Tool Setting Options For Routers and Mills

Moderator: cnckeith

Post Reply
diycncscott

Tool Setting Options For Routers and Mills

Post by diycncscott »

<cnckeith update 2-26-24>

New tool height offset methods document here.
viewtopic.php?p=83421#p83421

and see Swissi software that holds your hand for you here..
viewtopic.php?f=60&t=4686

Most of these Macros below need updated to work properly with v5.1.

and are left here for Legacy Support

M6 Tool Change Macros compatible with Acorn CNC12 v4.14+
No warranty expressed or implied these are provided as a courtesy use at your own risk and feel free to edit to your liking.

1. Manually jog the Z axis to the new position and press cycle start to accept the new position. Download here:
mfunc6router-manset_scott_orig.mac
(2.44 KiB) Downloaded 606 times
Save as : c:\cncm\mfunc6.mac


2. Manually jog the tool over the Tool Touch Off Device and press Cycle start to probe the the Tool Touch Off Device: Download here:
mfunc6JogToToolTouchOff-tt1scott_orig.mac
(9.11 KiB) Downloaded 941 times
Save as : c:\cncm\mfunc6.mac


3.) Tool Touch Off device in fixed location: Download here:
mfunc6FixedToolTouchOffscott_orig.mac
(9.64 KiB) Downloaded 866 times
Save as : c:\cncm\mfunc6.mac


4.) Clints "Router" M6 see Clints video for how it works. Download here:
mfunc6_clint.mac
(12.66 KiB) Downloaded 730 times
Save as : c:\cncm\mfunc6.mac


5.) Clints "Router" with G54-59 Set added download here:
mfunc6_g54.mac
(13.96 KiB) Downloaded 519 times
Save as : c:\cncm\mfunc6.mac

6.) Not using any custom Tool MEASUREMENT macros and use Centroid Built in Tool Library with Fixed Tool Holders.





Introduction to Centroid Macro Programming
https://www.centroidcnc.com/centroid_di ... amming.pdf



Instructions before first use for those with tool touch of device:

See Probe Setup manual. https://www.centroidcnc.com/centroid_di ... _setup.pdf

1. Use the Wizard to set the PLC input for "Probe Tripped" (NC) (usually 7). "Write Settings.."
a)Test your tool touch off device by entering the Acorn software, press alt-i to bring up the real-time I/O screen and touch your tool touch off device to your tool. INP7 should toggle to green when touched and red when not.
NOTE: Not all machine configurations will have continuity between the tool and the chassis. In that case, connect an alligator clip from the tool to and of the terminals labeled "COM" on the Acorn board

2. Setup your G28 Return #1 "Tool change position"
a) F1-Setup->F1-Part->F9-WCS Table->F1-Return
The fields under G28 are in machine position, press alt-d to toggle your display between machine position and wcs position
b) Jog the machine to the position you want to physically change the tool at. Enter the X, Y and Z machine position values displayed in dro. It is strongly suggested to leave Z at 0.
c)F10-Save

3. Setup your G30 Return #2 "Tool touch off device position" ** Not needed if you do not have a permanently mounted tool touch off device
a) F1-Setup->F1-Part->F9-WCS Table->F1-Return
The fields under G30P2 are in machine position, press alt-d to toggle your display between machine position and wcs position
b) Jog the machine to the position directly over your tool touch off device. Enter the X, Y and Z machine position values displayed in dro. It is strongly suggested to leave Z at 0.
c)F10-Save


4. Setup the height of the tool touch off device in parameter 71, if you want to subtract the height of it.
a) F1-Setup->F3-Config(pw=137)->F3-Parms
b) Measure the height of the detector at it's location - enter that value in parm 71, press enter
c) Press F10 -Save

5.) And for Routers with repeatable homing you can Set Z ref at Z home position automatically. Set CNC12 parameter 3 = 2 and when machine is homed out, Z reference position will be set at Z home. therefore tool heights values will be the distance from Z home to the tool touch off point/device. a common setup on routers. press the keys ALT and D at same time to switch from WCS coordinates to Machine Coordinates when in the Tool Library. see video above (#6) for further explanation.
Attachments
mfunc6FixedToolTouchOff.mac
(9.65 KiB) Downloaded 702 times
mfunc6JogToToolTouchOff-tt1.mac
(9.11 KiB) Downloaded 705 times
mfunc6router-manset.mac
(2.43 KiB) Downloaded 612 times
MarysMakeShop
Posts: 19
Joined: Thu Jan 11, 2018 12:49 pm
Acorn CNC Controller: Yes
Allin1DC CNC Controller: No
Oak CNC controller: No
CNC Control System Serial Number: none
DC3IOB: No
CNC11: Yes
CPU10 or CPU7: No

Re: Tool Setting Options For Routers

Post by MarysMakeShop »

Awesome! Thanks Scott! :D
DICKEYBIRD
Posts: 536
Joined: Sat Jul 08, 2017 7:38 am
Acorn CNC Controller: Yes
Allin1DC CNC Controller: No
Oak CNC controller: No
CNC Control System Serial Number: n/a yet
DC3IOB: No
CNC11: No
CPU10 or CPU7: No
Location: Collierville, TN USA

Re: Tool Setting Options For Routers

Post by DICKEYBIRD »

Neat-o, keen-o, double wow zow! You are the man! :D
Milton in Collierville, TN

"Accuracy is the sum total of your compensating mistakes."
MarysMakeShop
Posts: 19
Joined: Thu Jan 11, 2018 12:49 pm
Acorn CNC Controller: Yes
Allin1DC CNC Controller: No
Oak CNC controller: No
CNC Control System Serial Number: none
DC3IOB: No
CNC11: Yes
CPU10 or CPU7: No

