Programing question?

All things related to Centroid Oak, Allin1DC, MPU11 and Legacy products

Moderator: cnckeith

AllenM
Posts: 10
Joined: Thu May 03, 2018 4:54 pm
Acorn CNC Controller: No
Allin1DC CNC Controller: Yes
Oak CNC controller: No
MPU11 & GPIO4D -w/ 3rd Party Drives: No
DC3IOB: No
CNC11: Yes
CPU10 or CPU7: No
CNC Control System Serial Number: (0213130680)

Programing question?

Post by AllenM »

As I look through all the topics here they deal mostly with installation and trouble shooting.
My mill is up and running, what I have is a simple programming question.

Is this a good place to ask a programming question, i could not find any other Centroid forums?
I can not over emphasize how unschooled I am to CNC. Plus I just added a 3rd axis to my Bridgeport Mill on Allin1 controller and this has been a new learning curve for me also

I have no machinist or programming background other then what I have taught myself over the last couple years with 2 axis mill.
tblough
Posts: 1267
Joined: Tue Mar 22, 2016 10:03 am
Acorn CNC Controller: Yes
Allin1DC CNC Controller: Yes
Oak CNC controller: Yes
MPU11 & GPIO4D -w/ 3rd Party Drives: Yes
DC3IOB: No
CNC12: Yes
CNC11: No
CPU10 or CPU7: No
CNC Control System Serial Number: 100505
100327
102696
103432
7804732B977B-0624192192
Location: Boston, MA
Contact:

Re: Programing question?

Post by tblough »

Depends on the question ;-) Seriously, we're here to help. Post away.
Cheers,

Tom
Confidence is the feeling you have before you fully understand the situation.
I have CDO. It's like OCD, but the letters are where they should be.
AllenM
Posts: 10
Joined: Thu May 03, 2018 4:54 pm
Acorn CNC Controller: No
Allin1DC CNC Controller: Yes
Oak CNC controller: No
MPU11 & GPIO4D -w/ 3rd Party Drives: No
DC3IOB: No
CNC11: Yes
CPU10 or CPU7: No
CNC Control System Serial Number: (0213130680)

Re: Programing question?

Post by AllenM »

What I am trying to do is front strap checkering on a 1911 pistol. I have a fixture that i have been using with the 2 axis that allows me to plunge with Y axis and rotate the gun and back out then manually drop the spindle and repeat.

What I want now with the 3rd axis is to add a Z movement of .040 as on of the blocks but if I try to program it with Depth repeat it keeps retracting Z to home after completing the program before plunging to the next depth. I want it to be able to run single block mode and eliminate the retraction move without having to manually edit the g code.

If was was sharp enough I guess I could eliminate the manual fixture all together but baby steps...
tblough
Posts: 1267
Joined: Tue Mar 22, 2016 10:03 am
Acorn CNC Controller: Yes
Allin1DC CNC Controller: Yes
Oak CNC controller: Yes
MPU11 & GPIO4D -w/ 3rd Party Drives: Yes
DC3IOB: No
CNC12: Yes
CNC11: No
CPU10 or CPU7: No
CNC Control System Serial Number: 100505
100327
102696
103432
7804732B977B-0624192192
Location: Boston, MA
Contact:

Re: Programing question?

Post by tblough »

Post the Intercon program so we can see what you have currently, but my initial guess is it is probably not possible with only Intercon.

Intercon is designed to operate safely in all cases so disabling specific clearance moves is probably not possible without manually editing the g-code.
Cheers,

Tom
Confidence is the feeling you have before you fully understand the situation.
I have CDO. It's like OCD, but the letters are where they should be.
AllenM
Posts: 10
Joined: Thu May 03, 2018 4:54 pm
Acorn CNC Controller: No
Allin1DC CNC Controller: Yes
Oak CNC controller: No
MPU11 & GPIO4D -w/ 3rd Party Drives: No
DC3IOB: No
CNC11: Yes
CPU10 or CPU7: No
CNC Control System Serial Number: (0213130680)

Re: Programing question?

Post by AllenM »

CNC12 v4.15
AllenM
Posts: 10
Joined: Thu May 03, 2018 4:54 pm
Acorn CNC Controller: No
Allin1DC CNC Controller: Yes
Oak CNC controller: No
MPU11 & GPIO4D -w/ 3rd Party Drives: No
DC3IOB: No
CNC11: Yes
CPU10 or CPU7: No
CNC Control System Serial Number: (0213130680)

Re: Programing question?

Post by AllenM »

Rev6
AllenM
Posts: 10
Joined: Thu May 03, 2018 4:54 pm
Acorn CNC Controller: No
Allin1DC CNC Controller: Yes
Oak CNC controller: No
MPU11 & GPIO4D -w/ 3rd Party Drives: No
DC3IOB: No
CNC11: Yes
CPU10 or CPU7: No
CNC Control System Serial Number: (0213130680)

Re: Programing question?

Post by AllenM »

Thats a bit of editing and God forbid I forget and modify something in the program after edit.
But if that is what it takes.

I need to figure out how to let the mill cut the radius it sounds like
cncsnw
Posts: 1756
Joined: Wed Mar 24, 2010 5:48 pm

Re: Programing question?

Post by cncsnw »

I can't really picture what you are trying to do, but if you want to do a Depth Repeat without having Z move to a higher clearance in between passes, then you should be able to set the Clearance Height to 0.000 and press F1 to make it incremental (INC).
AllenM
Posts: 10
Joined: Thu May 03, 2018 4:54 pm
Acorn CNC Controller: No
Allin1DC CNC Controller: Yes
Oak CNC controller: No
MPU11 & GPIO4D -w/ 3rd Party Drives: No
DC3IOB: No
CNC11: Yes
CPU10 or CPU7: No
CNC Control System Serial Number: (0213130680)

Re: Programing question?

Post by AllenM »

cncsnw wrote: Fri Jan 08, 2021 1:14 pm I can't really picture what you are trying to do, but if you want to do a Depth Repeat without having Z move to a higher clearance in between passes, then you should be able to set the Clearance Height to 0.000 and press F1 to make it incremental (INC).

I will go back and try that and see what that does on a test file.
I just finished editing and removing the retraction moves and also the comments so it would work better in single block mode and it is doing exactly what I want.

What I need is Y to move in .028 from 0. Manually pivot my fixture, have Y move out to -.020 then z move down .040 and repeat until z has traveled 2.4 "
Attachments
20200503_154721.jpg
cncsnw
Posts: 1756
Joined: Wed Mar 24, 2010 5:48 pm

Re: Programing question?

Post by cncsnw »

You can turn "Comment Generation" off using the Intercon Setup screen.

You can use Insert -> Other -> M&G Code to put an M0 in your program wherever you want it to stop and wait. Then you would not have to use Single Block mode.
Post Reply