Can someone give me a hand with Intercon Lathe Chamfers?

All things related to the Centroid Acorn CNC Controller

Moderator: cnckeith

midy
Posts: 203
Joined: Wed Oct 11, 2017 12:20 pm
Acorn CNC Controller: Yes
Allin1DC CNC Controller: No
Oak CNC controller: No
CNC Control System Serial Number: none
DC3IOB: No
CNC12: Yes
CNC11: No
CPU10 or CPU7: No

Re: Can someone give me a hand with Intercon Lathe Chamfers?

Post by midy »

I like Uwe's chamfer method:

;------------------------------------------------------------------------------
; Filename: MPGmacro1.mac
; Description: Turn a 45° chamfer
; Notes:
; Requires: Machine home must be set prior to use.
; Please see TB300 for tips on writing custom macros.
;------------------------------------------------------------------------------

IF #50010 ;Prevent lookahead from parsing past here
IF #4201 || #4202 THEN GOTO 1000 ;Skip macro if graphing or searching



N100 ;Insert your code between N100 and N1000
G97
S1000 M3
G4 P0.5
G99
G1 U4 W-2 F0.1 ; incremental in +X
W-0.05 ; finish amount
U-4 W2 F0.5 ; incremental back to start
M5
N1000 ; end
PhilipTrueman
Posts: 88
Joined: Thu Sep 21, 2023 10:13 am
Acorn CNC Controller: Yes
Plasma CNC Controller: No
AcornSix CNC Controller: No
Allin1DC CNC Controller: No
Hickory CNC Controller: No
Oak CNC controller: No
CNC Control System Serial Number: none
DC3IOB: No
CNC12: Yes
CNC11: No
CPU10 or CPU7: No
Location: United Kingdom

Re: Can someone give me a hand with Intercon Lathe Chamfers?

Post by PhilipTrueman »

Thanks for the tip on where to position the tool before programming a chamfer. "all the manual has to say is position the tool tip where you want to start the chamfer before programming a chamfer"
Wouldn't it be easier to have a centre point for the middle of the chamfer and how long you want the chamfer length.
It is so frustrating the way intercon works, not exactly user friendly which is how it is supposed to be.
tblough
Posts: 3102
Joined: Tue Mar 22, 2016 10:03 am
Acorn CNC Controller: Yes
Allin1DC CNC Controller: Yes
Oak CNC controller: Yes
CNC Control System Serial Number: 100505
100327
102696
103432
7804732B977B-0624192192
DC3IOB: No
CNC12: Yes
CNC11: No
CPU10 or CPU7: No
Location: Boston, MA
Contact:

Re: Can someone give me a hand with Intercon Lathe Chamfers?

Post by tblough »

PhilipTrueman wrote: Mon Feb 26, 2024 7:27 am position the tool tip where you want to start the chamfer before programming a chamfer
This is the way all Intercon and G-code moves work. They all expect the current move to begin where the last move ended. This gives YOU the flexibility to program any moves you need to clear the work or any fixturing components like tailstocks, driver dogs, faceplate clamps, etc.

This flexibility allows the routine to work with IDs, ODs, left-to-right, and right-to-left cuts. Admittedly, this complexity makes it tough starting out, but makes Intercon an extremely capable conversational programming method once you master it.
Cheers,

Tom
Confidence is the feeling you have before you fully understand the situation.
I have CDO. It's like OCD, but the letters are where they should be.
PhilipTrueman
Posts: 88
Joined: Thu Sep 21, 2023 10:13 am
Acorn CNC Controller: Yes
Plasma CNC Controller: No
AcornSix CNC Controller: No
Allin1DC CNC Controller: No
Hickory CNC Controller: No
Oak CNC controller: No
CNC Control System Serial Number: none
DC3IOB: No
CNC12: Yes
CNC11: No
CPU10 or CPU7: No
Location: United Kingdom

Re: Can someone give me a hand with Intercon Lathe Chamfers?

Post by PhilipTrueman »

slodat wrote: Mon Jul 10, 2023 12:54 pm Hoping to get some guidance on how to program a chamfer with Intercon. I’m using intercon for this operation and I do not understand the chamfer screen. I’ve read the manual. It doesn’t have much to say, nor does the help screen. I was told it’s not really a conversational screen which confuses me more. My hope is to not have to use CAD/CAM. I’m currently using a file after the cycle is complete.
I have just made a chamfer on a part at 45 deg but can be any angle. If you just use intercon "turning OD" you can tell the lathe to turn a TAPER on the outside or the inside of the part. It asks for the starting position and the start and ending diameter and gives you the length of the tapered portion.
It worked for me, and you can specify the depth of cut for roughing and finish pass.
Attachments
IMG_20240326_174501_713.jpg
Post Reply