Oak CNC controller: No
CNC Control System Serial Number: none
DC3IOB: No
CNC12: Yes
CNC11: No
CPU10 or CPU7: No

Leakage Circuit Breaker Question

Post by RJS100 »

I am getting ready to wire a 2.6KW JMC AC servo. Reading through the manual, there is a note regarding the fact that the servo has no built-in ground protection. See below. They suggest using a leakage circuit breaker. I have never worked with this type of breaker before. It sounds like they are describing a GFI type breaker. I will need a 220 volt 20-amp 2 pole breaker. Is there anything special I need to know about ordering one of these, or is there another name for them?

Thanks... Richard

The servo driver is directly connected to the industrial power supply, without the use of transformers and other
power source isolation. In order to prevent cross electric shock accident of servo system, please use fuse or circuit
breaker for wiring on input power supply. Because the servo driver has no built-in grounding protection circuit, in
order to form a more secure system, please use a leakage circuit breaker with overload and short circuit protection
or a dedicated leakage circuit breaker with supporting ground wire protection./i]
kb58
Acorn CNC Controller: Yes
Plasma CNC Controller: No
AcornSix CNC Controller: No
Allin1DC CNC Controller: No
Hickory CNC Controller: No

Re: Leakage Circuit Breaker Question

Post by kb58 »

I believe that you're correct about: leakage circuit breaker = GFI. The one possible issue to be aware of is that some GFI breakers are sensitive to high-frequency noise on the wires, like that produced by VFD. If the breaker keeps tripping with no apparently current leakage problem, it's probably that. You can either try adding an EMI input filter or try a different brand of breaker.
Previous hobby, building hard core sports cars. See http://midlana.com/ and http://kimini.com/
RJS100

Post by RJS100 »