Dmm Technologies and DYN4 Drive (RESOLVED)

All things related to Centroid Oak, Allin1DC, MPU11 and Legacy products

Moderator: cnckeith

Post Reply
jimyear
Posts: 4
Joined: Tue Mar 12, 2019 2:14 pm
Acorn CNC Controller: No
Allin1DC CNC Controller: No
Oak CNC controller: No
MPU11 & GPIO4D -w/ 3rd Party Drives: No
DC3IOB: No
CNC12: Yes
CNC11: No
CPU10 or CPU7: No
CNC Control System Serial Number: none

Dmm Technologies and DYN4 Drive (RESOLVED)

Post by jimyear »

I am trying to set upDMM Technologies DYN4 drives on OAK and am getting no motion from the servos
The servos are currently on the bench and not mounted and when I attempt to jog them using the VFD Jog Panel after setting Home I get a drive fault
The encoders have feedback in the PID menu. I think that I missed setting up some parameter somewhere.
I have watched Martyscnc video and set the drives according to the parameters he utilized.
Also the wired MPG from Centroid doesnt seem to be responding

This is a Flat Bed Lathe similar to the Bridgeport Romi style
All of the other functions seem to be operational to this point
Any ideas would be appreciated.
Thanks
cncsnw
Posts: 1605
Joined: Wed Mar 24, 2010 5:48 pm

Re: Dmm Technologies and DYN4 Drive

Post by cncsnw »

What is your AC supply voltage going to the R, S, T terminals of the servo drives?

Does the red Fault LED on the DMM drives light up when you apply line power to R, S and T? Or does it not light up until you try to enable the drive or move the motor?
jimyear
Posts: 4
Joined: Tue Mar 12, 2019 2:14 pm
Acorn CNC Controller: No
Allin1DC CNC Controller: No
Oak CNC controller: No
MPU11 & GPIO4D -w/ 3rd Party Drives: No
DC3IOB: No
CNC12: Yes
CNC11: No
CPU10 or CPU7: No
CNC Control System Serial Number: none

Re: Dmm Technologies and DYN4 Drive

Post by jimyear »

220V single Phase R,S Terminals
Faults out when I attempt to move the motor
SpacedmanSpiff
Posts: 10
Joined: Mon Nov 09, 2020 6:43 pm
Acorn CNC Controller: Yes
Allin1DC CNC Controller: No
Oak CNC controller: No
MPU11 & GPIO4D -w/ 3rd Party Drives: No
DC3IOB: No
CNC12: Yes
CNC11: No
CPU10 or CPU7: No
CNC Control System Serial Number: oc1c5708fb62-01224202901

Re: Dmm Technologies and DYN4 Drive

Post by SpacedmanSpiff »

What does the DMM software tell you the fault is ?

"lost phase" would indicate your ABC phase wires on T2 plug are not in the proper configuration. And would fault out when trying to move.

All the best
Sean
cncsnw
Posts: 1605
Joined: Wed Mar 24, 2010 5:48 pm

Re: Dmm Technologies and DYN4 Drive

Post by cncsnw »

jimyear wrote:220V single Phase R,S Terminals
Faults out when I attempt to move the motor
Did you measure it as 220VAC? If so, I assume you are in Europe or Asia. Many people in North America speak of "220VAC" when what they have is nominally 240VAC, and is typically between 242VAC and 246VAC.

If you just press F3 to open the MDI prompt -- which will enable the drives without trying to move them -- do they fault and show a red LED?
jimyear
Posts: 4
Joined: Tue Mar 12, 2019 2:14 pm
Acorn CNC Controller: No
Allin1DC CNC Controller: No
Oak CNC controller: No
MPU11 & GPIO4D -w/ 3rd Party Drives: No
DC3IOB: No
CNC12: Yes
CNC11: No
CPU10 or CPU7: No
CNC Control System Serial Number: none

Re: Dmm Technologies and DYN4 Drive

Post by jimyear »

CNCSNW
I have not measured the actual voltage i am in Ohio so it probably is 240
The MDI functions are good no faults Spindle works and the encoders are communicating via the PID menu
Servos fault when I attempt to jog.
The DMM software says Lost phase
I have an email out to DMM asking about the phase of the T2 motor power
cncsnw
Posts: 1605
Joined: Wed Mar 24, 2010 5:48 pm

Re: Dmm Technologies and DYN4 Drive

Post by cncsnw »

With the factory cables that my customer recently purchased, at least, the T2 power leads, reading from top down, are:
A BLU
B RED
C BLK
Attachments
PB100011.JPG
mrichards
Posts: 24
Joined: Thu Feb 28, 2019 12:05 pm
Acorn CNC Controller: Yes
Allin1DC CNC Controller: No
Oak CNC controller: Yes
MPU11 & GPIO4D -w/ 3rd Party Drives: No
DC3IOB: No
CNC12: Yes
CNC11: No
CPU10 or CPU7: No
CNC Control System Serial Number: none

Re: Dmm Technologies and DYN4 Drive

Post by mrichards »

Make sure the servo drive is set to "position servo mode". I found that the DYN software has a nasty habit of setting the drive back to serial mode.
It appears that the software needs serial mode to perform a lot of its diagnostic & setup functions and seems to frequently set the drive back to serial mode by itself.
Every time I use the DYN config software, the last thing I do is check the drive settings before I disconnect. Many times they have changed.
------------
Mark
jimyear
Posts: 4
Joined: Tue Mar 12, 2019 2:14 pm
Acorn CNC Controller: No
Allin1DC CNC Controller: No
Oak CNC controller: No
MPU11 & GPIO4D -w/ 3rd Party Drives: No
DC3IOB: No
CNC12: Yes
CNC11: No
CPU10 or CPU7: No
CNC Control System Serial Number: none

Re: Dmm Technologies and DYN4 Drive RESOLVED

Post by jimyear »

DMM DYN 4 Drives and Oak Board on a Lathe
I followed the Wiring diagram from Centroid
and the set up for the Dyn 4 Drives per the instructions from DMM Technologies, With the DMM DRV Software
I apply power to the cabinet 240V single phase
Oak and Logic Power is on at this point
Open CNC12 which prompts me to cycle the Virtual Control Panel E Stop
E Stop contactors close and power is applied to the Control Power (T4 R,S terminals on the drive)
Attempt to jog the servos and a fault is detected on one drive only. DMM software says Over Current which according to DMM is something internally between the drive and motor
If I then Press the Physical E Stop on the machine not the VCP , With CNC 12 still on and active
Then Turn off the power to the Logic input of the Drive (T4 Logic Power) I added a breaker to be able to do this.
I then turn the power back on to the logic.
Release the E Stop and power is restored to the Control Power (T4 R,S terminals on the drive)
Everything is working no faults and I can jog both axis and even run a test program. Both drives and servos are working normally.

I Installed a Line Reactor for the Main Motor Power before the E Stop Contactor
Ordered a new drive from DMM and this solved the problem.
If anyone is having this kind of issues dont hesitate to ask DMM for Help Stephen is really good.
Post Reply