OAK Spindle load meter <<Answered>>

All things related to Centroid Oak, Allin1DC, MPU11 and Legacy products

Moderator: cnckeith

Post Reply
tblough
Posts: 1699
Joined: Tue Mar 22, 2016 10:03 am
Acorn CNC Controller: Yes
Allin1DC CNC Controller: Yes
Oak CNC controller: Yes
MPU11 & GPIO4D -w/ 3rd Party Drives: Yes
DC3IOB: No
CNC12: Yes
CNC11: No
CPU10 or CPU7: No
CNC Control System Serial Number: 100505
100327
102696
103432
7804732B977B-0624192192
Location: Boston, MA
Contact:

OAK Spindle load meter <<Answered>>

Post by tblough »

Yet another spindle issue to work through on my new machine. I'm trying to add a spindle load meter but cannot get one to display. My VFD is an ABB ACS355 with a configurable 0-20ma analog output. Right now for testing, I have configured the output to mirror the motor speed and am inputting it into ANIN across a 500 ohm precision resistor to my OAK controller.

I have verified that I'm getting 5V at the halfway point on RPM, and 10V at full motor RPM at the inputs to the OAK. Following TB296, I have verified that my PLC program contains the needed instructions, I have the control parameters set according to the TB with parameter 57 set to 32 since I want X & Z to use the control's estimated loads, but have the spindles load based on the drive feedback.

I think the parameters are set correctly and I'm displaying load boxes for the X & Z axis, but nothing is appearing for the spindle. Any ideas?
load meters.jpg
Attachments
report_0207170333_2017-12-10_06-53-21.zip
(223.34 KiB) Downloaded 76 times
Last edited by tblough on Thu Jan 04, 2018 5:48 pm, edited 3 times in total.
Cheers,

Tom
Confidence is the feeling you have before you fully understand the situation.
I have CDO. It's like OCD, but the letters are where they should be.
cncsnw
Posts: 2257
Joined: Wed Mar 24, 2010 5:48 pm

Re: Spindle load meter

Post by cncsnw »

According to your Parameter 35 value, you have the spindle defined as Axis #6.
According to Parameter 57, you want to display a PLC-generated meter for axis #6.

According to your PLC program, you are sending the spindle load meter value to meter #5.
tblough
Posts: 1699
Joined: Tue Mar 22, 2016 10:03 am
Acorn CNC Controller: Yes
Allin1DC CNC Controller: Yes
Oak CNC controller: Yes
MPU11 & GPIO4D -w/ 3rd Party Drives: Yes
DC3IOB: No
CNC12: Yes
CNC11: No
CPU10 or CPU7: No
CNC Control System Serial Number: 100505
100327
102696
103432
7804732B977B-0624192192
Location: Boston, MA
Contact:

Re: *SOLVED* OAK Spindle load meter

Post by tblough »

Once again SNCSNW, you were spot on. In my defense, the spindle load meter code was in the default oak-lathe-basic.src program and I did not check that the items corresponded verbatim with the code in the TSB, only confirming that code blocks that "looked" like those in the TSB were in the PLC source.

I went back and deleted the items from the PLC source, and pasted in the TSB code sections. Problem fixed!

CNCKeith - you guys may want to correct the PLC sources for the OAK board.

I love this board - two problems solved ON A SUNDAY NIGHT! Now on to getting the servo drives working....
Cheers,

Tom
Confidence is the feeling you have before you fully understand the situation.
I have CDO. It's like OCD, but the letters are where they should be.
cis
Posts: 7
Joined: Mon Jun 21, 2021 5:54 pm
Acorn CNC Controller: No
Allin1DC CNC Controller: No
Oak CNC controller: Yes
MPU11 & GPIO4D -w/ 3rd Party Drives: No
DC3IOB: No
CNC12: Yes
CNC11: No
CPU10 or CPU7: No
CNC Control System Serial Number: none

Re: OAK Spindle load meter <<Answered>>

Post by cis »

