Tool Setting Options For Routers and Mills

Moderator: cnckeith

VincentS
Posts: 20
Joined: Fri Sep 20, 2019 4:51 am
Acorn CNC Controller: Yes
Allin1DC CNC Controller: No
Oak CNC controller: No
CNC Control System Serial Number: none
DC3IOB: No
CNC12: Yes
CNC11: No
CPU10 or CPU7: No

Re: Tool Setting Options For Routers and Mills

Post by VincentS »

Hi..

I cannot figure out what is going on here. I use this macro to do my toolchanges..

At the start of my milling It asks me the normal sequence.. no problem. My 0 is set perfect..

But my second toolchange I repeat the process.. but when my router starts It seems to use the old hight from tool nr1.

In other words it does not stores the now 0 hight..

Any Idea

Kind regards
VIncent
ShawnM
Posts: 2186
Joined: Fri May 24, 2019 8:34 am
Acorn CNC Controller: Yes
Allin1DC CNC Controller: No
Oak CNC controller: No
CNC Control System Serial Number: 7804734C6498-0401191832
DC3IOB: No
CNC12: Yes
CNC11: No
CPU10 or CPU7: No
Location: Clearwater, FL

Re: Tool Setting Options For Routers and Mills

Post by ShawnM »

Hi Vincent, which macro? There are dozens of them for the tool change and z zero settings, you'll have to be a bit more specific for anyone to help answer your question.
VincentS
Posts: 20
Joined: Fri Sep 20, 2019 4:51 am
Acorn CNC Controller: Yes
Allin1DC CNC Controller: No
Oak CNC controller: No
CNC Control System Serial Number: none
DC3IOB: No
CNC12: Yes
CNC11: No
CPU10 or CPU7: No

Re: Tool Setting Options For Routers and Mills

Post by VincentS »

ShawnM wrote: Wed Oct 02, 2019 6:34 pm Hi Vincent, which macro? There are dozens of them for the tool change and z zero settings, you'll have to be a bit more specific for anyone to help answer your question.
Hi ShawnM

I Used the macro on top of this list (the 2 version) I've made a copy down here.

Sorry not being clear

Vincent

;------------------------------------------------------------------------------
; File: mfunc6JogToToolTouchOff-tt1.mac - rename to mfunc6.mac to use
; Purpose: Tool change macro for Acorn router with TT1 in temporary location.
; Name: Scott Pratt
; Date: 27 Jan 2018
; Modified:
; Associated SRC code: Acorn-universal.src
; Require CNC12 4.10+
;
; Variables used:
; #100 = Reset current Z part 0 selection. 0 = skip, 1 = Reset Z0
#101 = 5 ;Length of time to display temporary M225 messages
; #102 = Fast probing rate
; #103 = Slow probing rate
; #104 = TT1 PLC input.
; #105 = Current user entered configuration value
#106 = 0 ;Length of time to wait for cycle start M225 messages

; #4006 = imperial or metric mode. 20 = imperial, 21 == metric

; Parameters:
; 11(#90011) or 44(#90044) TT1 PLC input. If only 11 is set, the value in 11 will be used.
; If 44 is set, 44 will be used regardless of the value of 11.
; 14(#90014) Fast probing rate. Rate to probe for initial contact of TT1
; 15(#90015) Slow probing rate. Rate for actual measurement and retract.
; 41(#90041) Whether the height of the tool detector stored in parameter 71 when touch is detected. 1 = Yes. 0 = No.
; 71(#90071) This is the height of the TT1 and the Z position to set when touch is detected.


