Tool changes with gang tool lathe

All things related to the Centroid Acorn CNC Controller

Moderator: cnckeith

BillB
Posts: 214
Joined: Thu Jul 15, 2021 1:43 pm
Acorn CNC Controller: Yes
Allin1DC CNC Controller: No
Oak CNC controller: No
MPU11 & GPIO4D -w/ 3rd Party Drives: No
DC3IOB: No
CNC12: Yes
CNC11: No
CPU10 or CPU7: No
CNC Control System Serial Number: none

Tool changes with gang tool lathe

Post by BillB »

Is there a way to eliminate tool change position move to (tool change location) in Intercon for use with gang tool lathe. So the after tool 1 we just go through to the next machining operation so the program runs unattended? What do I need to do to make that work?
cnckeith
Posts: 3833
Joined: Wed Mar 03, 2010 4:23 pm
Acorn CNC Controller: Yes
Allin1DC CNC Controller: Yes
Oak CNC controller: Yes
MPU11 & GPIO4D -w/ 3rd Party Drives: Yes
DC3IOB: Yes
CNC11: Yes
CPU10 or CPU7: Yes
CNC Control System Serial Number: none
Contact:

Re: Tool changes with gang tool lathe

Post by cnckeith »

Need support? READ THIS POST first. http://centroidcncforum.com/viewtopic.php?f=60&t=1043
All Acorn Documentation is located here: viewtopic.php?f=60&t=3397
Answers to common questions: viewforum.php?f=63
and here viewforum.php?f=61
Gear we use but don't sell. https://www.centroidcnc.com/centroid_di ... _gear.html
tblough
Posts: 1867
Joined: Tue Mar 22, 2016 10:03 am
Acorn CNC Controller: Yes
Allin1DC CNC Controller: Yes
Oak CNC controller: Yes
MPU11 & GPIO4D -w/ 3rd Party Drives: Yes
DC3IOB: No
CNC12: Yes
CNC11: No
CPU10 or CPU7: No
CNC Control System Serial Number: 100505
100327
102696
103432
7804732B977B-0624192192
Location: Boston, MA
Contact:

Re: Tool changes with gang tool lathe

Post by tblough »

When changing from front to rear tools, manually insert x and z moves (F1 Line) in Intercon to move the next tool to the proper side of the work.
Cheers,

Tom
Confidence is the feeling you have before you fully understand the situation.
I have CDO. It's like OCD, but the letters are where they should be.
BillB
Posts: 214
Joined: Thu Jul 15, 2021 1:43 pm
Acorn CNC Controller: Yes
Allin1DC CNC Controller: No
Oak CNC controller: No
MPU11 & GPIO4D -w/ 3rd Party Drives: No
DC3IOB: No
CNC12: Yes
CNC11: No
CPU10 or CPU7: No
CNC Control System Serial Number: none

Re: Tool changes with gang tool lathe

Post by BillB »

What if you set the tool change position to 0,0 Would that force the control just run the program without any pause or prompt. Or would it go to home position for fool change?
cncsnw
Posts: 2414
Joined: Wed Mar 24, 2010 5:48 pm

Re: Tool changes with gang tool lathe

Post by cncsnw »

The Lathe version of Intercon does not have a tool change position.

If you mean the G28 return point, X0 Z0 there means go to machine zero.

The move to the G28 position for each tool change is selectable on the Intercon Setup menu. Just set "Suppress G28 for tool change" to "Yes".
While you are at it, you can tell Intercon to leave the spindle and coolant running during tool changes.

You can suppress the wait-for-cycle-start in either of two ways:
1) Don't change tool numbers, just change offsets (e.g. T01, T02, T03)
2) Make a "cnctch.mac" file that is blank, or contains only a comment.
BillB
Posts: 214
Joined: Thu Jul 15, 2021 1:43 pm
Acorn CNC Controller: Yes
Allin1DC CNC Controller: No
Oak CNC controller: No
MPU11 & GPIO4D -w/ 3rd Party Drives: No
DC3IOB: No
CNC12: Yes
CNC11: No
CPU10 or CPU7: No
CNC Control System Serial Number: none

Re: Tool changes with gang tool lathe

Post by BillB »

cncsnw wrote: Sat Jan 08, 2022 2:28 am The Lathe version of Intercon does not have a tool change position.

