Oak CNC controller: No
CNC Control System Serial Number: none
DC3IOB: No
CNC12: Yes
CNC11: No
CPU10 or CPU7: No

Retrofit of my CNC One machine from Kickstarter

Post by Tealfixie »

This thread is intended to be a place to record my progress in retrofit of my CNC One router to Centroid Acorn. I am a DIY hobbyist with no training in electrical engineering, however, with the power of Youtube and the internet, I have built two MPCNCs, and coded various other small electronic projects successfully. Last year I purchased a CNC on kickstarter with the intention of one day replacing the controller to something more robust, I was considering UCCNC at the time, but Centroid won me over since they are located in PA (I'm in MD) and it seems like the documentation and support forum is a great resource. I hope that sharing my progress in this thread might provide a place for discussion if and when I am headed in the wrong direction.

Current Machine Configuration:
  • 3-Axis Router with paired Y-axis
  • 4-Motors: JMC iHSV57 36V Hybrid Servo motor on all Axis - Spec Sheet
  • Limit switch: Z- inductive proximity sensor, X/Y1/Y2: mechanical switch
  • Controller: Custom CNC One controller built on a Duet3D custom board
  • Spindle: AMB 1400 FME-U : German made 1400W router spindle with quick change and 0-10v analog spindle control.
  • XY- Auto Squaring with 4 independent motors and limit switch inputs
While the mechanicals of this machine are robust and heavy duty, the motion control system, which is based on RepRap 3d printing platform leaves much to be desired. The main drawbacks of such a system are below:
  • Not all CNC related G-code commands are supported. Mainly probing movements, since they are not usually applicable in a 3d printing environment.
  • No ability to adjust feedrate in real time. The controller must finish a line before any changes to the feedrate can be applied.