;------------------------------------------------------------------------------

IF #50001 ;Force lookahead to stop processing
IF #4201 || #4202 THEN GOTO 1000 ;Skip when graphing or searching
IF #50001 ;Force lookahead to stop processing

#100 = 0
#102 = 0
#103 = 0
#104 = 0
#105 = 0


M5 ;Turn off spindle

N100 ;Check to make sure a TT1 is correctly configured
;Check for PLC input
;If check if either parameter 11 or parameter 44 are > 0
IF !#9011 && !#9044 THEN M225 #106 "No PLC input has been configured for the Tool Touch Off device.\nPlease enter the PLC input for the Tool Touch Off device in parameter 11\nPress Cycle Cancel to end job now."
IF #50001 ;Force lookahead to stop processing
IF !#9011 && !#9044 THEN GOTO 100

;Check if current plc input set in parameter 44 is between 1 & 8 if it is less <= 50000
IF [#9044 > 8] && [#9044 <= 50000] THEN M225 #106 "The PLC input entered into parameter 44 in invalid.\nPlease enter a value of between 1 and 8 into parameter 44\nPress Cycle Cancel to end job now."
IF #50001 ;Force lookahead to stop processing
IF [#9044 > 8] && [#9044 <= 50000] THEN GOTO 100
IF #50001 ;Force lookahead to stop processing

;If parameter 44 is != 0 && < 50000, check if current plc input set in parameter 44 is between 1 & 8
IF [[#9044 != 0] && [#9044 < 50000]] && [[#9044 < 1] || [#9044 > 8]] THEN M225 #106 "The PLC input entered into parameter 44 in invalid.\nPlease enter a value of between 1 and 8 into parameter 44\nPress Cycle Cancel to end job now."
IF #50001 ;Force lookahead to stop processing
IF [[#9044 != 0] && [#9044 < 50000]] && [[#9044 < 1] || [#9044 > 8]] THEN GOTO 100
IF #50001

;If parameter 44 is != 0 && >= 50000, check if current plc input set in parameter 44 is between 50001 & 50008
IF [[#9044 != 0] && [#9044 >= 50000]] && [[#9044 < 50001] || [#9044 > 50008]] THEN M225 #106 "The PLC input entered into parameter 44 in invalid.\nPlease enter a value of between 1 and 8 into parameter 44\nPress Cycle Cancel to end job now."
IF #50001 ;Force lookahead to stop processing
IF [[#9044 != 0] && [#9044 >= 50000]] && [[#9044 < 50001] || [#9044 > 50008]] THEN GOTO 100
IF #50001 ;Force lookahead to stop processing

;If parameter 44 = 0 && parameter 11 < 50000, check if current plc input set in parameter 11 is between 1 & 8 if it is less <= 50000
IF [#9044 == 0] && [#9011 < 50000] && [[#9011 < 1] || [#9011 > 8]] THEN M225 #106 "The PLC input entered into parameter 11 in invalid.\nPlease enter a value of between 1 and 8 into parameter 11\nPress Cycle Cancel to end job now."
IF #50001 ;Force lookahead to stop processing
IF [#9044 == 0] && [#9011 < 50000] && [[#9011 < 1] || [#9011 > 8]] THEN GOTO 100

;If parameter 44 = 0 && parameter 11 >= 50000, check if current plc input set in parameter 11 is between 50001 & 50008
IF [#9044 == 0] && [#9011 >= 50000] && [[#9011 < 50001] || [#9011 > 50008]] THEN M225 #106 "The PLC input entered into parameter 11 in invalid.\nPlease enter a value of between 1 and 8 into parameter 11\nPress Cycle Cancel to end job now."
IF #50001 ;Force lookahead to stop processing
IF [#9044 == 0] && [#9011 >= 50000] && [[#9011 < 50001] || [#9011 > 50008]] THEN GOTO 100
IF #50001 ;Force lookahead to stop processing

;Check that touch off device height has been set
IF #9071 == 0 THEN M225 #106 "The height for the tool touch off device has not been set in parameter 71.\nPlease measure the height of your tool touch off device and enter it parameter 71\nPress Cycle Cancel to end job now."
IF #50001 ;Force lookahead to stop processing
IF #9071 == 0 THEN GOTO 100

IF #50001 ;Force lookahead to stop processing
IF #9044 != 0 THEN #104 = #9044 ;Set TT1 input to value in parameter 44 if it's not = to 0.
IF #50001 ;Force lookahead to stop processing
IF #9044 == 0 THEN #104 = #9011 ;Set TT1 input to value in parameter 11 if parameter 44 = 0.
IF #50001 ;Force lookahead to stop processing

