Dmm Technologies and DYN4 Drive

All things related to Centroid Oak, Allin1DC, MPU11 and Legacy products

Moderator: cnckeith

Post Reply
jimyear
Posts: 3
Joined: Tue Mar 12, 2019 2:14 pm
Acorn CNC Controller: No
Allin1DC CNC Controller: No
Oak CNC controller: No
MPU11 & GPIO4D -w/ 3rd Party Drives: No
DC3IOB: No
CNC12: Yes
CNC11: No
CPU10 or CPU7: No
CNC Control System Serial Number: none

Dmm Technologies and DYN4 Drive

Post by jimyear »

I am trying to set upDMM Technologies DYN4 drives on OAK and am getting no motion from the servos
The servos are currently on the bench and not mounted and when I attempt to jog them using the VFD Jog Panel after setting Home I get a drive fault
The encoders have feedback in the PID menu. I think that I missed setting up some parameter somewhere.
I have watched Martyscnc video and set the drives according to the parameters he utilized.
Also the wired MPG from Centroid doesnt seem to be responding

This is a Flat Bed Lathe similar to the Bridgeport Romi style
All of the other functions seem to be operational to this point
Any ideas would be appreciated.
Thanks
cncsnw
Posts: 1571
Joined: Wed Mar 24, 2010 5:48 pm

Re: Dmm Technologies and DYN4 Drive

Post by cncsnw »

What is your AC supply voltage going to the R, S, T terminals of the servo drives?

Does the red Fault LED on the DMM drives light up when you apply line power to R, S and T? Or does it not light up until you try to enable the drive or move the motor?
jimyear
Posts: 3
Joined: Tue Mar 12, 2019 2:14 pm
Acorn CNC Controller: No
Allin1DC CNC Controller: No
Oak CNC controller: No
MPU11 & GPIO4D -w/ 3rd Party Drives: No
DC3IOB: No
CNC12: Yes
CNC11: No
CPU10 or CPU7: No
CNC Control System Serial Number: none

Re: Dmm Technologies and DYN4 Drive

Post by jimyear »

220V single Phase R,S Terminals
Faults out when I attempt to move the motor
SpacedmanSpiff
Posts: 10
Joined: Mon Nov 09, 2020 6:43 pm
Acorn CNC Controller: Yes
Allin1DC CNC Controller: No
Oak CNC controller: No
MPU11 & GPIO4D -w/ 3rd Party Drives: No
DC3IOB: No
CNC12: Yes
CNC11: No
CPU10 or CPU7: No
CNC Control System Serial Number: oc1c5708fb62-01224202901

Re: Dmm Technologies and DYN4 Drive

Post by SpacedmanSpiff »

What does the DMM software tell you the fault is ?

"lost phase" would indicate your ABC phase wires on T2 plug are not in the proper configuration. And would fault out when trying to move.

All the best
Sean
cncsnw
Posts: 1571
Joined: Wed Mar 24, 2010 5:48 pm

Re: Dmm Technologies and DYN4 Drive

Post by cncsnw »

jimyear wrote:220V single Phase R,S Terminals
Faults out when I attempt to move the motor
Did you measure it as 220VAC? If so, I assume you are in Europe or Asia. Many people in North America speak of "220VAC" when what they have is nominally 240VAC, and is typically between 242VAC and 246VAC.

If you just press F3 to open the MDI prompt -- which will enable the drives without trying to move them -- do they fault and show a red LED?
jimyear
Posts: 3
Joined: Tue Mar 12, 2019 2:14 pm
Acorn CNC Controller: No
Allin1DC CNC Controller: No
Oak CNC controller: No
MPU11 & GPIO4D -w/ 3rd Party Drives: No
DC3IOB: No
CNC12: Yes
CNC11: No
CPU10 or CPU7: No
CNC Control System Serial Number: none

Re: Dmm Technologies and DYN4 Drive

Post by jimyear »

CNCSNW
I have not measured the actual voltage i am in Ohio so it probably is 240
The MDI functions are good no faults Spindle works and the encoders are communicating via the PID menu
Servos fault when I attempt to jog.
The DMM software says Lost phase
I have an email out to DMM asking about the phase of the T2 motor power
cncsnw
Posts: 1571
Joined: Wed Mar 24, 2010 5:48 pm

Re: Dmm Technologies and DYN4 Drive

Post by cncsnw »

With the factory cables that my customer recently purchased, at least, the T2 power leads, reading from top down, are:
A BLU
B RED
C BLK
Attachments
PB100011.JPG
mrichards
Posts: 18
Joined: Thu Feb 28, 2019 12:05 pm
Acorn CNC Controller: Yes
Allin1DC CNC Controller: No
Oak CNC controller: No
MPU11 & GPIO4D -w/ 3rd Party Drives: No
DC3IOB: No
CNC12: Yes
CNC11: No
CPU10 or CPU7: No
CNC Control System Serial Number: none

Re: Dmm Technologies and DYN4 Drive

Post by mrichards »

Make sure the servo drive is set to "position servo mode". I found that the DYN software has a nasty habit of setting the drive back to serial mode.
It appears that the software needs serial mode to perform a lot of its diagnostic & setup functions and seems to frequently set the drive back to serial mode by itself.
Every time I use the DYN config software, the last thing I do is check the drive settings before I disconnect. Many times they have changed.
------------
Mark
Post Reply