was wondering if anyone has the interest in helping me on the first part or two.

i have a knee type mill that came with centroid 7 that i just upgraded to the ultimate version of centroid. it is 3 axis. 5 hp. flood and mist coolant. i have the kp3 touch probe.

i also want to digitize some parts that i need to replace on a car that i am restoring. i need to digitize the part 360* and ultimately machine it on this mill.

i am using fusion 360 for my cad/cam.

i would be happy to pay for the help.

thx
Gixer
Posts: 43
Joined: Tue Jun 30, 2020 3:18 pm
Acorn CNC Controller: No
Allin1DC CNC Controller: Yes
Oak CNC controller: No
MPU11 & GPIO4D -w/ 3rd Party Drives: No
DC3IOB: No
CNC12: Yes
CNC11: No
CPU10 or CPU7: No
CNC Control System Serial Number: 0324202376

Re: newbie looking for help on how many processes and fixturing

Post by Gixer »

The problem is converting it to go into fusion 360 after digitizing i have a very similar setup to yours i digitize ok but converting it i`ve not quite done yet but you can run it straight from the machine once digitized but there are a few drawbacks.
Sportbikeryder
Posts: 161
Joined: Thu Jan 26, 2017 11:45 pm
Acorn CNC Controller: No
Allin1DC CNC Controller: No
Oak CNC controller: No
MPU11 & GPIO4D -w/ 3rd Party Drives: No
DC3IOB: No
CNC12: Yes
CNC11: No
CPU10 or CPU7: Yes
CNC Control System Serial Number: 10583
Location: North Carolina

Re: newbie looking for help on how many processes and fixturing

Post by Sportbikeryder »

"Digitizing" is a fairly complex process. What types of parts are you trying to replicate? If they are structural type parts with standard geometry, you will likely be best suited to use the probe as a measuring tool to then model the parts in CAD.

If they are more organic type parts, some form of scanning may be of benefit.

Post some more details of what you are trying to replicate.

John
tradin1
Posts: 11
Joined: Fri Nov 06, 2020 2:56 pm
Acorn CNC Controller: No
Allin1DC CNC Controller: Yes
Oak CNC controller: No
MPU11 & GPIO4D -w/ 3rd Party Drives: No
DC3IOB: No
CNC12: Yes
CNC11: No
CPU10 or CPU7: No
CNC Control System Serial Number: none

Re: newbie looking for help on how many processes and fixturing

Post by tradin1 »

I am restoring old cars. One thing I want to make is a metal stamp to stamp the recess behind a door handle. It is not a standard mechanical piece but a free for shape.

Other parts I can and have drawn in f360 and getting the critical dimensions would help tremendously.

The third function is what is called shuffle pinning. It’s where you add dowel pins between the eng case halves to keep them locked together. I have a case already done. I’d like to digitize it the replicate the holes for the dowel pins on future case halves.
Attachments
Recess for shuffle pins
Recess for shuffle pins
Shuffle pins
Shuffle pins
Door pocket
Door pocket
Suspension part
Suspension part
BodeRacing
Posts: 73
Joined: Sat May 16, 2020 12:40 pm
Acorn CNC Controller: No
Allin1DC CNC Controller: No
Oak CNC controller: Yes
MPU11 & GPIO4D -w/ 3rd Party Drives: No
DC3IOB: No
CNC12: No
CNC11: Yes
CPU10 or CPU7: No
CNC Control System Serial Number: 102849

Re: newbie looking for help on how many processes and fixturing

Post by BodeRacing »

I don't know if this will help you or not. I have not used 3d scanning yet, but have 2D. Fusion 360 struggles if the file is too big. And now you need the paid version to do anything with it.

I now have Solidworks and am learning it, albeit very slowly............
Attachments
Digitizing Into Fusion 360.pdf
(4 MiB) Downloaded 8 times
tradin1
Posts: 11
Joined: Fri Nov 06, 2020 2:56 pm
Acorn CNC Controller: No
Allin1DC CNC Controller: Yes
Oak CNC controller: No
MPU11 & GPIO4D -w/ 3rd Party Drives: No
DC3IOB: No
CNC12: Yes
CNC11: No
CPU10 or CPU7: No
CNC Control System Serial Number: none

Re: newbie looking for help on how many processes and fixturing

Post by tradin1 »

i have a paid version of both F360 and solidedge.
tradin1
Posts: 11
Joined: Fri Nov 06, 2020 2:56 pm
Acorn CNC Controller: No
Allin1DC CNC Controller: Yes
Oak CNC controller: No
MPU11 & GPIO4D -w/ 3rd Party Drives: No
DC3IOB: No
CNC12: Yes
CNC11: No
CPU10 or CPU7: No
CNC Control System Serial Number: none

Re: newbie looking for help on how many processes and fixturing

Post by tradin1 »

i just looked at the attachment. i digitize to cad and then import that file into a bad ass pc with f360 and/or solid edge and see what happens! that is the workflow?
BodeRacing
Posts: 73
Joined: Sat May 16, 2020 12:40 pm
Acorn CNC Controller: No
Allin1DC CNC Controller: No
Oak CNC controller: Yes
MPU11 & GPIO4D -w/ 3rd Party Drives: No
DC3IOB: No
CNC12: No
CNC11: Yes
CPU10 or CPU7: No
CNC Control System Serial Number: 102849

Re: newbie looking for help on how many processes and fixturing

Post by BodeRacing »

tradin1 wrote: Wed Mar 17, 2021 8:34 pm i just looked at the attachment. i digitize to cad and then import that file into a bad ass pc with f360 and/or solid edge and see what happens! that is the workflow?
I think that is a question, so........................

Digitize and dump it into excel. Clean up the outliers (basically where it starts and maybe ends), and save as a .csv file. Import that into Fusion 360 and go from there.
tradin1
Posts: 11
Joined: Fri Nov 06, 2020 2:56 pm
Acorn CNC Controller: No
Allin1DC CNC Controller: Yes
Oak CNC controller: No
MPU11 & GPIO4D -w/ 3rd Party Drives: No
DC3IOB: No
CNC12: Yes
CNC11: No
CPU10 or CPU7: No
CNC Control System Serial Number: none

Re: newbie looking for help on how many processes and fixturing

Post by tradin1 »

BodeRacing wrote: Wed Mar 17, 2021 9:36 pm
tradin1 wrote: Wed Mar 17, 2021 8:34 pm i just looked at the attachment. i digitize to cad and then import that file into a bad ass pc with f360 and/or solid edge and see what happens! that is the workflow?
I think that is a question, so........................

Digitize and dump it into excel. Clean up the outliers (basically where it starts and maybe ends), and save as a .csv file. Import that into Fusion 360 and go from there.
I will give that a try and report back.

Thx
Post Reply