Timeout: MPU not responding <resolved, firewall blocking it>

All things related to Centroid Oak, Allin1DC, MPU11 and Legacy products

Moderator: cnckeith

Post Reply
sbtennessee
Posts: 5
Joined: Fri May 28, 2021 7:43 pm
Acorn CNC Controller: No
Allin1DC CNC Controller: No
Oak CNC controller: Yes
MPU11 & GPIO4D -w/ 3rd Party Drives: No
DC3IOB: No
CNC12: Yes
CNC11: No
CPU10 or CPU7: No
CNC Control System Serial Number: none

Timeout: MPU not responding <resolved, firewall blocking it>

Post by sbtennessee »

On power up today the control reports "Timeout: MPU not responding". I checked the static IP address and it is 10.168.41.1. I also made sure that there were no firewalls enabled or antivirus software enable. When I open up a command prompt I am able to ping the control without issue and the LED on the OAK reports "1". Any help would be greatly appreciated.

Strippit 2 axis single station punch press
Oak Control
Attachments
tempImageiKIEcM.gif
tempImageo3PS5V.gif
tempImagetammiT.gif
tblough
Posts: 2333
Joined: Tue Mar 22, 2016 10:03 am
Acorn CNC Controller: Yes
Allin1DC CNC Controller: Yes
Oak CNC controller: Yes
MPU11 & GPIO4D -w/ 3rd Party Drives: Yes
DC3IOB: No
CNC12: Yes
CNC11: No
CPU10 or CPU7: No
CNC Control System Serial Number: 100505
100327
102696
103432
7804732B977B-0624192192
Location: Boston, MA
Contact:

Re: Timeout: MPU not responding

Post by tblough »

10.192.168.1 is the IP address of the computer. The results of the ping test show that this is correct. What is the result of pinging 10.168.41.2? That is the address of the Centroid control.

Are either of the lights on the control's Ethernet connector lit? Below is a photo of an Acorn's Ethernet jack but Oak's and AllInDC's are similar.
Capture.PNG
Are you sure the Ethernet cable is good? Are you sure the Centroid MPU has power?
Cheers,

Tom
Confidence is the feeling you have before you fully understand the situation.
I have CDO. It's like OCD, but the letters are where they should be.
cnckeith
Posts: 4646
Joined: Wed Mar 03, 2010 4:23 pm
Acorn CNC Controller: Yes
Allin1DC CNC Controller: Yes
Oak CNC controller: Yes
MPU11 & GPIO4D -w/ 3rd Party Drives: Yes
DC3IOB: Yes
CNC11: Yes
CPU10 or CPU7: Yes
CNC Control System Serial Number: none
Contact:

Re: Timeout: MPU not responding

Post by cnckeith »

TB270 and this post help with com errors.
https://centroidcncforum.com/viewtopic.php?f=61&t=1451
Need support? READ THIS POST first. http://centroidcncforum.com/viewtopic.php?f=60&t=1043
All Acorn Documentation is located here: viewtopic.php?f=60&t=3397
Answers to common questions: viewforum.php?f=63
and here viewforum.php?f=61
Gear we use but don't sell. https://www.centroidcnc.com/centroid_di ... _gear.html
sbtennessee
Posts: 5
Joined: Fri May 28, 2021 7:43 pm
Acorn CNC Controller: No
Allin1DC CNC Controller: No
Oak CNC controller: Yes
MPU11 & GPIO4D -w/ 3rd Party Drives: No
DC3IOB: No
CNC12: Yes
CNC11: No
CPU10 or CPU7: No
CNC Control System Serial Number: none

Re: Timeout: MPU not responding

Post by sbtennessee »

I get the same results with pinging IP address: 10.168.41.2
I am assuming the cable is good by the ping test but I can try another cable and I will test the power connection next. Thank you for your help.
tblough
Posts: 2333
Joined: Tue Mar 22, 2016 10:03 am
Acorn CNC Controller: Yes
Allin1DC CNC Controller: Yes
Oak CNC controller: Yes
MPU11 & GPIO4D -w/ 3rd Party Drives: Yes
DC3IOB: No
CNC12: Yes
CNC11: No
CPU10 or CPU7: No
CNC Control System Serial Number: 100505
100327
102696
103432
7804732B977B-0624192192
Location: Boston, MA
Contact:

Re: Timeout: MPU not responding

Post by tblough »

Has Windows recently updated? This can also be caused by Windows Defender blocking communications from CNC12. Turn Windows Firewall off or better yet, make sure cncm.exe or cnct.exe (depending on lathe or mill version) is added as an exception. The latter is the preferred solution as Windows periodically turns the firewall back on when IT feels like it.
Cheers,

Tom
Confidence is the feeling you have before you fully understand the situation.
I have CDO. It's like OCD, but the letters are where they should be.
centroid467
Posts: 14
Joined: Thu Apr 14, 2022 2:46 pm
Acorn CNC Controller: No
Allin1DC CNC Controller: No
Oak CNC controller: No
MPU11 & GPIO4D -w/ 3rd Party Drives: No
DC3IOB: No
CNC12: No
CNC11: No
CPU10 or CPU7: No
CNC Control System Serial Number: none

Re: Timeout: MPU not responding

Post by centroid467 »

This can also happen when the software opens before the MPU11 based control is finished starting up. Does it happen again after restarting the system? If you can restart the Oak itself then open the software manually a minute later, do you get the same result?
sbtennessee
Posts: 5
Joined: Fri May 28, 2021 7:43 pm
Acorn CNC Controller: No
Allin1DC CNC Controller: No
Oak CNC controller: Yes
MPU11 & GPIO4D -w/ 3rd Party Drives: No
DC3IOB: No
CNC12: Yes
CNC11: No
CPU10 or CPU7: No
CNC Control System Serial Number: none

Re: Timeout: MPU not responding

Post by sbtennessee »

I have checked all the voltage inputs and swapped out the network cable. I have tried starting the software separately running as administrator but the problem persists. The LED status window displays 1. I look at the Windows Firewall exception again.
Attachments
20220920_104918 2.mp4
(13.91 MiB) Downloaded 2 times
sbtennessee
Posts: 5
Joined: Fri May 28, 2021 7:43 pm
Acorn CNC Controller: No
Allin1DC CNC Controller: No
Oak CNC controller: Yes
MPU11 & GPIO4D -w/ 3rd Party Drives: No
DC3IOB: No
CNC12: Yes
CNC11: No
CPU10 or CPU7: No
CNC Control System Serial Number: none

Re: Timeout: MPU not responding

Post by sbtennessee »

I want to thank you all for your help, it was indeed a firewall setting that needed to be changed.
cnckeith
Posts: 4646
Joined: Wed Mar 03, 2010 4:23 pm
Acorn CNC Controller: Yes
Allin1DC CNC Controller: Yes
Oak CNC controller: Yes
MPU11 & GPIO4D -w/ 3rd Party Drives: Yes
DC3IOB: Yes
CNC11: Yes
CPU10 or CPU7: Yes
CNC Control System Serial Number: none
Contact:

Re: Timeout: MPU not responding

Post by cnckeith »

sbtennessee wrote: Tue Sep 20, 2022 3:39 pm I want to thank you all for your help, it was indeed a firewall setting that needed to be changed.
thanks for reporting back.
Need support? READ THIS POST first. http://centroidcncforum.com/viewtopic.php?f=60&t=1043
All Acorn Documentation is located here: viewtopic.php?f=60&t=3397
Answers to common questions: viewforum.php?f=63
and here viewforum.php?f=61
Gear we use but don't sell. https://www.centroidcnc.com/centroid_di ... _gear.html
Post Reply