Ether1616 Outputs not working

All things related to the Centroid Acorn CNC Controller

Moderator: cnckeith

Post Reply
tmday7
Posts: 13
Joined: Tue Apr 09, 2019 12:26 pm
Acorn CNC Controller: Yes
Allin1DC CNC Controller: No
Oak CNC controller: No
MPU11 & GPIO4D -w/ 3rd Party Drives: No
DC3IOB: No
CNC12: No
CNC11: No
CPU10 or CPU7: Yes
CNC Control System Serial Number: Acer mill 1372, SBL-Lathe V4.64Rev0 "SysID:6433DB044D18-0629214880"
Location: USA
Contact:

Ether1616 Outputs not working

Post by tmday7 »

Hello,
Iam trying to use the outputs of my Ether1616 board with Acorn and can not get any of them to work. Using the wizard i tried assigning an "OUTPUT1" to output 33 and did an mdi of M61 and also M94/61 but the led and relay does nothing. Also tried assigning a Custom Output of M94M95111 to the Ether1616 output 33 and did an mdi of M94/111 and nothing happens.
Only time i can get an Ether1616 output to work is when using the <CTRL>, <ALT> and <f> button press on the Diagnostics Screen.
Has anyone had this issue or know what iam doing wrong?

Thanks,
Troy
tmday7
Posts: 13
Joined: Tue Apr 09, 2019 12:26 pm
Acorn CNC Controller: Yes
Allin1DC CNC Controller: No
Oak CNC controller: No
MPU11 & GPIO4D -w/ 3rd Party Drives: No
DC3IOB: No
CNC12: No
CNC11: No
CPU10 or CPU7: Yes
CNC Control System Serial Number: Acer mill 1372, SBL-Lathe V4.64Rev0 "SysID:6433DB044D18-0629214880"
Location: USA
Contact:

Re: Ether1616 Outputs not working

Post by tmday7 »

Did some further testing using M94M95111. It appears that only Output 33 and 34 wont work unless forcing from the Diagnostics screen. Is this by design?
Troy
centroidsupport
Posts: 30
Joined: Tue Sep 28, 2021 6:26 pm
Acorn CNC Controller: Yes
Allin1DC CNC Controller: Yes
Oak CNC controller: Yes
MPU11 & GPIO4D -w/ 3rd Party Drives: Yes
DC3IOB: Yes
CNC12: Yes
CNC11: Yes
CPU10 or CPU7: Yes
CNC Control System Serial Number: none

Re: Ether1616 Outputs not working

Post by centroidsupport »

When requesting support, please always post a current report. Without it, we can't help you. We have no idea how your system is configured.

When you say you can force the outputs, are the relays actually turning on ?
Need support? READ THIS POST first. http://centroidcncforum.com/viewtopic.php?f=60&t=1043
All Acorn Documentation is located here: viewtopic.php?f=60&t=3397
Answers to common questions: viewforum.php?f=63
and here viewforum.php?f=61
https://www.centroidcnc.com/centroid_di ... _gear.html
tmday7
Posts: 13
Joined: Tue Apr 09, 2019 12:26 pm
Acorn CNC Controller: Yes
Allin1DC CNC Controller: No
Oak CNC controller: No
MPU11 & GPIO4D -w/ 3rd Party Drives: No
DC3IOB: No
CNC12: No
CNC11: No
CPU10 or CPU7: Yes
CNC Control System Serial Number: Acer mill 1372, SBL-Lathe V4.64Rev0 "SysID:6433DB044D18-0629214880"
Location: USA
Contact:

Re: Ether1616 Outputs not working

Post by tmday7 »

When forcing inputs on the diagnostics screen by using <CTRL>, <ALT> and <f> button press , the led on relay board and relay work as they should.
Attachments
report_6433DB044D18-0629214880_2021-11-22_21-50-28.zip
(751.19 KiB) Downloaded 12 times
cnckeith
Posts: 3631
Joined: Wed Mar 03, 2010 4:23 pm
Acorn CNC Controller: Yes
Allin1DC CNC Controller: Yes
Oak CNC controller: Yes
MPU11 & GPIO4D -w/ 3rd Party Drives: Yes
DC3IOB: Yes
CNC11: Yes
CPU10 or CPU7: Yes
CNC Control System Serial Number: none
Contact:

