CNC Control System Serial Number: 0818141095
DC3IOB: No
CNC12: Yes
CNC11: No
CPU10 or CPU7: No

411 Full power without motion

Post by johnballard »

Hello,

I won a Lagun 250 4000lb milling machine in a silent auction. Having moved it 35 miles and then into my garage, I cannot get any axis to move. "Full power with no motion" or "Stall...".

I have no experience with milling machine software or hardware so I am hoping someone can help me. Here's what I have already performed.
1. Verified that there is >2Mohm between servo drives (+/-) and ground (x, y, z)
2. Verified all fuses are good.
3. After powering up, spindle drive works both directions from the pendant.
4. My PC indicates that HOME is not set. I follow instructions and press Cycle Start and within 2 seconds I get the fault.
5. I verified that drives are free. I can run all three ball screws by hand.
6. In order to get the spindle to work again, I have to hit e-stop and then reset it.

I do have an electronics background but I need a little help to get started. What should I check for now?

I looked through the report.txt file and I see that this error has occurred since the machine was retrofitted six years ago. Somehow I think the milling machine was auctioned off because nobody could get it going. Mechanically it seems to be in great shape. There is no rust. Opening the electrical cabinet is a different story - what a mess. I saw three 10AWG wires had been cut off so I traced them back and they had been cut off on BOTH ends so the shards of retrofit were never cleaned out:-(
Attachments
Backup 2020-03-12.zip
(147.32 KiB) Downloaded 130 times
Lagunmatic 250
cncsnw

Re: 411 Full power without motion

Post by cncsnw »

Most likely, you are not getting DC power to the VM+ and VM- terminals of the All-in-one DC unit.