How to make spindle turn continuously so I can take skin cuts? <answered>

All things related to the Centroid Acorn CNC Controller

Moderator: cnckeith

Post Reply
ChrisMe
Posts: 40
Joined: Sat Feb 27, 2021 7:38 am
Acorn CNC Controller: No
Allin1DC CNC Controller: No
Oak CNC controller: No
MPU11 & GPIO4D -w/ 3rd Party Drives: No
DC3IOB: No
CNC12: No
CNC11: No
CPU10 or CPU7: No
CNC Control System Serial Number: none

How to make spindle turn continuously so I can take skin cuts? <answered>

Post by ChrisMe »

I have just got my lathe set up and I'm trying to do my tool offsets. I need the spindle to turn continuously so I can jog my axis and take skim cuts to do my offsets. I can not for the life of me figure this out. How do I make the spindle turn without running a program? Thanks.
Richards
Posts: 603
Joined: Sun Sep 16, 2018 9:01 pm
Acorn CNC Controller: Yes
Allin1DC CNC Controller: No
Oak CNC controller: No
MPU11 & GPIO4D -w/ 3rd Party Drives: No
DC3IOB: No
CNC12: Yes
CNC11: No
CPU10 or CPU7: No
CNC Control System Serial Number: none
Location: South Jordan, UT

Re: How to make spindle turn continuously so I can take skin cuts?

Post by Richards »

How are you controlling the spindle On/Off now? Are you using the Acorn's relay board? I'm not at my test bench, so I can't see the VCP options; but, if you're using the relay board and if you've assigned spindle On to an output(s), you can use MDI to control the spindle manually. M3 turns the spindle ON (clockwise rotation). M4 turns the spindle ON (counter-clockwise rotation). M5 turns the spindle OFF. That works if you've assigned those functions to the Acorn's outputs with Wizzard.

If you're using the Acorn's relay board to control the spindle, you could also add an external STDP switch or an external relay to the spindle for manual control. I'm attaching a simple schematic to show one way to wire that switch or relay. In the schematic, I'm assuming that the spindle uses 120VAC. Other voltages or control methods would require other manual over-rides.
.
spindle_switch.png
spindle_switch.png (5.63 KiB) Viewed 159 times
-Mike Richards
tblough
Posts: 1706
Joined: Tue Mar 22, 2016 10:03 am
Acorn CNC Controller: Yes
Allin1DC CNC Controller: Yes
Oak CNC controller: Yes
MPU11 & GPIO4D -w/ 3rd Party Drives: Yes
DC3IOB: No
CNC12: Yes
CNC11: No
CPU10 or CPU7: No
CNC Control System Serial Number: 100505
100327
102696
103432
7804732B977B-0624192192
Location: Boston, MA
Contact:

Re: How to make spindle turn continuously so I can take skin cuts?

Post by tblough »

If you have wired the spindle according to Centroids schematics, then just press the spindle auto/man button so you are in manual mode, press the green spindle start button, and use the "+" and "-" buttons to adjust the speed.
4.1.jpg
Cheers,

Tom
Confidence is the feeling you have before you fully understand the situation.
I have CDO. It's like OCD, but the letters are where they should be.
ChrisMe
Posts: 40
Joined: Sat Feb 27, 2021 7:38 am
Acorn CNC Controller: No
Allin1DC CNC Controller: No
Oak CNC controller: No
MPU11 & GPIO4D -w/ 3rd Party Drives: No
DC3IOB: No
CNC12: No
CNC11: No
CPU10 or CPU7: No
CNC Control System Serial Number: none

Re: How to make spindle turn continuously so I can take skin cuts?

Post by ChrisMe »

I'm using the really board. Thanks for the help. I have set the spindle to manual and I have it working now.
Post Reply