Casting function?

All things related to the Centroid Acorn CNC Controller

Moderator: cnckeith

Post Reply
Scary
Posts: 10
Joined: Fri Aug 20, 2021 2:12 am
Acorn CNC Controller: Yes
Allin1DC CNC Controller: No
Oak CNC controller: No
MPU11 & GPIO4D -w/ 3rd Party Drives: No
DC3IOB: No
CNC12: Yes
CNC11: No
CPU10 or CPU7: No
CNC Control System Serial Number: None

Casting function?

Post by Scary »

Hi all,
I am loving learning the intercon software so far but I have come across an issue. I machine alot of castings etc in the lathe that I forge myself and although I can quickly program the finish profile in intercon I find that I am spending most of my time cutting air. Is there a way to have an offset face/roughing type profile that I can set up so it can just machine between the two profiles rather than treating the stock as a solid piece? I understand I can probably do this with cad but intercon seems to do everything so well I'm wondering if I can do this at the machine.
Nigelo
Posts: 150
Joined: Tue Dec 11, 2018 4:03 pm
Acorn CNC Controller: Yes
Allin1DC CNC Controller: No
Oak CNC controller: No
MPU11 & GPIO4D -w/ 3rd Party Drives: No
DC3IOB: No
CNC12: Yes
CNC11: No
CPU10 or CPU7: No
CNC Control System Serial Number: F045DA80C8B8-0905181172
E415F6F70BC3-0318203049
Location: UK

Re: Casting function?

Post by Nigelo »

Not entirely sure what you are trying to do but lookup the Repeat F2, Mirror F3 and Rotate F4 functions in Intercon under the Subpgm F9 section
Nigelo
Posts: 150
Joined: Tue Dec 11, 2018 4:03 pm
Acorn CNC Controller: Yes
Allin1DC CNC Controller: No
Oak CNC controller: No
MPU11 & GPIO4D -w/ 3rd Party Drives: No
DC3IOB: No
CNC12: Yes
CNC11: No
CPU10 or CPU7: No
CNC Control System Serial Number: F045DA80C8B8-0905181172
E415F6F70BC3-0318203049
Location: UK

Re: Casting function?

Post by Nigelo »

Sorry, just seen you are using a lathe not mill so my comments may not be appropriate
cncsnw
Posts: 2278
Joined: Wed Mar 24, 2010 5:48 pm

Re: Casting function?

Post by cncsnw »

At the G code level, the G73 cycle does essentially what you are asking for.

I do not think Intercon has a cycle that posts to G73, but you could experiment with posting a turning-mode Profile cycle, then changing G71 to G73 and perhaps editing some of its parameters.

Read up on G71 and G73 in Chapter 10 of the Lathe operator's manual, while looking at the codes that Intercon posts for a turning Profile.
Scary
Posts: 10
Joined: Fri Aug 20, 2021 2:12 am
Acorn CNC Controller: Yes
Allin1DC CNC Controller: No
Oak CNC controller: No
MPU11 & GPIO4D -w/ 3rd Party Drives: No
DC3IOB: No
CNC12: Yes
CNC11: No
CPU10 or CPU7: No
CNC Control System Serial Number: None

Re: Casting function?

Post by Scary »

As always cncsnw, you are a wealth of information. I will look into using these functions it just might take me a while to figure it out. It would be a nice feature if you had an option to select the stock being at the right profile just 1/8 oversized. As a second thought, can you make a profile and then skip the roughing sections and just run multiple finish cuts? That might be worth a try……
tblough
Posts: 1706
Joined: Tue Mar 22, 2016 10:03 am
Acorn CNC Controller: Yes
Allin1DC CNC Controller: Yes
Oak CNC controller: Yes
MPU11 & GPIO4D -w/ 3rd Party Drives: Yes
DC3IOB: No
CNC12: Yes
CNC11: No
CPU10 or CPU7: No
CNC Control System Serial Number: 100505
100327
102696
103432
7804732B977B-0624192192
Location: Boston, MA
Contact:

Re: Casting function?

Post by tblough »

You can make a profile and skip the roughing cuts. Look at and remember the line number in Intercon that has the finish pass. After you save and post the job, hit F4 Run/F2 search then type Nxx where xx is the line number of the finish pass, hit enter then start.

The control will "run" the lines of g-code before the finish pass without moving the machine, then start with the finish pass.
Cheers,

Tom
Confidence is the feeling you have before you fully understand the situation.
I have CDO. It's like OCD, but the letters are where they should be.
cncsnw
Posts: 2278
Joined: Wed Mar 24, 2010 5:48 pm

Re: Casting function?

Post by cncsnw »

... and yes, you can do multiple finish cuts. Just enter a generous "stock to leave" value in the Profile header, and then enter a non-zero cut amount in the Finish operation.
Scary
Posts: 10
Joined: Fri Aug 20, 2021 2:12 am
Acorn CNC Controller: Yes
Allin1DC CNC Controller: No
Oak CNC controller: No
MPU11 & GPIO4D -w/ 3rd Party Drives: No
DC3IOB: No
CNC12: Yes
CNC11: No
CPU10 or CPU7: No
CNC Control System Serial Number: None

Re: Casting function?

Post by Scary »

Awesome, thanks for all the info. I'll give it a go and see if I can speed up the process.
Post Reply