Oak CNC controller: No
CNC Control System Serial Number: none
DC3IOB: No
CNC12: Yes
CNC11: No
CPU10 or CPU7: No

My Sherline Chucker lathe with Acorn control build

Post by BillB »

I decided to separate my mill and lathe build theads as not to overly confuse the dialog on the 2 machines in regards to what machine Im asking about and others looking through this thread in the future.
BillB
Acorn CNC Controller: Yes
Allin1DC CNC Controller: No

Re: My Sherline Chucker lathe with Acorn control

Post by BillB »

As I start getting into the final setup of my chucker lathe I wanted to ask if some of you can point me in the direction of some videos for basic setup info for a gang tool type CNC lathe. I will be setting up tools on both sides if the stock. I have lots of CNC mill experience but NO CNC lathe experience at all, I have however run a manual lathe for years and know the basics when it comes to manual work. I will lean on the documentation from Sherline but its only going to get me so far since their control is not Acorn.

Obviously, there is CNC12 Lathe manual, but I'm looking for some overview info as a starting point.

cnckeith
Allin1DC CNC Controller: Yes
Oak CNC controller: Yes
DC3IOB: Yes
CNC11: Yes
CPU10 or CPU7: Yes

Re: My Sherline Chucker lathe with Acorn control build

Post by cnckeith »

Need support? READ THIS POST first. http://centroidcncforum.com/viewtopic.php?f=60&t=1043
All Acorn Documentation is located here: viewtopic.php?f=60&t=3397
Answers to common questions: viewforum.php?f=63
and here viewforum.php?f=61
Gear we use but don't sell. https://www.centroidcnc.com/centroid_di ... _gear.html
BillB

Post by BillB »

cnckeith wrote: Wed Oct 06, 2021 3:14 pm viewtopic.php?f=60&t=1138
Thanks, Marty provided that thread as well, a good read. gotta go through it again.
BillB

Post by BillB »

Hey all I started learning lathe set up and been looking for options for setting tool offsets for a Lathe. There is not much out there for cheep!