By searching in this forum for a solution of a problem with the load meter of the spindle, which is not visible on the display.
Same problem with load meter for the spindle in the Centroid i'm installing at the moment.
The load boxes for Z and X are displaying on the display.
Exist a detailed instruction, step by step, how to change the PLC sourses, to get the spindle load meter on the display? Or is there another way to solve this?
Attached the report with the settings.
Thx for advice and help.
Attachments
report_0714200992_2021-09-08_16-14-58.zip
(3.91 MiB) Downloaded 16 times
cncsnw
Posts: 2257
Joined: Wed Mar 24, 2010 5:48 pm

Re: OAK Spindle load meter <<Answered>>

Post by cncsnw »

Edit the file "oak-lathe-acdc-basic.src".
Go to line 2866.
Change "SV_METER_5" to "SV_METER_6".
Save your changes and exit the editor.

Open a command prompt window.
Change directories to c:\cnct
Enter the command:

Code: Select all

mpucomp  oak-lathe-acdc-basic.src  mpu.plc
Verify that the resulting messages include "Compilation successful".
Shut down and restart the computer and the control.

Also, change Machine Parameter 57 to a value of 32.0
Robs-shiz
Posts: 13
Joined: Sat Sep 12, 2020 11:18 am
Acorn CNC Controller: No
Allin1DC CNC Controller: No
Oak CNC controller: Yes
MPU11 & GPIO4D -w/ 3rd Party Drives: No
DC3IOB: No
CNC12: Yes
CNC11: No
CPU10 or CPU7: No
CNC Control System Serial Number: 0617200971

Re: OAK Spindle load meter <<Answered>>

Post by Robs-shiz »

Hi everyone

after reading this post it inspired me to get my load meter working. I did follow the TSB for setting the machine parameters and in the PLC I changed the spindle axis from 5 to 6 and successfully compiled. Unfortunately now when I start my machine and reset the e-stop I can manually start the spindle using the VCP for a few seconds and the load meter appears and seems to be working however it automatically e-stops and says I have 416 error spindle axis 6 differential encoder error. I do plan to add a spindle encoder in the future but at this time I do not have one. Any thoughts on how to correct this would be appreciated.

Thank You
Robbie
Attachments
report_0617200971_2021-09-11_16-11-49.zip
(823.64 KiB) Downloaded 15 times
cncsnw
Posts: 2257
Joined: Wed Mar 24, 2010 5:48 pm

Re: OAK Spindle load meter <<Answered>>

Post by cncsnw »

Change Parameter 313 to zero.
Robs-shiz
Posts: 13
Joined: Sat Sep 12, 2020 11:18 am
Acorn CNC Controller: No
Allin1DC CNC Controller: No
Oak CNC controller: Yes
MPU11 & GPIO4D -w/ 3rd Party Drives: No
DC3IOB: No
CNC12: Yes
CNC11: No
CPU10 or CPU7: No
CNC Control System Serial Number: 0617200971

Re: OAK Spindle load meter <<Answered>>

Post by Robs-shiz »

Thank you! Everything is working again. Has anyone been able to get x-y-z axis load meters to work with DMM DYN4 servo motors?
cncsnw
Posts: 2257
Joined: Wed Mar 24, 2010 5:48 pm

Re: OAK Spindle load meter <<Answered>>

Post by cncsnw »

I don't think DMM drives have an analog output.
Titleiiarms
Posts: 44
Joined: Mon Jul 08, 2019 8:54 am
Acorn CNC Controller: No
Allin1DC CNC Controller: No
Oak CNC controller: No
MPU11 & GPIO4D -w/ 3rd Party Drives: No
DC3IOB: No
CNC12: No
CNC11: No
CPU10 or CPU7: No
CNC Control System Serial Number: none
Contact:

Re: OAK Spindle load meter <<Answered>>

Post by Titleiiarms »

I believe pin 21 is the Analog output.( AO ) Of course the DMM supplied 175.00 cable doesn't have that wire .
Guy
Titleiiarms
Dilliner, PA
Post Reply