Hardinge HC CNC Turret Lathe

All things related to Centroid Oak, Allin1DC, MPU11 and Legacy products

Moderator: cnckeith

Clockmaker
Posts: 2
Joined: Fri Dec 18, 2020 10:14 pm
Acorn CNC Controller: Yes
Allin1DC CNC Controller: No
Oak CNC controller: No
MPU11 & GPIO4D -w/ 3rd Party Drives: No
DC3IOB: No
CNC12: Yes
CNC11: No
CPU10 or CPU7: No
CNC Control System Serial Number: none

Hardinge HC CNC Turret Lathe

Post by Clockmaker »

I’m looking for some advice on upgrading a Hardinge lathe I recently acquired. I am relatively new to cnc machining, building my first three axis cnc router last year. The lathe is in excellent shape with high quality ball screws. I am upgrading it with an acorn and nema34 closed loop steppers, but need advice on the best way to control the eight station pneumatic turret and spindle rpm. Any suggestions would be helpful. Thanks
Attachments
57816FAA-F7B4-43F1-A521-8F9B38AC9F39.jpeg
BCAE098D-1686-4F2D-9B51-16E79BD9EA64.jpeg
F98A8031-BA68-45F4-A85F-A37FE01899C9.jpeg
028AAB3F-0900-4208-8B03-1DFBF9884AFD.jpeg
60C75D1B-DBCF-444D-B52B-F670BFF25D89.jpeg
cnckeith
Posts: 3607
Joined: Wed Mar 03, 2010 4:23 pm
Acorn CNC Controller: Yes
Allin1DC CNC Controller: Yes
Oak CNC controller: Yes
MPU11 & GPIO4D -w/ 3rd Party Drives: Yes
DC3IOB: Yes
CNC11: Yes
CPU10 or CPU7: Yes
CNC Control System Serial Number: none
Contact:

Re: Hardinge HC CNC Turret Lathe

Post by cnckeith »

Need support? READ THIS POST first. http://centroidcncforum.com/viewtopic.php?f=60&t=1043
All Acorn Documentation is located here: viewtopic.php?f=60&t=3397
Answers to common questions: viewforum.php?f=63
and here viewforum.php?f=61
Gear we use but don't sell. https://www.centroidcnc.com/centroid_di ... _gear.html
Clockmaker
Posts: 2
Joined: Fri Dec 18, 2020 10:14 pm
Acorn CNC Controller: Yes
Allin1DC CNC Controller: No
Oak CNC controller: No
MPU11 & GPIO4D -w/ 3rd Party Drives: No
DC3IOB: No
CNC12: Yes
CNC11: No
CPU10 or CPU7: No
CNC Control System Serial Number: none

Re: Hardinge HC CNC Turret Lathe

Post by Clockmaker »

I didn't realize such a resource existed! Thanks so much!
rabreu1969
Posts: 7
Joined: Wed Nov 24, 2021 7:08 pm
Acorn CNC Controller: No
Allin1DC CNC Controller: No
Oak CNC controller: No
MPU11 & GPIO4D -w/ 3rd Party Drives: No
DC3IOB: No
CNC12: No
CNC11: No
CPU10 or CPU7: Yes
CNC Control System Serial Number: 2188

Re: Hardinge HC CNC Turret Lathe

Post by rabreu1969 »

Hello. My name is Rafael. I'm new this forum. Just got a Hardinge HNC with cnc10. Clean machine. I use a phase converter in my garage so I would assume that in order to run the control it has to be connected to 3 phase power. I have to turn the Phase converter on. In order to avoid having the phase converter constantly running is there a way that that I can connect the control box to 220v single phase when I program and when I'm ready to cut I can turn on the phase converter?
cncsnw
Posts: 2321
Joined: Wed Mar 24, 2010 5:48 pm

Re: Hardinge HNC CNC Turret Lathe with CPU10-based control

Post by cncsnw »

It depends on the installation. Without seeing a picture of your cabinet, we can only speculate whether it is a factory-wired cabinet or a dealer-installed board level kit.

If it is a factory-wired cabinet, or if it is a board-level kit wired following typical factory practice, then you can run everything except the flood coolant pump by applying 208-240 VAC single-phase power to L2 and L3 of the main switch.

