Switch spindle to c axis 360 degre

All things related to the Centroid Acorn CNC Controller

Moderator: cnckeith

Post Reply
OptionSR
Posts: 2
Joined: Tue Jan 08, 2019 7:09 pm
Acorn CNC Controller: Yes
Allin1DC CNC Controller: No
Oak CNC controller: No
MPU11 & GPIO4D -w/ 3rd Party Drives: No
DC3IOB: No
CNC12: Yes
CNC11: No
CPU10 or CPU7: No
CNC Control System Serial Number: F045DA7F7773-1218181466
Location: Canada
Contact:

Switch spindle to c axis 360 degre

Post by OptionSR »

Hello,
i am new to the world of cnc in canada.
I am looking for the complete procedure to change the spindel to c axis?
should we put a brake on the vfd?
what else to change?
1 kw motor,
cnc lathe, acorn controler version cnc12 v4.64
thank you
suntravel
Posts: 36
Joined: Thu Sep 23, 2021 3:49 pm
Acorn CNC Controller: Yes
Allin1DC CNC Controller: No
Oak CNC controller: No
MPU11 & GPIO4D -w/ 3rd Party Drives: No
DC3IOB: No
CNC12: Yes
CNC11: No
CPU10 or CPU7: No
CNC Control System Serial Number: 6433DB0446C1-08115074
Location: Germany

Re: Switch spindle to c axis 360 degre

Post by suntravel »

For making a spindle to a C-axis, you need to drive it with an servo and encoder on the spindel if its not slipless 1:1 driven with the servo.

A mechanical brake makes only sense to hold a position firmer than the servo could do for milling with driven tools ect.

But not sure if Acorn can do this.

Regards

Uwe
centroidsupport
Posts: 6
Joined: Tue Sep 28, 2021 6:26 pm
Acorn CNC Controller: Yes
Allin1DC CNC Controller: Yes
Oak CNC controller: Yes
MPU11 & GPIO4D -w/ 3rd Party Drives: Yes
DC3IOB: Yes
CNC12: Yes
CNC11: Yes
CPU10 or CPU7: Yes
CNC Control System Serial Number: none

Re: Switch spindle to c axis 360 degre

Post by centroidsupport »

To run the spindle as a C axis, you'll need to drive it with one of the step and direction outputs on the Acorn. I am not aware of any VFD's that accept step and direction.
Bender_Is_Great
Posts: 4
Joined: Tue Oct 23, 2018 7:41 pm
Acorn CNC Controller: Yes
Allin1DC CNC Controller: No
Oak CNC controller: No
MPU11 & GPIO4D -w/ 3rd Party Drives: No
DC3IOB: No
CNC11: No
CPU10 or CPU7: No
CNC Control System Serial Number: none

Re: Switch spindle to c axis 360 degre

Post by Bender_Is_Great »

I've been wondering about this also. I was looking at getting one of Clearpaths SDHP Integral hp motors for use as a spindle motor and for C axis positioning. https://teknic.com/model-info/CPM-SDHP- ... =110VAC1ph

How would we configure CNC12/Acorns step and direction output to act as a spindle and a C axis? Is that possible? Would we need to run a VFD with an a/c motor for spindle speed, and a separate servo for positioning instead?
Gary Campbell
Posts: 1643
Joined: Sat Nov 18, 2017 2:32 pm
Acorn CNC Controller: Yes
Allin1DC CNC Controller: No
Oak CNC controller: No
MPU11 & GPIO4D -w/ 3rd Party Drives: No
DC3IOB: No
CNC12: Yes
CNC11: No
CPU10 or CPU7: No
CNC Control System Serial Number: Acorn 238
Location: Marquette, MI
Contact:

Re: Switch spindle to c axis 360 degre

Post by Gary Campbell »

It won't work with a ClearPath motor. You have to choose between step and direction (position) with the "SD" series or rotation via speed control (velocity) with the MV series. This is the way it is with most any motor.

Some have had varying degrees of success using DYN servos, but was not impressed with the results.

That said, I have had good luck doing both with a soon to be listed for public sale Leadshine servo. At Keith's request, I will be doing a bench test showing the process and if we are nice, maybe Centroid will generate an approved schematic.

Should happen in the next couple weeks, as almost all the parts are here.
GCnC Control
CNC Control & Retrofits
https://www.youtube.com/user/Islaww1/videos
OptionSR
Posts: 2
Joined: Tue Jan 08, 2019 7:09 pm
Acorn CNC Controller: Yes
Allin1DC CNC Controller: No
Oak CNC controller: No
MPU11 & GPIO4D -w/ 3rd Party Drives: No
DC3IOB: No
CNC12: Yes
CNC11: No
CPU10 or CPU7: No
CNC Control System Serial Number: F045DA7F7773-1218181466
Location: Canada
Contact:

Re: Switch spindle to c axis 360 degre

Post by OptionSR »

thanks everyone, Gary can you update this post when you get new info ?
have a great day.
Alain
Post Reply