OAK with DYN4 showing encoder errors <resolved>

All things related to Centroid Oak, Allin1DC, MPU11 and Legacy products

Moderator: cnckeith

skibum-engineer
Posts: 8
Joined: Thu Feb 11, 2021 9:09 pm
Acorn CNC Controller: No
Allin1DC CNC Controller: No
Oak CNC controller: Yes
MPU11 & GPIO4D -w/ 3rd Party Drives: No
DC3IOB: No
CNC12: Yes
CNC11: No
CPU10 or CPU7: No
CNC Control System Serial Number: none

OAK with DYN4 showing encoder errors <resolved>

Post by skibum-engineer »

Hi all,
My very first post here so please bear with me if its a bit incomplete or completely stupid.

I've wired up 3 servos (DMM 1.3kW) with DYN4 drives and the Centroid Oak/DMM drive cables.

After initial setup I'm trying to jog but get the following errors.
412 Xaxis (1) encoder differential error
455 Xaxis (1) encoder quadrature error

as well as a value of zero after tuning for parameter 341 (odd...)

I will attach the .zip report first thing tomorrow.

The servos do move when using the DMMDRV setup tool. I selected sinusoidal and successfully had motion.

Any thoughts or hints in the right direction are appreciated
Attachments
error in centroid
error in centroid
setting in DMMDRV for DYN 4
setting in DMMDRV for DYN 4
martyscncgarage
Posts: 7489
Joined: Tue Mar 28, 2017 12:01 pm
Acorn CNC Controller: Yes
Allin1DC CNC Controller: Yes
Oak CNC controller: No
MPU11 & GPIO4D -w/ 3rd Party Drives: No
DC3IOB: No
CNC12: Yes
CNC11: Yes
CPU10 or CPU7: Yes
CNC Control System Serial Number: none
Location: Mesa, AZ

Re: OAK with DYN4 showing encoder errors

Post by martyscncgarage »

I thought I responded.
You are not providing enough information for us to give you useful suggestions.
PLEASE take the time to follow this post:
viewtopic.php?f=64&t=383

I have to assume you bought the cables that go from OAK to the DYN4 Drives?

Try and set GEAR and LINE numbers in DMMDRV, both to 2000 and set CNC12 Encoders to 8000
You have to be in PRECISION mode and you will have to run the TEST to set the DELAY in CNC12.
You can do this with motors off the machine.
Reminder, for support please follow this post: viewtopic.php?f=20&t=383
We can't "SEE" what you see...
Mesa, AZ
martyscncgarage
Posts: 7489
Joined: Tue Mar 28, 2017 12:01 pm
Acorn CNC Controller: Yes
Allin1DC CNC Controller: Yes
Oak CNC controller: No
MPU11 & GPIO4D -w/ 3rd Party Drives: No
DC3IOB: No
CNC12: Yes
CNC11: Yes
CPU10 or CPU7: Yes
CNC Control System Serial Number: none
Location: Mesa, AZ

Re: OAK with DYN4 showing encoder errors

Post by martyscncgarage »

Did you happen to watch this video:
Reminder, for support please follow this post: viewtopic.php?f=20&t=383
We can't "SEE" what you see...
Mesa, AZ
cncsnw
Posts: 1873
Joined: Wed Mar 24, 2010 5:48 pm

Re: OAK with DYN4 showing encoder errors

Post by cncsnw »

Parameters 340-342 and Centroid's delay-time autotune are not relevant until after you get your motors moving under Oak control.

Go to the PID Configuration -> Encoder screen: F1/Setup -> F3/Config -> "137" -> F4/PID -> F3/Encoder.
Turn each motor shaft back and forth by hand.
Do you see the encoder position counting up and down, for each of the three motors?
skibum-engineer
Posts: 8
Joined: Thu Feb 11, 2021 9:09 pm
Acorn CNC Controller: No
Allin1DC CNC Controller: No
Oak CNC controller: Yes
MPU11 & GPIO4D -w/ 3rd Party Drives: No
DC3IOB: No
CNC12: Yes
CNC11: No
CPU10 or CPU7: No
CNC Control System Serial Number: none

Re: OAK with DYN4 showing encoder errors

Post by skibum-engineer »

Thank you both very much for your replies and information

Marty,
I've attached the Report file.