IF #104 > 50000 THEN #104 = #104 - 50000
IF #50001 ;Force lookahead to stop processing
;Check/set probing rates
IF [#9014 == 0] && [#4006 == 20] THEN #102 = 10 ;If fast probing rate = 0, set to default 10"/min
IF #50001 ;Force lookahead to stop processing
IF [#9014 != 0] && [#4006 == 20] THEN #102 = #9014 ;If fast probing rate != 0, set to value in #9014
IF #50001 ;Force lookahead to stop processing

IF [#9014 == 0] && [#4006 == 21] THEN #102 = 254 ;If fast probing rate = 0, set to default 254mm/min
IF #50001 ;Force lookahead to stop processing
IF [#9014 != 0] && [#4006 == 21] THEN #102 = #9014 ;If fast probing rate != 0, set to value in #9014
IF #50001 ;Force lookahead to stop processing

IF [#9015 == 0] && [#4006 == 20] THEN #103 = 1 ;If slow probing rate = 0, set to default 1"/min
IF #50001
IF [#9015 != 0] && [#4006 == 20] THEN #103 = 1 ;If slow probing rate != 0, set to value in #9015
IF #50001
;Force lookahead to stop processing
IF [#9015 == 0] && [#4006 == 21] THEN #103 = 25.4 ;If slow probing rate = 0, set to default 25.4 mm/min
IF #50001 ;Force lookahead to stop processing
IF [#9015 != 0] && [#4006 == 21] THEN #103 = 25.4 ;If slow probing rate != 0, set to value in #9015
IF #50001 ;Force lookahead to stop processing

N150

G28
M225 #106 "#)Please change tool to tool #%.0f\nPress Cycle Start to continue" #4120


N200 ;Prompt user for resetting Z0 position

M224 #100 "#)Would you like to reset the current Z0 position?\n#)Press 0 to continue without resetting Z0\n#)Press 1 to auto reset current Z0\n#)Press Cycle Start to continue"
IF #50001 ;Force lookahead to stop processing
IF #100 == 0 THEN GOTO 400 ;Skip if user chose not to reset Z0
IF #50001 ;Force lookahead to stop processing
IF #100 > 1 THEN GOTO 200 ;Go back to prompt user if invalid value was selected
IF #50001 ;Force lookahead to stop processing

N250 ;Prompt to put clamp om

M200 "#)Put Clip on cutter\nJog the cutter over top of the Tool Touch Off\nPress Cycle Start to continue"

N300 ;Probe TT1

M115 /Z P[#104] F[#102] ;Move at fast probing rate until TT1 detected
G91 Z#9013 F[#102] ;Move up the distance set in P13.
M115 /Z P[#104]F[#103] ;Move at slow probing rate until TT1 detected
G90

G92 Z[#9071] ;Set Z position to 0 + detector height stored in parameter 71 - material thickness
G4 P1 ;Wait 1 second
G53 Z0 ;Retract Z

M225 #106 "#)Remove Clip from cutter, turn spindle On if needed\nPress Cycle Start to continue"

N400
IF #50001 ;Force lookahead to stop processing

N1000 ;End of macro
ShawnM
Posts: 2186
Joined: Fri May 24, 2019 8:34 am
Acorn CNC Controller: Yes
Allin1DC CNC Controller: No
Oak CNC controller: No
CNC Control System Serial Number: 7804734C6498-0401191832
DC3IOB: No
CNC12: Yes
CNC11: No
CPU10 or CPU7: No
Location: Clearwater, FL

Re: Tool Setting Options For Routers and Mills

Post by ShawnM »

No apology needed Vincent, have you modified this script at all? I dont think I ever tried this one as I have a movable and fixed tool touch off. I can go back and compare it to the original version I downloaded and compare.

When you say it works perfect at the start, are you setting Z0 manually by just jogging to the material surface and zeroing out the Z axis or are you using the tool touch off puck the first time around to set Z0?

