Anyone know of a good site to find feeds and speeds for unknown tooling?

All things related to the Centroid Acorn CNC Controller

Moderator: cnckeith

rk9268vc
Acorn CNC Controller: Yes
Allin1DC CNC Controller: No
Oak CNC controller: No
CNC Control System Serial Number: none
DC3IOB: No
CNC12: Yes
CNC11: No
CPU10 or CPU7: No

Anyone know of a good site to find feeds and speeds for unknown tooling?

Post by rk9268vc »

Im pretty new to cnc milling and dont really have the 'feel' yet for feeds and speeds

Does anyone know of a good site/ manufacturer/ resource to find general feeds and speeds for HSS endmills?
I am just looking for a good starting point for HSS in aluminum.

Everyone says to use manufacturer's suggestions, but I'm using cheap Shars tools which I cant find info for, as well as using a bunch of used tooling I acquired.

Thanks!
tblough
Allin1DC CNC Controller: Yes
Oak CNC controller: Yes
CNC Control System Serial Number: 100505
7804732B977B-0624192192

Re: Anyone know of a good site to find feeds and speeds for unknown tooling?

Post by tblough »

Look at FSWizard https://fswizard.com/

I have the full HSMAdvisor https://hsmadvisor.com/ but I find I just use the Wizard app most of the time. It's the first speed/feed calc that I've use that gave workable feeds and speeds for micro endmills (1/64"/0.5mm and below).

Buying the app (Pro version) give you access to a huge amount of additional materials. I believe the free one (and the web app) have 6061-T6
Cheers,

Tom
Confidence is the feeling you have before you fully understand the situation.
I have CDO. It's like OCD, but the letters are where they should be.
ShawnM
CNC Control System Serial Number: 7804734C6498-0401191832

Post by ShawnM »

I know another guy who uses the FSWizard site also. When you start buying tools check out toolstoday.com
I buy Amana O flute carbide end mills and they eat aluminum like nobody’s business. And they give you feeds and speeds charts for all their bits.
Richards