It would be better to post your inquiry in a new and separate thread, since your machine and needs are substantially different from the original poster's machine and needs. Use the "Oak, Allin1DC, MPU11 and Legacy Products" forum for inquiries regarding CPU10-based controls.
rabreu1969
Posts: 7
Joined: Wed Nov 24, 2021 7:08 pm
Acorn CNC Controller: No
Allin1DC CNC Controller: No
Oak CNC controller: No
MPU11 & GPIO4D -w/ 3rd Party Drives: No
DC3IOB: No
CNC12: No
CNC11: No
CPU10 or CPU7: Yes
CNC Control System Serial Number: 2188

Re: Hardinge HC CNC Turret Lathe

Post by rabreu1969 »

Ok Here are pictures of the centroid cabinet and where it hooks up to the Hardinge cabinet where the power comes in from my phase converter
Attachments
Electric cabinet
Electric cabinet
90265DD4-72E5-4C1B-A2BD-8DA51A99C3AA.jpeg
69E679FF-989F-44D5-9273-5B8972E9E533.jpeg
7FB0F8A9-DF16-4889-BE80-806D92EACF32.jpeg
D26A068B-9C51-43FE-9DB3-C87DD59D258F.jpeg
08560DA5-59D3-4B7E-992E-B835B5996C88.jpeg
B10C2D4E-FE54-45DE-B203-AE533D7B9BAA.jpeg
EDC92FBF-B057-42DA-8129-6400BB2FFEE4.jpeg
rabreu1969
Posts: 7
Joined: Wed Nov 24, 2021 7:08 pm
Acorn CNC Controller: No
Allin1DC CNC Controller: No
Oak CNC controller: No
MPU11 & GPIO4D -w/ 3rd Party Drives: No
DC3IOB: No
CNC12: No
CNC11: No
CPU10 or CPU7: Yes
CNC Control System Serial Number: 2188

Re: Hardinge HC CNC Turret Lathe

Post by rabreu1969 »

Happy thanksgiving!!! Appreciate your input. I was so concerned but then it came to me that I can run the cabinet on 220v single phase by itself n not have to have the phase converter constantly running.
martyscncgarage
Posts: 9116
Joined: Tue Mar 28, 2017 12:01 pm
Acorn CNC Controller: Yes
Allin1DC CNC Controller: Yes
Oak CNC controller: No
MPU11 & GPIO4D -w/ 3rd Party Drives: No
DC3IOB: No
CNC12: Yes
CNC11: Yes
CPU10 or CPU7: Yes
CNC Control System Serial Number: none
Location: Mesa, AZ

Re: Hardinge HC CNC Turret Lathe

Post by martyscncgarage »

rabreu1969 wrote: Thu Nov 25, 2021 3:51 pm Happy thanksgiving!!! Appreciate your input. I was so concerned but then it came to me that I can run the cabinet on 220v single phase by itself n not have to have the phase converter constantly running.
Its better to run the control on single phase and not use a phase converter.
How is the spindle motor controlled?
Do you have a VFD? What make and model? What HP Spindle motor?
If you don't have a VFD, you could add one and let it control the spindle motor via the Centroid Control.
Marty
Reminder, for support please follow this post: viewtopic.php?f=20&t=383
We can't "SEE" what you see...
Mesa, AZ
martyscncgarage
Posts: 9116
Joined: Tue Mar 28, 2017 12:01 pm
Acorn CNC Controller: Yes
Allin1DC CNC Controller: Yes
Oak CNC controller: No
MPU11 & GPIO4D -w/ 3rd Party Drives: No
DC3IOB: No
CNC12: Yes
CNC11: Yes
CPU10 or CPU7: Yes
CNC Control System Serial Number: none
Location: Mesa, AZ

Re: Hardinge HC CNC Turret Lathe

Post by martyscncgarage »

(Note: This was moved from the Centroid Acorn Forum)
Reminder, for support please follow this post: viewtopic.php?f=20&t=383
We can't "SEE" what you see...
Mesa, AZ
rabreu1969
Posts: 7
Joined: Wed Nov 24, 2021 7:08 pm
Acorn CNC Controller: No
Allin1DC CNC Controller: No
Oak CNC controller: No
MPU11 & GPIO4D -w/ 3rd Party Drives: No
DC3IOB: No
CNC12: No
CNC11: No
CPU10 or CPU7: Yes
CNC Control System Serial Number: 2188

Re: Hardinge HC CNC Turret Lathe

Post by rabreu1969 »

E209F4F6-6E63-420B-BF0A-00C65A255446.jpeg
There’s a vfd already there. My cabinet is 220V single phase. I found that I can disconnect the power cord from where the 3 phase comes in where the power to the cabinet is and plug it directly into my 220v outlet. This has a 5hp motor
Last edited by rabreu1969 on Sat Nov 27, 2021 8:26 am, edited 1 time in total.
Post Reply