My Sherline 5400 mill with Acorn control build

All things related to the Centroid Acorn CNC Controller

Moderator: cnckeith

Post Reply
BillB
Posts: 168
Joined: Thu Jul 15, 2021 1:43 pm
Acorn CNC Controller: Yes
Allin1DC CNC Controller: No
Oak CNC controller: No
MPU11 & GPIO4D -w/ 3rd Party Drives: No
DC3IOB: No
CNC12: Yes
CNC11: No
CPU10 or CPU7: No
CNC Control System Serial Number: none

My Sherline 5400 mill with Acorn control build

Post by BillB »

Hey all, looking to get input on my build to make sure my wiring is correct and if there are any issues or problems you can see. Note that the limit switch pics only show 3 of the switches but the enclosure is wired for the limit switches through the thermal blocks for both switches and E-stop.

The build is a Sherline chucker lathe and 5400 mill, with rotary table. I will run both off the same Acorn control for now but considering a 2nd controller for the mill down the line. I will unplug and swap cables to change machines. I have bench tested the Acorn and have successfully connected to Acorn with the PC. I am using the off-the-shelf 4axis driver box from Sherline. My DB25 cable is wired as per Sherline wiring pinouts. I should have labeled this for the picture but the 2 wire (black and white) round wire is the ESwitch

At this point I have not tested the E-stop or limit switches, while being connected to Acorn, I have not tested connectivity or running the steppers, or the encoder yet.

I have however beach tested my wiring for the limit switches and E-stop, circuit and it is working as expected. Again not connected to Acorn when I tested them.

Some questions,

IF the wiring looks good what is the best way to proceed from this point on regarding testing the system? Is there any specific order I should test each thing?

Since I have 2 machines I would like to wire all my limit/home switches together for both machines. this way they are all always active and when I switch machines I will not have to unplug and plug those connections in and out every time. There is a total of 6 switches xyza for mill and xz for the lathe.

Is there any way to connect power to Acorn and the PC so when booting up they both power up or power down at the same time?

Not sure yet my if my DB25 and DB9 cables will be long enough. Is it ok to add an extension cable?

How many of you guys use limit switches on both sides of the travel?

I've never set up soft limits on a machine controller and not sure I know for sure what it is. Is it a value entered into the controller to limit the axis travel via the software VS limit switches? If yes how do you set up a machine with limit/home switches and also use soft limits?
Attachments
B26014B3-6320-43B0-B30F-010093ACFB3B.jpeg
F7F65C66-6E72-43B5-AABC-E621A0373566.jpeg
EEF8789F-9C36-4B65-A91E-768643DF921D.jpeg
2CCDDF90-13AD-4222-869B-A6C1D403E260.jpeg
1D339C58-3FDC-46F7-8C5D-A1B988AB495B.jpeg
5F71E424-9210-4F1D-AC18-5B9106D144A9.jpeg
95627F4B-050D-4E18-9ED2-863EDF36E924.jpeg
29069CAA-9F53-462F-8D34-A11747AA4495.jpeg
Last edited by BillB on Wed Oct 06, 2021 4:17 am, edited 1 time in total.
martyscncgarage
Posts: 8986
Joined: Tue Mar 28, 2017 12:01 pm
Acorn CNC Controller: Yes
Allin1DC CNC Controller: Yes
Oak CNC controller: No
MPU11 & GPIO4D -w/ 3rd Party Drives: No
DC3IOB: No
CNC12: Yes
CNC11: Yes
CPU10 or CPU7: Yes
CNC Control System Serial Number: none
Location: Mesa, AZ

Re: My Sherline chucker lathe & 5400 mill with Acorn control build

Post by martyscncgarage »

I generally power up my control and the PC at the same time.
Turn on main control switch, it applies power to the PC. Most PC's allow in their BIOS the ability to have them power on after power is applied.

Where is the axis motor power supply?

Marty
Reminder, for support please follow this post: viewtopic.php?f=20&t=383
We can't "SEE" what you see...
Mesa, AZ
BillB
Posts: 168
Joined: Thu Jul 15, 2021 1:43 pm
Acorn CNC Controller: Yes
Allin1DC CNC Controller: No
Oak CNC controller: No
MPU11 & GPIO4D -w/ 3rd Party Drives: No
DC3IOB: No
CNC12: Yes
CNC11: No
CPU10 or CPU7: No
CNC Control System Serial Number: none

Re: My Sherline chucker lathe & 5400 mill with Acorn control build

Post by BillB »

Where is the axis motor power supply?

Marty
[/quote]

If I understand you correctly the, the driver box and it’s power supply are up on the white shelf on top of the PC, power plugged into the same plug strip the Acorn and PC are. It is totally independent of the Acorn wiring and is a totally separate driver box. I have not plugged the steppers into the driver box or power just yet I’m actually still waiting on the second batch of components which will include last 2 steppers. Will be here today. All steppers are connected via 5 pin DIN connectors, I did not show pics of that, kind of overlooked it.

https://www.sherline.com/product/8760-c ... river-box/
martyscncgarage
Posts: 8986
Joined: Tue Mar 28, 2017 12:01 pm
Acorn CNC Controller: Yes
Allin1DC CNC Controller: Yes
Oak CNC controller: No
MPU11 & GPIO4D -w/ 3rd Party Drives: No
DC3IOB: No
CNC12: Yes
CNC11: Yes
CPU10 or CPU7: Yes
CNC Control System Serial Number: none
Location: Mesa, AZ

Re: My Sherline chucker lathe & 5400 mill with Acorn control build

Post by martyscncgarage »

You could use a heavy duty power strip of the correct amperage rating to turn on your machine/control/PC and monitor all at the same time.
Just go into the PC bios and look for POWER or some such. You want it to power on after a power outage.

