Oak CNC controller: No
CNC Control System Serial Number: none
DC3IOB: No
CNC12: Yes
CNC11: No
CPU10 or CPU7: No

Fusion and Intercon

Post by Samandkimberly »

Background: I’m a mechanical engineer by trade (industrial automation). I have a relatively solid knowledge of manual machining, and have been using CAD (mostly Rhino/Solidworks) as a tool for years. Let’s say I have an intermediate level of all of those. Recently I replaced my Bridgeport with a Fryer bed mill and completely updated the controls with an All-in-0ne. It works great, and I’m enjoying drilling/milling new holes in my vise jaws and making scrap metal as I learn how comparatively unforgiving CNC is compared to manual work.

I’m also picking up Fusion 360, so I can integrate my CAD and CAM skills. So far the CAD transition is going well, but I still feel like a Fusion novice. I have yet to take a model, generate tool paths, load it into the mill and cut chips; generally I model a bit up and use Intercon for the machine work.

My question: I’m at a stage where I’m understanding Intercon well, and it’s not holding me back. But I’d like to move towards the whole Fusion CAD/CAM experience. I’m considering buying the Intercon PC license and starting by doing some of this at my desk, instead of at the mill. As a next step, I’m wondering if is can build tool paths in Fusion, then view them (in G Code) in the Intercon editor.

Is this possible? Does this make sense? Anyone else made this transition?

Thanks,

Sam
cncsnw

Re: Fusion and Intercon

Post by cncsnw »

Intercon does not edit or display G codes. What it shows you on the conversational menus is the content of a native Intercon program file.

However, if you install the offline or demo version of CNC12 (which you are doing, if you install offline Intercon) then you can use CNC12 to graph any G code toolpath, regardless of origin; and you can use whatever text editor you like to view and edit the G codes.
Samandkimberly
Acorn CNC Controller: No