Re: Ether1616 Outputs not working

Post by cnckeith »

easiest way to test is to assign a simple output like "worklight" to any one of the ether1616 outputs, then you have a button on the VCP that will toggle that output.
Need support? READ THIS POST first. http://centroidcncforum.com/viewtopic.php?f=60&t=1043
All Acorn Documentation is located here: viewtopic.php?f=60&t=3397
Answers to common questions: viewforum.php?f=63
and here viewforum.php?f=61
Gear we use but don't sell. https://www.centroidcnc.com/centroid_di ... _gear.html
tmday7
Posts: 13
Joined: Tue Apr 09, 2019 12:26 pm
Acorn CNC Controller: Yes
Allin1DC CNC Controller: No
Oak CNC controller: No
MPU11 & GPIO4D -w/ 3rd Party Drives: No
DC3IOB: No
CNC12: No
CNC11: No
CPU10 or CPU7: Yes
CNC Control System Serial Number: Acer mill 1372, SBL-Lathe V4.64Rev0 "SysID:6433DB044D18-0629214880"
Location: USA
Contact:

Re: Ether1616 Outputs not working

Post by tmday7 »

Since the work light output is part of my machine enable circuit, i assigned Flood coolant to Ether1616 output 33 or 34. When clicking the Flood button on the VCP nothing happens, also the led indicator for the Flood VCP button does not turn on. All the other Ether1616 outputs work fine when testing with Flood assigned to them and so does the VCP Flood button led.
Richards
Posts: 615
Joined: Sun Sep 16, 2018 9:01 pm
Acorn CNC Controller: Yes
Allin1DC CNC Controller: No
Oak CNC controller: No
MPU11 & GPIO4D -w/ 3rd Party Drives: No
DC3IOB: No
CNC12: Yes
CNC11: No
CPU10 or CPU7: No
CNC Control System Serial Number: none
Location: South Jordan, UT

Re: Ether1616 Outputs not working

Post by Richards »

Using the diagnostic's screen (alt-i), look carefully at the 33 and 34 outputs. Do you see a white line under the on-screen LED? The white line means that the outputs are forced. If they are forced, they will not respond properly to M codes. Repeatedly toggle through the states using Ctl + Alt + F until there is no white line.
-Mike Richards
cnckeith
Posts: 3631
Joined: Wed Mar 03, 2010 4:23 pm
Acorn CNC Controller: Yes
Allin1DC CNC Controller: Yes
Oak CNC controller: Yes
MPU11 & GPIO4D -w/ 3rd Party Drives: Yes
DC3IOB: Yes
CNC11: Yes
CPU10 or CPU7: Yes
CNC Control System Serial Number: none
Contact:

Re: Ether1616 Outputs not working

Post by cnckeith »

Need support? READ THIS POST first. http://centroidcncforum.com/viewtopic.php?f=60&t=1043
All Acorn Documentation is located here: viewtopic.php?f=60&t=3397
Answers to common questions: viewforum.php?f=63
and here viewforum.php?f=61
Gear we use but don't sell. https://www.centroidcnc.com/centroid_di ... _gear.html
tmday7
Posts: 13
Joined: Tue Apr 09, 2019 12:26 pm
Acorn CNC Controller: Yes
Allin1DC CNC Controller: No
Oak CNC controller: No
MPU11 & GPIO4D -w/ 3rd Party Drives: No
DC3IOB: No
CNC12: No
CNC11: No
CPU10 or CPU7: Yes
CNC Control System Serial Number: Acer mill 1372, SBL-Lathe V4.64Rev0 "SysID:6433DB044D18-0629214880"
Location: USA
Contact:

Re: Ether1616 Outputs not working

Post by tmday7 »

Figures.... Got in a hurry and overlooked this page of document :roll: . ...
Dont know how these 2 outputs got set with the white line, but that was the issue. They work as they should now.
Thanks guys.

Troy
martyscncgarage
Posts: 9140
Joined: Tue Mar 28, 2017 12:01 pm
Acorn CNC Controller: Yes
Allin1DC CNC Controller: Yes
Oak CNC controller: No
MPU11 & GPIO4D -w/ 3rd Party Drives: No
DC3IOB: No
CNC12: Yes
CNC11: Yes
CPU10 or CPU7: Yes
CNC Control System Serial Number: none
Location: Mesa, AZ

Re: Ether1616 Outputs not working

Post by martyscncgarage »

tmday7 wrote: Wed Nov 24, 2021 6:48 pm Figures.... Got in a hurry and overlooked this page of document :roll: . ...
Dont know how these 2 outputs got set with the white line, but that was the issue. They work as they should now.
Thanks guys.

Troy
Just know when forcing outputs on, you have to continue to toggle until the underscore is gone to put the output back to normal.
Reminder, for support please follow this post: viewtopic.php?f=20&t=383
We can't "SEE" what you see...
Mesa, AZ
Post Reply