Marty
Reminder, for support please follow this post: viewtopic.php?f=20&t=383
We can't "SEE" what you see...
Mesa, AZ
BillB
Posts: 168
Joined: Thu Jul 15, 2021 1:43 pm
Acorn CNC Controller: Yes
Allin1DC CNC Controller: No
Oak CNC controller: No
MPU11 & GPIO4D -w/ 3rd Party Drives: No
DC3IOB: No
CNC12: Yes
CNC11: No
CPU10 or CPU7: No
CNC Control System Serial Number: none

Re: My Sherline chucker lathe & 5400 mill with Acorn control build

Post by BillB »

Marty wondering if you had time to take a look at my wiring and if it looks ok to you?
martyscncgarage
Posts: 8986
Joined: Tue Mar 28, 2017 12:01 pm
Acorn CNC Controller: Yes
Allin1DC CNC Controller: Yes
Oak CNC controller: No
MPU11 & GPIO4D -w/ 3rd Party Drives: No
DC3IOB: No
CNC12: Yes
CNC11: Yes
CPU10 or CPU7: Yes
CNC Control System Serial Number: none
Location: Mesa, AZ

Re: My Sherline chucker lathe & 5400 mill with Acorn control build

Post by martyscncgarage »

BillB wrote: Thu Sep 09, 2021 7:53 pm Marty wondering if you had time to take a look at my wiring and if it looks ok to you?
There is not much I can say about it. I can't really trace anything. Follow the sample Centroid schematics and you should be ok....
Reminder, for support please follow this post: viewtopic.php?f=20&t=383
We can't "SEE" what you see...
Mesa, AZ
BillB
Posts: 168
Joined: Thu Jul 15, 2021 1:43 pm
Acorn CNC Controller: Yes
Allin1DC CNC Controller: No
Oak CNC controller: No
MPU11 & GPIO4D -w/ 3rd Party Drives: No
DC3IOB: No
CNC12: Yes
CNC11: No
CPU10 or CPU7: No
CNC Control System Serial Number: none

Re: My Sherline chucker lathe & 5400 mill with Acorn control build

Post by BillB »

I’ve started my CNC 12 set up in the wizard got limit switches and Estop confirmed they are working and set up correctly.

I’m stuck at the next in the set up since I’m a custom driver box. Ive reached out to the guys at Sherline for help on these next set up steps. But figured I would ask is there a Sherline driver box configuration available? And can you guys offer any input on a custom set up?

What are the minimum set up steps to get the motors running?
martyscncgarage
Posts: 8986
Joined: Tue Mar 28, 2017 12:01 pm
Acorn CNC Controller: Yes
Allin1DC CNC Controller: Yes
Oak CNC controller: No
MPU11 & GPIO4D -w/ 3rd Party Drives: No
DC3IOB: No
CNC12: Yes
CNC11: Yes
CPU10 or CPU7: Yes
CNC Control System Serial Number: none
Location: Mesa, AZ

Re: My Sherline chucker lathe & 5400 mill with Acorn control build

Post by martyscncgarage »

BillB wrote: Fri Sep 10, 2021 4:39 pm I’ve started my CNC 12 set up in the wizard got limit switches and Estop confirmed they are working and set up correctly.

I’m stuck at the next in the set up since I’m a custom driver box. Ive reached out to the guys at Sherline for help on these next set up steps. But figured I would ask is there a Sherline driver box configuration available? And can you guys offer any input on a custom set up?

What are the minimum set up steps to get the motors running?
That's ALL Sherline. You'll have to ask them for support on all those questions. It's their drive box. They have tested it with Acorn.
Marty
Reminder, for support please follow this post: viewtopic.php?f=20&t=383
We can't "SEE" what you see...
Mesa, AZ
BillB
Posts: 168
Joined: Thu Jul 15, 2021 1:43 pm
Acorn CNC Controller: Yes
Allin1DC CNC Controller: No
Oak CNC controller: No
MPU11 & GPIO4D -w/ 3rd Party Drives: No
DC3IOB: No
CNC12: Yes
CNC11: No
CPU10 or CPU7: No
CNC Control System Serial Number: none

Re: My Sherline chucker lathe & 5400 mill with Acorn control build

Post by BillB »

See my other post on this, do I create a totally custom configuration or start with a similar drive?
martyscncgarage
Posts: 8986
Joined: Tue Mar 28, 2017 12:01 pm
Acorn CNC Controller: Yes
Allin1DC CNC Controller: Yes
Oak CNC controller: No
MPU11 & GPIO4D -w/ 3rd Party Drives: No
DC3IOB: No
CNC12: Yes
CNC11: Yes
CPU10 or CPU7: Yes
CNC Control System Serial Number: none
Location: Mesa, AZ

Re: My Sherline chucker lathe & 5400 mill with Acorn control build

Post by martyscncgarage »

BillB wrote: Fri Sep 10, 2021 11:10 pm See my other post on this, do I create a totally custom configuration or start with a similar drive?
Consult with Sherline. I'd ask for their report and DB25 cable pin out and start with that. Restore their report provided their running 4.64 then load your license
Reminder, for support please follow this post: viewtopic.php?f=20&t=383
We can't "SEE" what you see...
Mesa, AZ
Post Reply