Acorn With Sherline chucker lathe, 5400 mill, and 4500 lathe.

All things related to the Centroid Acorn CNC Controller

Moderator: cnckeith

BillB
Acorn CNC Controller: Yes
Allin1DC CNC Controller: No
Oak CNC controller: No
CNC Control System Serial Number: none
DC3IOB: No
CNC12: Yes
CNC11: No
CPU10 or CPU7: No

Acorn With Sherline chucker lathe, 5400 mill, and 4500 lathe.

Post by BillB »

Im researching the Acorn CNC 12 kit for use with a Sherline chucker lathe, 5400 mill with rotary axis and 4500 Sherline lathe. I want to get confirmation the Acorn will meet my needs before I commit to getting into it. Im not thrilled about a DYI electronics project but the cost is a big factor as Im a start up.

I'm a CAD designer, 3D modeler, prototype and model maker, fabricator, sculptor, inventor, and very capable builder of things I can build you anything you need but im NOT an electronics guy. Electronics scare me, LOL BUT tell me to this wire here, put that one there, connect this connector, mount this board in this box NO problem. Just don't tell me to get my voltmeter out, cuz then you've lost me. LOL BUT if you tell me exactly what to do I can do it even with a voltmeter. just don't tell me to measure the voltage in the XYX. Im looking through the install manual and its scaring me, LOL! I know Im gonna get stuck at some point ; (

Have many questions hope you all can help.

Im running CAM in Fusion 360 is there a 100% verified and fully working post from Fusion 360 to Acorn & Sherline Chucker lathe, 5400 Sheerline mill, and 4500 Sherline lathe. Running windows 10 on a workstation laptop. My priority is the chucker lathe and 5400 mill with rotary axis.

Im planning on running the control from my laptop. It's a Lenovo Thinkpad 530W workstation, don't have the specs on it right now. But will this be capable of running the controller without issues?