lwiseman89
Allin1DC CNC Controller: No
CNC Control System Serial Number: none
DC3IOB: No
CNC11: Yes
CPU10 or CPU7: Yes

New Project - Old Bed Mill Centroid Refit

Post by lwiseman89 »

Hi Team, I have Acquired an old Bed Mill from my work place (in fact it was the first CNC I learnt to run 10 years ago).
It Must be about 25 years old, the controller no longer operates, and the servo motor drives have been used to keep another one of these machines up and running.
Since I have been given this for Free, I am looking to refit with an Acorn. Although not perfect, the machine has plenty of life to give mechanically and should be perfect for my little hobby jobs I do - since I no longer operate a CNC at my work place I don't get to use the machines as much these days (Now I am a Mechanical Design Engineer designing automated packaging machinery).
I am looking into my options in to getting this Mill back up and running.
The Machine has SEM MTS30M4-48 Dc Servos (I think all 3 are the same - But have not confirmed yet)
I would like to run the Machine on single phase, and will use a VFD for the Spindle Motor speed control and phase conversion.
Options I am Looking into:

Option 1: Acorn Board, NUC/PC, Pro License, and replace the servos with closed Loop steppers
(https://www.omc-stepperonline.com/ts-se ... -3-clts120)
From what I can tell these steppers seem to be a good replacement for the 29 in-lb dc servos.
My Only reservations are the non complete closed loop control (the steppers and drives are closed loop).
I understand that the control will loose positioning of the axis if they are moved mechanically during an estop or when drive power is free.
When the machine is energized, but not running a program, will the steppers hold their positions?
The Pros of this combination to me are the cost (I don't want to spend a fortune on an old machine) and that I can run it off single phase.

Option 2: Reuse the old dc servos, fit new encoders, use an Allin1DC board, and a NUC/PC