Supplementary Breaker for Oak

All things related to Centroid Oak, Allin1DC, MPU11 and Legacy products

Moderator: cnckeith

Post Reply
jtcrew
Posts: 2
Joined: Wed Oct 28, 2020 2:21 am
Acorn CNC Controller: Yes
Allin1DC CNC Controller: No
Oak CNC controller: No
MPU11 & GPIO4D -w/ 3rd Party Drives: No
DC3IOB: No
CNC12: Yes
CNC11: No
CPU10 or CPU7: No
CNC Control System Serial Number: none

Supplementary Breaker for Oak

Post by jtcrew »

The Centroid documentation does not give specs (e.g. max amps) for the "Logic Power Supply" used by Oak. Can you please tell me the max amps so I can protect Oak with a supplementary breaker. If a breaker is unnecessary because of protections built in to the power supply, it would be good to know that too.

Thank you.
JT
tblough
Posts: 1142
Joined: Tue Mar 22, 2016 10:03 am
Acorn CNC Controller: Yes
Allin1DC CNC Controller: Yes
Oak CNC controller: Yes
MPU11 & GPIO4D -w/ 3rd Party Drives: Yes
DC3IOB: No
CNC12: Yes
CNC11: No
CPU10 or CPU7: No
CNC Control System Serial Number: 100505
100327
102696
103432
7804732B977B-0624192192
Location: Boston, MA
Contact:

Re: Supplementary Breaker for Oak

Post by tblough »

Meanwell RQ65-D is the power supply that came with mine. There is an internal fuse, but it's not user replaceable.
Attachments
MeanWell RQ-65 Power Supply.pdf
(106.21 KiB) Downloaded 6 times
Cheers,

Tom
Confidence is the feeling you have before you fully understand the situation.
I have CDO. It's like OCD, but the letters are where they should be.
martyscncgarage
Posts: 6644
Joined: Tue Mar 28, 2017 12:01 pm
Acorn CNC Controller: Yes
Allin1DC CNC Controller: Yes
Oak CNC controller: No
MPU11 & GPIO4D -w/ 3rd Party Drives: No
DC3IOB: No
CNC11: Yes
CPU10 or CPU7: No
CNC Control System Serial Number: none
Location: Mesa, AZ

Re: Supplementary Breaker for Oak

Post by martyscncgarage »

jtcrew wrote: Mon Nov 02, 2020 10:26 am The Centroid documentation does not give specs (e.g. max amps) for the "Logic Power Supply" used by Oak. Can you please tell me the max amps so I can protect Oak with a supplementary breaker. If a breaker is unnecessary because of protections built in to the power supply, it would be good to know that too.

Thank you.
JT
Power up the logic supply while connected to OAK, and measure its current. Use properly sized fuse(s). It doesn't draw that much. If you use a breaker, make sure it is sized appropriately and is of the proper type. I tend to stick with commonly available AGC glass fuses. I also use standard readily available cartridge fuses on my incoming power after the rotary disconnect switch. But that's me.
I don't generally fuse the logic power supply because most of my controls are relatively small. If the control side is fused with 10A fuses, I use 16 gauge for everything downstream of the fuses. If the main fuses are 15A then I would use 14 gauge down stream of them. I use a separate set of main fuses to power the VFD.
I also tend to follow the Centroid provided schematics if the build is pretty typical.

Marty
Reminder, for support please follow this post: viewtopic.php?f=20&t=383
We can't "SEE" what you see...
Mesa, AZ
jtcrew
Posts: 2
Joined: Wed Oct 28, 2020 2:21 am
Acorn CNC Controller: Yes
Allin1DC CNC Controller: No
Oak CNC controller: No
MPU11 & GPIO4D -w/ 3rd Party Drives: No
DC3IOB: No
CNC12: Yes
CNC11: No
CPU10 or CPU7: No
CNC Control System Serial Number: none

Re: Supplementary Breaker for Oak

Post by jtcrew »

Thank you guys for your responses! Much appreciated.

JT
Post Reply