I assume that you followed all the "instructions before first use" at the bottom of the first post in this topic?
VincentS
Posts: 20
Joined: Fri Sep 20, 2019 4:51 am
Acorn CNC Controller: Yes
Allin1DC CNC Controller: No
Oak CNC controller: No
CNC Control System Serial Number: none
DC3IOB: No
CNC12: Yes
CNC11: No
CPU10 or CPU7: No

Re: Tool Setting Options For Routers and Mills

Post by VincentS »

Hi Shawn

No I did not modify it.. It seems to be working fine at the start with the first tool. It looks to me that is does not write the 0 position after the swap from first to second tool.

I did follow the instructions.. Just wondering if it has to do with the new version of CNC12?

No Idea at this point so I do my toolchange the old fashion way at the moment..
Mkelcy
Posts: 62
Joined: Mon Apr 01, 2019 6:28 pm
Acorn CNC Controller: Yes
Allin1DC CNC Controller: No
Oak CNC controller: No
CNC Control System Serial Number: none
DC3IOB: No
CNC12: Yes
CNC11: No
CPU10 or CPU7: No

Re: Tool Setting Options For Routers and Mills

Post by Mkelcy »

I've downloaded and used the movable touch-off plate macro and love it. Thank you!

That said, I find my corner finding process to be pretty primitive - jogging and squinting to see how close the corner I am. I've got a CNCRP (now Avid CNC) touch-off plate that has corner finding capability (http://www.cncrouterparts.com/auto-z-an ... p-288.html), and I'm thinking the Z setting macro could be modified for corner finding, but I'm simply not capable of doing the modification. I get lost in the first 10 lines of code. It seems to me it would be very similar to the Z setting macro, only with a place to input and store the tool diameter and directing the user how far out of the corner to jog the tool so it contacts a flat X and Y side.

Has anyone done a corner finding macro?
Sword
Posts: 648
Joined: Fri Nov 30, 2018 1:04 pm
Acorn CNC Controller: Yes
Plasma CNC Controller: No
AcornSix CNC Controller: No
Allin1DC CNC Controller: No
Hickory CNC Controller: No
Oak CNC controller: No
CNC Control System Serial Number: none
DC3IOB: No
CNC12: Yes
CNC11: No
CPU10 or CPU7: No
Location: Thorp WI

Re: Tool Setting Options For Routers and Mills

Post by Sword »

Head over to this thread.

viewtopic.php?f=60&t=3565
Scott
Mkelcy
Posts: 62
Joined: Mon Apr 01, 2019 6:28 pm
Acorn CNC Controller: Yes
Allin1DC CNC Controller: No
Oak CNC controller: No
CNC Control System Serial Number: none
DC3IOB: No
CNC12: Yes
CNC11: No
CPU10 or CPU7: No

Re: Tool Setting Options For Routers and Mills

Post by Mkelcy »

Thanks! I'll give it a try.
cnckeith
Posts: 7098
Joined: Wed Mar 03, 2010 4:23 pm
Acorn CNC Controller: Yes
Allin1DC CNC Controller: Yes
Oak CNC controller: Yes
CNC Control System Serial Number: none
DC3IOB: Yes
CNC11: Yes
CPU10 or CPU7: Yes
Contact:

Re: Tool Setting Options For Routers and Mills

Post by cnckeith »

Need support? READ THIS POST first. http://centroidcncforum.com/viewtopic.php?f=60&t=1043
All Acorn Documentation is located here: viewtopic.php?f=60&t=3397
Answers to common questions: viewforum.php?f=63
and here viewforum.php?f=61
Gear we use but don't sell. https://www.centroidcnc.com/centroid_di ... _gear.html
Measurement10
Posts: 26
Joined: Wed Oct 13, 2021 11:58 am
Acorn CNC Controller: Yes
Allin1DC CNC Controller: No
Oak CNC controller: No
CNC Control System Serial Number: none
DC3IOB: No
CNC12: Yes
CNC11: No
CPU10 or CPU7: No

Re: Tool Setting Options For Routers and Mills

Post by Measurement10 »

For Option 1. Manually jog the Z axis to the new position and press cycle start to accept the new position.

What does this mean? Can you elaborate? Is there a guide which shows the use of each of these methods? Seems important.
Post Reply