My Sherline Chucker lathe with Acorn control build

All things related to the Centroid Acorn CNC Controller

Moderator: cnckeith

martyscncgarage
Posts: 8992
Joined: Tue Mar 28, 2017 12:01 pm
Acorn CNC Controller: Yes
Allin1DC CNC Controller: Yes
Oak CNC controller: No
MPU11 & GPIO4D -w/ 3rd Party Drives: No
DC3IOB: No
CNC12: Yes
CNC11: Yes
CPU10 or CPU7: Yes
CNC Control System Serial Number: none
Location: Mesa, AZ

Re: My Sherline Chucker lathe with Acorn control build

Post by martyscncgarage »

Reminder, for support please follow this post: viewtopic.php?f=20&t=383
We can't "SEE" what you see...
Mesa, AZ
BillB
Posts: 171
Joined: Thu Jul 15, 2021 1:43 pm
Acorn CNC Controller: Yes
Allin1DC CNC Controller: No
Oak CNC controller: No
MPU11 & GPIO4D -w/ 3rd Party Drives: No
DC3IOB: No
CNC12: Yes
CNC11: No
CPU10 or CPU7: No
CNC Control System Serial Number: none

Re: My Sherline Chucker lathe with Acorn control build

Post by BillB »

In this video why does Keith not make adjustment for the paper thickness. I kept thinking he would make an adjustment at the end all at once for of all the tools but he didn’t? Why?
cnckeith
Posts: 3529
Joined: Wed Mar 03, 2010 4:23 pm
Acorn CNC Controller: Yes
Allin1DC CNC Controller: Yes
Oak CNC controller: Yes
MPU11 & GPIO4D -w/ 3rd Party Drives: Yes
DC3IOB: Yes
CNC11: Yes
CPU10 or CPU7: Yes
CNC Control System Serial Number: none
Contact:

Re: My Sherline Chucker lathe with Acorn control build

Post by cnckeith »

sure you can do that.. but i found i always end up tweaking the tool in using the adjustment in the tool lib during the first few part runs anyways..so...
Need support? READ THIS POST first. http://centroidcncforum.com/viewtopic.php?f=60&t=1043
All Acorn Documentation is located here: viewtopic.php?f=60&t=3397
Answers to common questions: viewforum.php?f=63
and here viewforum.php?f=61
Gear we use but don't sell. https://www.centroidcnc.com/centroid_di ... _gear.html
tblough
Posts: 1706
Joined: Tue Mar 22, 2016 10:03 am
Acorn CNC Controller: Yes
Allin1DC CNC Controller: Yes
Oak CNC controller: Yes
MPU11 & GPIO4D -w/ 3rd Party Drives: Yes
DC3IOB: No
CNC12: Yes
CNC11: No
CPU10 or CPU7: No
CNC Control System Serial Number: 100505
100327
102696
103432
7804732B977B-0624192192
Location: Boston, MA
Contact:

Re: My Sherline Chucker lathe with Acorn control build

Post by tblough »

Yes, he could have added twice the paper thickness to the measured reference diameter before he saved it. However, setting tools this way is an approximation at best. The better way, and Keith would have done it that way had he three hands, would be to take a skim cut with each tool and enter the exact diameter each time. This takes into account all of the deflections of the machine and as long as you keep your finish cuts on your parts around the same amount you did your tool setting with, you will get remarkably close to the same sizes.
Cheers,

Tom
Confidence is the feeling you have before you fully understand the situation.
I have CDO. It's like OCD, but the letters are where they should be.
BillB
Posts: 171
Joined: Thu Jul 15, 2021 1:43 pm
Acorn CNC Controller: Yes
Allin1DC CNC Controller: No
Oak CNC controller: No
MPU11 & GPIO4D -w/ 3rd Party Drives: No
DC3IOB: No
CNC12: Yes
CNC11: No
CPU10 or CPU7: No
CNC Control System Serial Number: none

Re: My Sherline Chucker lathe with Acorn control build

Post by BillB »

Gotcha.
BillB
Posts: 171
Joined: Thu Jul 15, 2021 1:43 pm
Acorn CNC Controller: Yes
Allin1DC CNC Controller: No
Oak CNC controller: No
MPU11 & GPIO4D -w/ 3rd Party Drives: No
DC3IOB: No
CNC12: Yes
CNC11: No
CPU10 or CPU7: No
CNC Control System Serial Number: none

Re: My Sherline Chucker lathe with Acorn control build

Post by BillB »

Since my lathe is a gang plank type machine I’ve been wondering if there are parameters of some type or a setting to control the angle of approach for each tool as it is approaching the stock and to avoid hitting the other tools on the table? Seams like you need a way to program all the tools around each other to avoid crashing? Can you direct the approach to be linner only? Is this done in the control or in CAM?
Post Reply