Re: Tool Setting Options For Routers

Post by MarysMakeShop »

2. Manually jog the tool over the Tool Touch Off Device and press Cycle start to probe the the Tool Touch Off Device:
mfunc6JogToToolTouchOff-tt1.mac

I tried out the "Jog the tool over the tool touch off plate method"(#2). Worked great! Here's how I did it with my 3040 Chinese Engraver/Router:
Part Zeros & Tool Changes w/ Acorn CNC: Zeroing Z using a Tool Touch Off and Macro
In this video I show how to set part zeros for the Z axis using a tool touch off and how to install the macro for the tool touch off using CNC12 Mill software.
https://youtu.be/zQWr352fS7c

Click on the schematic below for a clearer view
Attachments
TTSchematicAcorn.JPG
Web Goblin
Posts: 5
Joined: Tue Jan 23, 2018 5:42 am
Acorn CNC Controller: No
Allin1DC CNC Controller: No
Oak CNC controller: No
CNC Control System Serial Number: none
DC3IOB: No
CNC11: No
CPU10 or CPU7: No

Re: Tool Setting Options For Routers

Post by Web Goblin »

Thanks for posting the video. Looking forward to seeing the tool change video while in a job.
MarysMakeShop
Posts: 19
Joined: Thu Jan 11, 2018 12:49 pm
Acorn CNC Controller: Yes
Allin1DC CNC Controller: No
Oak CNC controller: No
CNC Control System Serial Number: none
DC3IOB: No
CNC11: Yes
CPU10 or CPU7: No

Re: Tool Setting Options For Routers

Post by MarysMakeShop »

Thanks for posting the video. Looking forward to seeing the tool change video while in a job.
Thanks! Hopefully tomorrow or Monday. I have the footage just need to edit it. :)
lvanduyn
Posts: 62
Joined: Tue Jan 30, 2018 2:26 pm
Acorn CNC Controller: Yes
Allin1DC CNC Controller: No
Oak CNC controller: No
CNC Control System Serial Number: E8EB112A1F04-0206180612
DC3IOB: No
CNC11: No
CPU10 or CPU7: No
Location: Alamogordo NM

Re: Tool Setting Options For Routers

Post by lvanduyn »

Hi All
I have been following this discussion with interest. I am currently using Mach 3 but plan to change over to Acorn.
Currently I use the jog to plate method to set Z axis zero so the second macro posted is perfect. There is one
question in that for 3 axis work, I jog over to the plate on top of the work piece and execute the zero function.
Also I do a lot of 4 axis work where my zero point is the center of rotation of the A axis. This requires a different plate thickness
which is set on the table surface. In Mach 3, I just load a different profile on startup. So the question. Is there some
easy way in the Acorn world to go from one to the other without changing parameter 71 each time ??

Larry
Gary Campbell
Posts: 2232
Joined: Sat Nov 18, 2017 2:32 pm
Acorn CNC Controller: Yes
Plasma CNC Controller: No
AcornSix CNC Controller: Yes
Allin1DC CNC Controller: No
Hickory CNC Controller: No
Oak CNC controller: No
CNC Control System Serial Number: Acorn 238
DC3IOB: No
CNC12: Yes
CNC11: No
CPU10 or CPU7: No
Location: Bergland, MI, USA
Contact:

Re: Tool Setting Options For Routers

Post by Gary Campbell »

Larry...
I have that exact setup on my current build. I have 3 Z setting macros.

One uses a sensor equipped tool measure switch and uses parm 71 so I can change the "switch to spoilboard" distance when the spoilboard is surfaced. This is the "M6" macro

The second is a trimmed down version of the above, uses a fixed (hard coded) thickness for a portable conductive Z plate which doesn't change. This assumes bit is over the plate and is activated by a repurposed screen button

The third is for the rotary axis. Another modified version of the first that uses a hard coded distance between the chuck center and the switch and is activated by another screen button.

In virtually any case you should be able to adopt whatever you wish to do. I am a Centroid rookie and I've had no issue changing the macros and assigning them to buttons.
GCnC Control
CNC Control & Retrofits
https://www.youtube.com/user/Islaww1/videos
MarysMakeShop
Posts: 19
Joined: Thu Jan 11, 2018 12:49 pm
Acorn CNC Controller: Yes
Allin1DC CNC Controller: No
Oak CNC controller: No
CNC Control System Serial Number: none
DC3IOB: No
CNC11: Yes
CPU10 or CPU7: No

Re: Tool Setting Options For Routers

Post by MarysMakeShop »

Using the #2 Tool Setting from diycncscott, and my 3040 Chinese Engraver/Router I did a tool change(1/2" Flute-->1/4" Corner Round) mid-job and auto reset my Z zero for the new tool using the tool touch-off.
Part Zeros & Tool Changes w/ Acorn CNC: Auto Z zero Mid-Job w/ Tool Touch Off

https://youtu.be/5wZdpi_PghY
Web Goblin
Posts: 5
Joined: Tue Jan 23, 2018 5:42 am
Acorn CNC Controller: No
Allin1DC CNC Controller: No
Oak CNC controller: No
CNC Control System Serial Number: none
DC3IOB: No
CNC11: No
CPU10 or CPU7: No

Re: Tool Setting Options For Routers

Post by Web Goblin »

Nice. Once again thanks for the video.
Post Reply