CNC Control System Serial Number: E062347936EA-04022225980
DC3IOB: No
CNC12: Yes
CNC11: No
CPU10 or CPU7: No

Stepper vibrations with G540 and Stepperonline

Post by Maxiscnc »

Hello
I am writing for the second time about this problem because it remained unresolved. I am converting an old Isel GFM4433 and ran into a problem that I have never had before and I have over 20 years of experience with stepper machines.
The motors don't run smoothly and you can hear and feel all the steps very clearly almost on every speed but at low is so bad. Vibrations are more than they should be even on bench tests without the resonances of the aluminum machine. I installed Stepperonline drivers to start with and was surprised how noisy and vibrating everything was. the power supply was 36V 11A. The motors are 2.18A and I tried powering them with 2.2A, 2.0A and 1.8A. At 1.8A it's a bit smoother, but still unacceptably noisy at low speeds. I changed and tried other new Stepperonline motors. Again I reduced the load below the motor current and still no success.
I bought and installed a Gecko G540 hoping they have smooth running potentiometers. The result is the same. Maybe a bit better but still bad. I even changed the power supply to 48V. Now I'm exhausted and don't know what else to try. I tried 2 power supplies, different motor current, two type stepper drivers and two different brand motors. According to the rejection theory, the only thing left to do now is replace the Acorn and try another controller and also closed loop but I don't have one available at the moment.
If anyone has had a similar problem and solution, please help with any ideas.
Gary Campbell
Acorn CNC Controller: Yes
Allin1DC CNC Controller: No
Oak CNC controller: No
CNC Control System Serial Number: Acorn 238

Re: Stepper vibrations with G540 and Stepperonline

Post by Gary Campbell »