If you mean the G28 return point, X0 Z0 there means go to machine zero.

The move to the G28 position for each tool change is selectable on the Intercon Setup menu. Just set "Suppress G28 for tool change" to "Yes".
While you are at it, you can tell Intercon to leave the spindle and coolant running during tool changes.

You can suppress the wait-for-cycle-start in either of two ways:
1) Don't change tool numbers, just change offsets (e.g. T01, T02, T03)
2) Make a "cnctch.mac" file that is blank, or contains only a comment.
Im not fiding "Suppress G28 for tool change" Is it in the Intercon window where you program the part? OR are you referring to the config setup pages Could you provide a screenshot?
tblough
Posts: 1867
Joined: Tue Mar 22, 2016 10:03 am
Acorn CNC Controller: Yes
Allin1DC CNC Controller: Yes
Oak CNC controller: Yes
MPU11 & GPIO4D -w/ 3rd Party Drives: Yes
DC3IOB: No
CNC12: Yes
CNC11: No
CPU10 or CPU7: No
CNC Control System Serial Number: 100505
100327
102696
103432
7804732B977B-0624192192
Location: Boston, MA
Contact:

Re: Tool changes with gang tool lathe

Post by tblough »

As Marc posted, the Suppress G28 is on the Intercon Setup menu. Inside Intercon press F9 Setup.

Page 80 of the Lathe Operator's Manual has a picture. If you supress the return to G28, YOU will be responsible for moving EACH AND EVERY tool clear of the work before a tool change.
Cheers,

Tom
Confidence is the feeling you have before you fully understand the situation.
I have CDO. It's like OCD, but the letters are where they should be.
BillB
Posts: 214
Joined: Thu Jul 15, 2021 1:43 pm
Acorn CNC Controller: Yes
Allin1DC CNC Controller: No
Oak CNC controller: No
MPU11 & GPIO4D -w/ 3rd Party Drives: No
DC3IOB: No
CNC12: Yes
CNC11: No
CPU10 or CPU7: No
CNC Control System Serial Number: none

Re: Tool changes with gang tool lathe

Post by BillB »

Guys would this document still be relevant for V12 lathe?

https://www.centroidcnc.com/dealersuppo ... ds/128.pdf
cncsnw
Posts: 2414
Joined: Wed Mar 24, 2010 5:48 pm

Re: Tool changes with gang tool lathe

Post by cncsnw »

Pretty much.

On a Windows CNC11/CNC12 system, the tool-change macro file is c:\cnct\cnctch.mac.

The cnctch.mac file should not contain an M99. It should just be blank, or contain only a comment such as "; gang tooling -- no action required".

I am not certain you even need to set Parameter 6 = 1. You could try it both ways.
BillB
Posts: 214
Joined: Thu Jul 15, 2021 1:43 pm
Acorn CNC Controller: Yes
Allin1DC CNC Controller: No
Oak CNC controller: No
MPU11 & GPIO4D -w/ 3rd Party Drives: No
DC3IOB: No
CNC12: Yes
CNC11: No
CPU10 or CPU7: No
CNC Control System Serial Number: none

Re: Tool changes with gang tool lathe

Post by BillB »

cncsnw wrote: Mon Jan 10, 2022 12:13 pm Pretty much.

On a Windows CNC11/CNC12 system, the tool-change macro file is c:\cnct\cnctch.mac.

The cnctch.mac file should not contain an M99. It should just be blank, or contain only a comment such as "; gang tooling -- no action required".

I am not certain you even need to set Parameter 6 = 1. You could try it both ways.
Ok thanks : )
Post Reply