Anilam (Baldor) DC Servo Power

All things related to Centroid Oak, Allin1DC, MPU11 and Legacy products

Moderator: cnckeith

jaystew324
Posts: 3
Joined: Fri Oct 08, 2021 6:30 pm
Acorn CNC Controller: No
Allin1DC CNC Controller: Yes
Oak CNC controller: No
MPU11 & GPIO4D -w/ 3rd Party Drives: No
DC3IOB: No
CNC12: Yes
CNC11: No
CPU10 or CPU7: No
CNC Control System Serial Number: none

Re: Anilam (Baldor) DC Servo Power

Post by jaystew324 »

Hello,

I just ordered an Allin1DC to retrofit my Anilam 1100 as well. Just wondering if you ended up needing a step down transformer or if you were able to run the 160VDC directly.

thanks,
Jason
CRM
Posts: 78
Joined: Mon Jan 03, 2011 11:54 pm
Allin1DC CNC Controller: Yes
MPU11 & GPIO4D -w/ 3rd Party Drives: No
DC3IOB: No
CNC11: Yes
CPU10 or CPU7: No
CNC Control System Serial Number: A900171

Re: Anilam (Baldor) DC Servo Power

Post by CRM »

The initial config included a step down X-former. I could not achieve full rapid speed, so I took it out and am running about 6 volts above the max rated voltage for the servos. I do this at my own risk.
Dean Jahnz
Cannon River Machine
jaystew324
Posts: 3
Joined: Fri Oct 08, 2021 6:30 pm
Acorn CNC Controller: No
Allin1DC CNC Controller: Yes
Oak CNC controller: No
MPU11 & GPIO4D -w/ 3rd Party Drives: No
DC3IOB: No
CNC12: Yes
CNC11: No
CPU10 or CPU7: No
CNC Control System Serial Number: none

Re: Anilam (Baldor) DC Servo Power

Post by jaystew324 »

My servos show a max voltage of 140VDC on the name plates. If I rectify the 120VAC line voltage I would get 168VDC (120VAC x 1.4 = 168VDC). As far as I can tell this seems to be what Anilam did because I do not see a large transformer anywhere in the cabinet. Could they really have been running 28VDC over the motor rating? Seems like a lot to me. Am I missing something?

thanks for your help,
Jason
CRM
Posts: 78
Joined: Mon Jan 03, 2011 11:54 pm
Allin1DC CNC Controller: Yes
MPU11 & GPIO4D -w/ 3rd Party Drives: No
DC3IOB: No
CNC11: Yes
CPU10 or CPU7: No
CNC Control System Serial Number: A900171

Re: Anilam (Baldor) DC Servo Power

Post by CRM »

Centroid will say for liability reasons that you need a step down transformer. So that's what I did at first. But I could not achieve the rapid speeds I had prior to swapping the old Prototrak control with the All In One DC control. Further inspection showed SouthWest Industries was using direct rectification, so I eliminated the step down X-former, after which I could again achieve 150 IPM rapids. I believe my previous posts show a pic of the servo motor nameplate, (Magnetek, 140VDC). That would be comparable with your Baldors.
Last edited by CRM on Fri Oct 15, 2021 11:17 am, edited 1 time in total.
Dean Jahnz
Cannon River Machine
jaystew324
Posts: 3
Joined: Fri Oct 08, 2021 6:30 pm
Acorn CNC Controller: No
Allin1DC CNC Controller: Yes
Oak CNC controller: No
MPU11 & GPIO4D -w/ 3rd Party Drives: No
DC3IOB: No
CNC12: Yes
CNC11: No
CPU10 or CPU7: No
CNC Control System Serial Number: none

Re: Anilam (Baldor) DC Servo Power

Post by jaystew324 »

Thanks for your help. I guess I'll give it a shot directly rectifying the line voltage. Fingers crossed that I don't smoke a servo.
CRM
Posts: 78
Joined: Mon Jan 03, 2011 11:54 pm
Allin1DC CNC Controller: Yes
MPU11 & GPIO4D -w/ 3rd Party Drives: No
DC3IOB: No
CNC11: Yes
CPU10 or CPU7: No
CNC Control System Serial Number: A900171

Re: Anilam (Baldor) DC Servo Power

Post by CRM »

It is my understanding that you won't get full current unless you are loading at near full thrust. Lots of rapids ot motion reversals. Feel the servos for heat build up.
Dean Jahnz
Cannon River Machine
Post Reply