I set the Gear and Line to 2000 for all three drives
I set the encoder count to 8000 for XYZ
I Checked that Precision Mode was enabled (Param 256 set to 2)
Tried to TUNE but Error: Status 6

cncsnw,
I tested the encoders as you said and they are giving values when moved.
https://we.tl/t-hpeX9eegzU

I Now Get a Drive 1 Fault as soon as I try to Jog X (no motion occurs)
Attachments
Drive 1 fault on X Jog
Drive 1 fault on X Jog
Encoders set to 8000
Encoders set to 8000
report_0008DC111213-1214201072_2021-02-17_06-22-33.zip
system report
(515.51 KiB) Downloaded 3 times
result of the PID Tune attempt
result of the PID Tune attempt
Precision mode enabled
Precision mode enabled
Oak status LEDs
Oak status LEDs
Oak Board
Oak Board
DMMDRV settings
DMMDRV settings
martyscncgarage
Posts: 7489
Joined: Tue Mar 28, 2017 12:01 pm
Acorn CNC Controller: Yes
Allin1DC CNC Controller: Yes
Oak CNC controller: No
MPU11 & GPIO4D -w/ 3rd Party Drives: No
DC3IOB: No
CNC12: Yes
CNC11: Yes
CPU10 or CPU7: Yes
CNC Control System Serial Number: none
Location: Mesa, AZ

Re: OAK with DYN4 showing encoder errors

Post by martyscncgarage »

Do you have this sheet from DMM?
Attachments
DYN4 AC Servo Drive to Centroid OAK R4.pdf
(98.7 KiB) Downloaded 6 times
Reminder, for support please follow this post: viewtopic.php?f=20&t=383
We can't "SEE" what you see...
Mesa, AZ
martyscncgarage
Posts: 7489
Joined: Tue Mar 28, 2017 12:01 pm
Acorn CNC Controller: Yes
Allin1DC CNC Controller: Yes
Oak CNC controller: No
MPU11 & GPIO4D -w/ 3rd Party Drives: No
DC3IOB: No
CNC12: Yes
CNC11: Yes
CPU10 or CPU7: Yes
CNC Control System Serial Number: none
Location: Mesa, AZ

Re: OAK with DYN4 showing encoder errors

Post by martyscncgarage »

You don't have the Servo drive enable ACTIVE LOW checked in DMMDRV.
Please go through the sheet I posted above. I used 2000 in gear and line number and 8000 encoder counts in Centroid software. But follow the instruction sheet to the letter and try again.
I am also assuming you bought the signal cables from DMM...
Reminder, for support please follow this post: viewtopic.php?f=20&t=383
We can't "SEE" what you see...
Mesa, AZ
skibum-engineer
Posts: 8
Joined: Thu Feb 11, 2021 9:09 pm
Acorn CNC Controller: No
Allin1DC CNC Controller: No
Oak CNC controller: Yes
MPU11 & GPIO4D -w/ 3rd Party Drives: No
DC3IOB: No
CNC12: Yes
CNC11: No
CPU10 or CPU7: No
CNC Control System Serial Number: none

Re: OAK with DYN4 showing encoder errors

Post by skibum-engineer »

Cables were from DMM yes
It worked!
I have motion on all three drives.
The DMMDRV panel settings didn't stick on the Z drive (the screenshot i shared previously)
martyscncgarage
Posts: 7489
Joined: Tue Mar 28, 2017 12:01 pm
Acorn CNC Controller: Yes
Allin1DC CNC Controller: Yes
Oak CNC controller: No
MPU11 & GPIO4D -w/ 3rd Party Drives: No
DC3IOB: No
CNC12: Yes
CNC11: Yes
CPU10 or CPU7: Yes
CNC Control System Serial Number: none
Location: Mesa, AZ

Re: OAK with DYN4 showing encoder errors

Post by martyscncgarage »

Good to hear. Carry on.
Are you doing a mill?
Counter weighted head? Picture of the machine?
Be sure to use a line reactor on the power to the drives. Automation direct sells them. One properly sized line reactor is fine. I put mine on the line side of the Estop contactor.
Reminder, for support please follow this post: viewtopic.php?f=20&t=383
We can't "SEE" what you see...
Mesa, AZ
skibum-engineer
Posts: 8
Joined: Thu Feb 11, 2021 9:09 pm
Acorn CNC Controller: No
Allin1DC CNC Controller: No
Oak CNC controller: Yes
MPU11 & GPIO4D -w/ 3rd Party Drives: No
DC3IOB: No
CNC12: Yes
CNC11: No
CPU10 or CPU7: No
CNC Control System Serial Number: none

Re: OAK with DYN4 showing encoder errors

Post by skibum-engineer »

I'm building a gigantic 3D Printer for construction
YEs counterweighted head, but I'll add a brake resistor if needed

I will actual have dual Xaxis and then a Zservo with break.
Setup picture will follow in a month or so.

Noted for the Reactor.
Post Reply